We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Roses with a Few Expensive Thorns”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful Roses with a Few Expensive Thorns”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The resort is beautiful. It sits on the ocean and a lagoon. The rooms overlooking the lagoon make you feel that you are in the middle of a jungle. One can truly relax and decouple from the world. Yet one is only an hour away from Playa Del Carmen going one way and an hour away from Cancun going the other way. Plus, one can go visit Tulum, a magical place and a must see.

The food is good (the beach restaurant has an innovative dinner menu), but the food prices are over the top. A typical lunch for two costs $55.00 and with a glass of wine and one beer it can top $75,00. Maybe the owners think that those who can afford staying at a luxury hotel can also afford expensive food prices. Maybe thats true, but who wants to feel overcharged?

I would recommend the resort but make sure that before you go, you mentally prepare yourselves so that you don't spend your vacation time "sputtering" when each food bill comes. Or like us start sharing the main course. Or even better, the resort, should rethink their food pricing.

P.S. The Mexican white wines are at least somewhat in a "normal" price range and quite good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DCMomInChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear DCMominChief
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and so glad to read that you thought the property was beautiful and that you would recommend. I was however disappointed to read that you thought our pricing was too high and you felt overcharged. We do fly in the freshest of ingredients from around Mexico and the world as the Mayan Riviera does have some wonderful fresh products and seafood but not enough to satisfy our guest's high expectations. We do ensure that we charge a fair price for the quality of food we serve and are quite competitive with other ultra luxury resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean. I agree with you that our Mexican wines are fabulous and many are on par or better with Californian variety. Unfortunately, there is a very high import tax on American wines and thus the pricing is inflated to cover those taxes.. I would encourage all of our guests to try our incredible Mexican wines from the Baja peninsula.. Gerson our Sommelier/Restaurant Manager has our entire wine list on an I pad to enjoy and read all about the wines and help you select the best for you. Thank you agian for the feedback and do hope you will try us again and look me up so I can meet you personally.. Warm Regards...Graeme Davis.. Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,443
    125
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
419
883
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for our kids spring break in March 2012 and would definitely NOT return. We used our AMEX Plat FHR to book the room at the Mayakoba. The room itself was really nice. Very spacious, with nice bedding, an amazing bathroom area and a sun deck area on the roof. The big downside was the food and food service here. We have stayed at other Rosewood Resorts and loved the food so this was a HUGE disappointment. We even contacted the GM after our first meal to complain about the service and food quality and were assured it would be better for the remainder of our stay. It was not. We ate at all the venues but were just not impressed. Our friends who stayed here just after the opening had the same experience but we hoped they would have figured out by now. The big problem is that you are too far to just pop into or walk anywhere else to eat. So you probably need a car to do it right as cabs are a hassle. The beach was nice but the areas for shade are very small and are snatched up at 12:01am in the morning so be prepared. The beach area was supposed to have activities but again a disappointment. They had had a private party there a week before and were still tearing down the venue. Sad. I would definitely not return to the Rosewood Mayakoba that is certain.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ckayjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear ckayjr
Thank you very much for your review even if it is from last year March 2012.. Much has happened since you were here a year ago. We have made sweeping changes since I arrive in March of last year including changing every menu in every outlet and added a new sushi and asian restaurant in our Tequila Library.. Since we have made these changes, many of our guests have given us outstanding reviews on the overall Food and Beverage service. However, . even today, we receive feedback telling us there are still a few opportunities to improve to make it a flawless experience. I enjoy the challenges to create the perfect experience for every one of our guests knowing how difficult it is to please everyone's own taste.. With that said even today we are changing the menus to keep them fresh and cutting edge to ensure we can exceed the most discriminating palate. Please give us another opportunity and come try us again.. reach out to me directly or your travel agent and let us create the perfect experience for you. my email is graeme.davis@rosewoodhotels.com.. I am always available to ensure our guests leave with the best possible experience. Our apologies for last year and look forward to making it up to you. Warm Regards. Graeme Davis.. Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rosewood Mayakoba is a secluded resort with the feeling of one on one attention. The service is amazing and they are ready to wait on you hand and foot to take care of any needs you may have! From Honeymooners to families, they have everything from beach activities to quiet pools. The resort is so spread out, so even when they are at full capacity, it seems that there are not that many people there. The resort maids are wonderful. We had 2 teenage girls with us on our trip, and Isabella was our maid who left little surprises for the girls each night! She would lay out rose petals in our bathroom and the girls would practice their spanish by writing notes to her!!! She was wonderful! The Concierge, Roberto was always so helpful in organizing our outings and telling us details of what we might expect!! He was always there when we needed him for anything!!! The food was excellent in all the restaurants on the resort. We never had a bad meal anywhere. The fresh lobster on the grill at the beach was excellent and the service was as good as the food!!! We will definitely go back to The Rosewood Mayakoba!

Room Tip: I think every suite on the property is excellent- but if you want to walk out of your room and be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Rosewood Mayakoba for 4 nights in Feb and overall we had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautiful. The grounds are incredible. The rooms are amazing. It is a very unique resort and the best along the coast south of Cancun.

Most rooms are a 3 min golf cart ride from the beach. Golf carts run frequently so you will have no problems going to and from the beach. The beach itself is above average but not great. It is somewhat narrow and rocky at points, and the water is a little choppy. It is not like some of the famous beaches in the Caribbean, but it was still very beautiful. The spa is fantastic. The pools are a thing of beauty.

The only reason I cannot give the Rosewood 5 stars is due to lack of service from time to time. On the whole the service was very good and personal; however, a resort of this level should be held to certain standards and I found them lacking at times. The breakfast service is average at best. There were numerous times we had to request coffee or water 2-3 times before being served. The service at the beach was hit or miss. Sometimes it was fantastic. Other times it was non existent and would take 20 min and multiple requests before being served drinks or water. The personal butler service was lacking for us. It took two days before we even knew our butler's name and another day before we met him. The service he provided was not up to par. We ended up going through the concierge for dinner reservations and transportation service. Again, on the whole the service was very good, it just wasn't perfect and a resort of this level should be held to those standards.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong with any room. We stayed in a standard lagoon room and it was incredible. Massiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Eric P
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.. I was pleased to read that you though the hotel wonderful overall.. However, I was very concerned to read that service lacked at times.. We have received many accolades on the amazing service that we provide and when our guests are not having their expectations exceeded in every way with us providing a flawless experience we take it very seriously. I can assure you I am personally following up with my restaurant and F&B team as well as Butler Services.. It is critical that we provide exceptional service and I'm sorry we didn't do this consistently for you. I can assure you on your next visit back to us and for future guests, we will not be settled until we have perfection for every guest.. Thank you again and please allow us another opportunity to show you a fabulous experience at every moment... Warm Regards..Graeme Davis.. Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We vacationed at the Rosewood Mayakoba the week of Valentine Day and had a wonderful time. In many ways, it was definitely worth 5 stars but there were just enough "issues" to keep the experience from being a truly 5 star experience.

First, the good: The resort is beautiful, with the most beautiful and perfectly kept grounds. We had an over lagoon suite, which was absolutely gorgeous. The service was exceptional, but with a few lapses.

We found ourselves wishing for some written information, about the resort and it's services, to reference during our stay. This is the first hotel/resort that we have visited that had no such written information. We received a verbal orientation on arrival but, over time, we discovered things that we were not told in that orientation (e.g., the bicycle policy, the "Mayaoba Connection boat). Every room is asigned an am and a pm "butler" and our assumption, after the fact, is that they are meant to be the source of all information. At the time, we were a bit unsure what the role of our butlers was. With regard to our butler, and all others who served us, the hotel "service charge" implies that no tipping is necessary (in fact we were told that explicitly at check in). Tipping may not be "necessary" but it is certainly expected; we were told by one of our butlers that "most people tip". However, since we were already paying 16% for a "service charge", we found ourselves confused, and even a bit stressed, deciding who we should tip and how much.

The service was very good but there were some lapses. We had to request turndown service on our last night. The service in the restaurants seemed slow on most occasions. We booked dinner at Casa del Lago on Valentine Day and were not told it would only be prix fixe, which we did not want (we retired to our room for room service). The beach cabanas, of which there are few, were allowed to be "saved" by putting personal articles in the cabana. We observed cabanas being unused for hours before the "savers" arrived. We also heard one beach attendant accept the offer of a daily "tip" (i.e., bribe) to hold a certain spot each day for the "tipper". The beach area is quite small, having lost some beach to the hurricane in 2006, and we found the biggest congregation of children there. We spent most of our sun time at the pool, which was not very crowded, even though the hotel was almost full.

The restaurants: Casa del Lago and Punta Bonita were good, if not great. Prices for food were typical resort prices but wine and liquor were over the top. A bottle you could buy for $25 dollars would cost $150. We had sushi at Agave Azul and thought it was awful.

For us, the most negative thing about the resort was what was outside. Though beaches are public, ACCESS to the beaches is very difficult. Virtually all beach access is controlled by hotels, adventure parks and "beach clubs". We are avid snorkelers but never went snorkeling because there was no place to go that (a)would not be extremely crowded, and (b)cost nothing to use. For many, especially families with kids, the adventure/eco parks are very popular. We did not find the commercial nature appealing. Of course, Playa del Carmen has a typical tourist "beach town" feel.

The bicycles: There are not enough for every room and you cannot request that the next available be held for you. You have to keep going back to the bell desk and asking for availability. However, when you do get bicycles, you have them for the duration. Your room number is put on the bicycle and you keep it at your room until checkout. We did have our bikes "stolen" from the pool at one point but our butler found them and returned them.

Overall, we had a nice, relaxing vacation and we could definitely recommend the resort. The experience just did not live up to our favorite resort, to which we compare everything (The Four Seasons at Hualalai).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DasBoot214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear DasBoot214
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and so glad to know that you had a wonderful time overall.. Certainly a disappointment to read though that we did not create a flawless experience as we are relentless in ensuring each of our guests receive a fabulous experience that exceeds in every way. While our job is to anticpate every guest's expectations and ensure flawless delivery, I hope that all of guests know that if there is any moment where we do not create an exceptional experience we want to know before you leave so your butler, my staff and myself can take action.. I am following up with my team on all of you comments regarding gratuities, beach service and restaurant experiences, and bicycles. Your feedback is certainly important to us as is your experience in both the resort and outside. We have received many accolades from guests around the world comparing us to the Four Season Hualalai, Aman, and other world class destinations and can assure you most have given us the top honors.. In your case we missed the top rating, but will continue to work to ensure on your next trip back we are top on your list like many others already believe. Glad to know in the end you would definintely recommend and again truly appreciate your feedback.. Warm Regards...Graeme Davis.. Managing Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I just came back from this hotel where my wife and I spent 5 days without our kids. The hotel and the grounds are fantastic, the service is 5 star after 10 min on the property everyone know our name and everyone is so friendly. The beaches are beautiful and private no vendors. In addition the hotel is very kid friendly and Rosebuds the kids camp looks great. We hope to go back soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYGolfer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
240 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

On a recent trip to the Riviera Maya I stayed at 2 hotels - both leading hotels of the world. Let me be the first to say there are leading hotels and there are LEADING HOTELS. Rosewood Mayakoba in incomparable. It is a small hotel with about 100 rooms spread out over a huge property. The rooms are on lagoons and gorgeous, spacious and sumptuously furnished. The bathrooms are to die for. Each room has a heated plunge pool and terrace. The food is expensive but outstanding. It is more like spa food and so inventive with subtle flavors. The staff is the most amazing and they go out of their way to learn your name and use it whenever they see you. They remember what you like and are only too happy to comply. The pools are gorgeous and not overly crowded. The main pool looks like something out of a Roman Era palace.

The only downside is the beach sand is gorgeous but when you step into the water is can be quite rocky. I love the beach and this was a bit of a disappointment. The staff tried to clear a path into the deeper water but that worked for the first 2 days and then the wind kicked up and brought more rocks into the shallow water. The staff of the beach and by the pool can't do enough for you and they constantly bring beach ammenaties from popsicles, to blood mary tastes to a cucumber eye treatment and head massage! You can't believe the service.

The spa is wonderful. I have never had such an incredible massage or one so expensive - sticker shock so ask first.

The beach and pool restaurants have delicious lunch food and great drinks. I loved the main restaurant Casa De Lago for dinner and breakfast. The beach restaurant for dinner was less expensive but not as exciting as the main restaurant. We did not try the Sushi restaurant.

We played tennis on great courts and the instructors were excellent and very reasonably priced.

The hotel is expensive - I think the least expensive room is $750/night during high season and then meals (except the sumptuous breakfast buffet) and drinks are extra. If you eat on property the food can be expensive too. If you can afford it you will have the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Any room you can afford is phenominal. I've heard the overwater lagoon rooms are spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank segmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,707 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,505 reviews
10.9 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing