We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing hotel, you will not be disapointeD!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, you will not be disapointeD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

This hotel is by far the best, best best hotel you can go to. The rooms are amazing, all all the rooms have a plunge pool which is awesome, and an indoor and outdoor shower, they are so welcoming and friendly at the hotel...the grounds are beautiful....if your debating between Fairmont, Rosewood, go with rosewoods! I have gone for the past two years, and I will continue to go every year with my kids...The kids club is awesome, and the pool is nice for the kids..the service is great at the pool, the breakfast buffet and restaurants serve great food..I dont think i have any complaints about this place! The beach is awesome too, and the yoga instructors are great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank daisy827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    119
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
355
760
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Best service we've ever experienced at a resort. Everyone was genuinely warm and helpful. My daughter was recently diagnosed as Celiac, and they could not have been more knowledgeable and accommodating of her needs.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We loved our time at Rosewood Mayakoba in Feb 2014. We stayed in a lagoon one bedroom suite and have to say that the cabana, grounds and communal buildings of the resort are stunning and beautifully designed. Our private plunge pool and lagoon deck were such a treat and we loved feeding the iguanas and the coatis in our back yard. Our 2 yr old daughter loved the pools and the golf carts and was generally treated like a princess. Overall the service is terrific and all of the staff go out of their way to make your stay as lovely and comfortable as possible.

We also loved taking the lagoon boat between the hotels and going to the other hotels for drinks and meals. Its a nice treat and make a longer stay more interesting.

The main issue I had with the resort was also something another reviewer mentioned...there are a ton of little perks and services that you have to find out about on your own and oftentimes miss. This is terribly annoying and made me feel like I didn't get the most out of my vacation. For example, no one mentioned the free bike rentals to me. Did you know you can take a private lagoon boat ride and picnic? I didn't know either. Ipads for kids at dinner? Nope, didn't know about that one. Nature tour every day? Wish I knew about it before our last day. Meal plan? I'm not a mind reader. And the biggest one of all of them...kids eat free! You heard it right. Nowhere on the hotel's website, restaurant menus or anywhere else did it say this, but it happens to be a policy that kids eat free off the kids menu. Wow, I wish I had known that one before ordering hundreds of dollars worth of meals for my daughter off the adult menu. All of this was very frustrating and easy fixed by a proper orientation to the hotel at check in.

Besides these hiccups, we had a terrific stay. A few other tips below...
1) Bring water shoes as there is a strip of rocks in the shallow end of the ocean. In general, pools are much better than the beaches
2) Use the free spa facilities (pool, sauna, whirlpool, etc). They are terrific
3) Resort restaurants are ok, but not great. Best was the casual grill by the beach, worst was the sushi one.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank katgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent one week in Rosewood Mayakoba, partly with a group, partly my wife and I.
All was absolutely fantastic, from the location to the service level. All employees are constantly available to help you, always with smile.
When there, you are immerged in the wild nature but still having all imaginable confort.
Just one remark on the food, which being good, is a bit expensive.
Breakfast is just fantastic.
If you want to spend some unforgetable time in a place where you feel you are the most important person on earth, just go there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JMCAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

If you want paradise,then the Rosewood at Mayakoba should be your choice. The suites are fantastic,the staff smile all the time, nothing is too much for them. The service is impeccable.
The breakfast is so extensive with a huge choice. If you want a quiet peaceful time you stay at the main pool, which was like a bath. If you want facilities for a family, then there is the beautiful white sandy beach with another pool. If you want to luxuriate, then the spa is fabulous.
If you play golf, there is free transport to the wonderful PGA championship golf course, where for a fixed price you can play a weeks unlimited golf. If you like to exercise, there is a good gym and excellent trainers, providing numerous fitness classes
What more can one ask for on a holiday. It was great.

Room Tip: Choose a lagoon suite overlooking the lagoon, if you want peace and quiet. One not too far from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DSC1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

After staying few nights at Banyan Tree we changed to Rosewood to experience it as well as we were just "next door" to be honest I was a bit anxious as our Ocean View Suite here was more than double in price than ours at Banyan Tree so we had a bit of expatiations and I must say it paid off… Rosewood rocked it, from the moment we arrived we could notice the difference in service although at BT we also had a great service but somehow Rosewood was better with more personal details not sure because we had one of the most expensive suites but it was very special anyway. The Ocean view makes such a difference and I definitely recommend this otherwise whats the point to be there right? Our butter Cesar was the nicest person we met at the whole trip very genuine and helpful… the resort facilities were very nice, 3 big pools one at the Spa where only adults can use although mostly of the kids normally stay by the beach pool anyway so we managed to use it early morning as our room was just next door and by the time it was getting busy we were enjoying the other areas of the resort. I must say we did have some minor issues with service like the first night they took way too long to service our room in the evening so after dinner we had to be outside waiting for more or less 15 mins and also we have ordered 2 glasses of Champagne at the same evening and it never came but they apologized it next day and we were fine… They did make us feel comfortable and took good care of us. The Spa facilities there were fantastic, much better than the Banyan Tree one with beautiful changing room, 2 waiting areas, welcome drink, steam room, amazing we loved it the only bit we didn't enjoy much is that we could hear the masseurs walking around during the massage perhaps because of the wood floor so they should do something about it maybe chaining their shoes… I guess we will come back there but this time we must be sure there is no holidays in the US so we don't have to deal with lots of kids…

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Morumbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is one of the greatest resorts I have ever stayed at. The service is impeccable. The people are wonderful! Really a first class operation. The rooms are magnificent. Thought I was downsizing by staying lagoon front and not ocean front but it is absolutely the best choice. The calmness and isolation of the room is so beautiful. The nature behind your room is amazing. Restaurants are all good. The sushi restaurant was great just not the best sushi i ever had. Rest of menu great. The staff at the pool awesome especially Rafael at beach pool. Property is just beautiful

Room Tip: Go with overwater lagoon amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DrTodd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#5 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#12 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,902 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 stars 5,122 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#15 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13,707 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Business Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing