We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I went on our honeymoon to Rosewood Mayakoba in February of 2014. We spent 10 days at the resort and had a beach side lagoon view room. The 10 days we spent at the Rosewood Mayakoba were probably the most magical 10 days of our lives! The room was incredible, the service outstanding, and the food divine. There were never a ton of people around so it was easy to get beach chairs and restaurant reservations. We ate at each restaurant several times and never had anything less than great food. Our favorite place to eat was Punta Bonita, the filet steak was to die for! We would love to come back to the Rosewood Mayakoba in the future!

Room Tip: There is no bad room at Rosewood Mayakoba. The beach side rooms are close to Punta Bonita, the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank fionakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,423
    125
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
412
877
20
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have just returned from a truly wonderful week at Rosewood Mayakoba. From the incredibly kind, attentive, genuinely welcoming staff to the stunning views, impeccably well-kept facilities, to the delicious cuisine, Rosewood Mayakoba is a dream vacation.

For our kids (ages 4 and 6), this was the ideal getaway. The suites are set up so that the kids are in a separate space--so we didn't have to sit in a dark room while they slept. The Rosebud program (kids club) was incredible--varied activities throughout the week, and the ability to drop-off and pick-up the children at any point during the day made it a great option for our shy, less adventurous son and our fun-loving, try anything daughter. They made adorable craft projects and even got to go the main kitchen to make pizzas. They enjoyed the ecotour of the mangroves, as well. The menu options for kids is a bit limited, but frankly, at their ages, it was more than sufficient to meet their needs. We liked that not every option was fried and included french fries! The free popsicles and smoothies poolside were also a huge hit!

The butler service was a dream. Our butler, Alba, was phenomenal. She would hunt us down every day, just to make sure we were having a great visit and to ensure everything in our suite was to our liking. When our son stubbed his toe, she made sure we had extra bandaids and antiseptic in our suite. She put aloe in our room when she noticed the kids had a bit of sunburn. She was a dream.

The restaurants were all very nice, but we particularly enjoyed eating poolside for lunch and at Agave Azul (the sushi restaurant) at night.

The entire resort was immaculate and the staff was wonderful responsive to our every whim.

Overall, a true gem for the five-star, family travel experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Annielovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just returned from a fourth visit to the excellent total on the Maya Riviera and found everything there to be excellent. The staff is friendly and very accommodating (they all seem to know your name by the second day). They've added butler service and our butler took care of anything we needed, from reservations for dinner to printing boarding passes. Upon arrival, we heard there was a 300 person wedding over the weekend and we feared the place being overrun (restaurants and pool) and service falling down. We needn't concern ourselves as they handled the large crowd without any drop in our service. They now offer 3 totally varied menus in their 3 dining spots (Italian, Mexican and Asian) and all were so good we never went off the premises for a meal. We had difficulty deciding which to go back to on our seventh night. We will certainly be back for a fifth year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank retireeWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

While we enjoyed our trip to Rosewood Mayakoba, we found everything to be just one step below where it should be.

Rooms: The grounds of the resort are beautiful and well-maintained, but due to the layout of the resort (and all of the resorts in Mayakoba for that matter), very few of the rooms have an ocean view. We stayed in a Deluxe Oceanview Beach Suite with our eight-year-old son. This room is very close to the beach and the beachside pool. However, the only view to be had is from the rooftop deck, which is just that—a deck with two chairs and a round lounge. The plunge pool is on the second floor balcony off the living room, and there is no view from that balcony. You are looking at the back of a restaurant. The bedroom on the bottom floor of the suite is large, as is the closet and the bathroom. The lagoon-side patio off the bedroom is enclosed with greenery, leaving no view of the lagoon at all. So although it was large, we found the room to be very claustrophobic. Quality-wise, the room is a 4 1/2 star. The minimalist décor is relaxing and tasteful. However, the quality of the room is not what we expect in a five star resort. For example, the light fixture on the bedroom patio shattered in the middle of the night one night. Housekeeping cleaned the broken glass promptly, but we were left with two lightbulbs hanging from wires for the remainder of our stay. The cabinet door covering the minifridge was broken. There were stains on the curtains, and the sofa was very uncomfortable. On the other hand, the bed and the pillows were fantastic, and we slept wonderfully each night. I missed the special touches found at some of our favorite Mexico resorts, such as a fragrance menu for turndown service and flower petals on the bed.

My parents stayed in a Beachfront Studio Suite. This is a wonderful room. It is large and comfortable for two people (although the storage is lacking). The beach is just five steps down from the patio and plunge pool, and two lounge chairs wait just steps from the surf. If we were to ever return to the Rosewood Mayakoba, we would leave our eight-year-old at home and stay for a long romantic weekend in one of these rooms. Given how important a view of the ocean is to our enjoyment of any beach resort, these are the only rooms I could recommend.

Pool & Beach: We mainly used the pool by the beach. The pool near the lobby is very large and visually interesting. The pool by the beach is smaller and is colder. (I was unable to swim in it, but my husband and son were fine.) While we did not find the service at the beach and pool as proactive as we would have liked, we were always able to find someone to help us quickly. Also, we have noticed at some resorts that service on the beach is not as good as service around the pool. We sat in chairs on the beach one day and were pleased to find the service there to be equal to that around the pool.

Restaurants: We ate at all three restaurants at the resort. The food was outstanding at both Casa del Lago (the fine dining Italian restaurant near the lobby) and at Punta Bonita (the casual Mexican restaurant near the beach). The food at Agave Azul (sushi and pan-Asian) was above average but not great. The décor at all three restaurants was beautiful. The service, while friendly, was nothing exceptional, with the exception of the delightful sommelier (see below). We had to ask repeatedly for water refills, and I finally resorted to stealing salt and pepper shakers off empty tables after I sat through three meals and never got salt and pepper (despite numerous requests).

Service: In general, we found the staff to be helpful and gracious. They were great with our eight-year-old son as well. In particular, Gerson Soriano, the resort’s sommelier and Casa del Lago restaurant manager, was extremely helpful. We attended a fun wine and cheese tasting with him, and we left the resort with a new understanding of and appreciation for Mexican wines. I strongly recommend that you find Gerson on your first night and let him make suggestions for wines to taste and enjoy throughout your stay.

Room Tip: The only room we could recommend is the Beachfront Studio Suite. None of the other rooms has an acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BGSWWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Excellent vacation destination for families or couples. This is our second vacation here. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is friendly, my kids love it, as do I. My only complaint is if you book it through Amex and get an upgraded room...the two times we've been here we have not been able to stay in the room the last night. Now the reality is the "regular" hotel rooms are amazing but to have to change the last night is a bit annoying. We've been here before and recommended this property to at least 5 other families who have visited and we still can't keep the room until the end. Other then that it's a fabulous vacation/resort destination. We will return. (Never had this issue anywhere else in this world) despite this we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SarahJoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon in February. This place is absolutely beautiful and the service is outstanding. They know you by name and every where we went on the property the staff new us and called us by name. We stayed in a Lagoon Suite which was absolutely amazing. We had our own private plunge pool that we used everyday. We dined at all three of the restaurants and loved them all. I think our favorite was dinner at Casa del Lago and Punta Bonita for lunch. The ocean view at Punta Bonita is beautiful. We would spend the afternoon at the pool by the ocean there was much more going on there. If you're looking for a little more relaxation at the pool definitely go to the pool by casa del lago there are not as many kids there. We spent a day at the spa and that was amazing as well. I definitely can't write this review without mentioning Gabriel he is a server at the pool by the beach and he is OUTSTANDING!! We can't wait to go back for an anniversary.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202 we thought it was great. Very private and close to everything. We could walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neliason76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We just returned from another very special visit to Rosewood Mayakoba. This year we stayed in an over the water lagoon suite. It was so private and peaceful. We really enjoyed the wildlife. This year we saw the crocodiles on a boat tour of the lagoon and birds that we didn't even know existed. Our service was again over the top. I would agree with other reviewers that the staff is genuine in their wanting to give you anything you would like and they want you to be content with every part of your stay. The addition of the bar at beach side was a highlight of our trip. We had lunch at the bar over looking the ocean everyday. This is truly a special place to vacation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 470diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
5.2 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,567 reviews
4.7 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,632 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,333 reviews
10.3 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing