We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This resort is amazing. Our favourite destination ever! We are still here, 4 nights to go and could not be happier. We have 2 children, 14 and 17 and all the staff have been wonderful, so sincere and friendly. The: food, ambience, rooms, facilities, size and beauty of the resort is unforgettable. We stayed in the Number 300 villa section and it was a great position, we could walk, or ride bikes or hop on one of the golf carts to take us anywhere. The spa is unbelievable and the tequila library is very interesting! The staff are my favourite ever and on our second day welcome us back wherever we go and remember our names! Love it..

Room Tip: All are beautiful...you actually get to ride a boat at check in as they take you to your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kriztine65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Amazing place...... great service.This is the first place I can compare to Maldives. I do travell a lot and love staying in 5 * anywhere I go. At least 5 times a year I go on vacation like this one, for a week. It is beautiful resort! Very romantic and wild too. I really enjoy it and will come back! The beach is like in Cabo S. Lucas.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jelena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Tops in aesthetics, Rosewood Mayakoba made for an amazing four day getaway. Boutique in scale but with mega amenities, the escort is just large enough to afford extreme privacy. The lagoon rooms (basic) are huge with the most gorgeous bathrooms, outdoor shower and upper deck. Inside, all spaces are well thought out and modernly minimal , but with luxurious textiles angles and curves. The plunge pool and sumptuous outdoor lounges made it hard to leave the room for the outrageously beautiful pools!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andywarhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had never been to Mexico, more of a european traveler but went for a friend's birthday.
Wow, this resort was spectacular. So beautiful! Paradise. We went into town also by taxi and it's about 20 minutes away but fun to shop for jewelry and little souvenirs. But you never have to leave the resort if you don't want to. The restaurants are great, the beach is peaceful and the rooms are just gorgeous. Would definitely go back someday.

Room Tip: rooms in walking distance of the pool/beach are great but you can call and they pick u up quickly by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We love the Rosewood Mayakoba and this was our fourth trip back. We have two young children and the hotel was very accommodating and family friendly (but we've also been without our kids which is great too). The rooms are beautiful and we loved spending time at the plunge pool while our kids nap. My 2 yr old couldn't get enough of the food at Punta Bonita and still talks about the virgin mango margaritas. He also loved the ecotour and getting to feed the fish! Last but not least, we can't speak highly enough of our butler, Russell, who helped make our trip as easy as possible and exceeded our expectations with his kindness, responsiveness and efficiency. We will definitely request him the next time we go back. Thanks Rosewood Mayakoba for another amazing vacation!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnonymousNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went to Rosewood Mayakoba for a wedding and it was simply spectacular. Great location, stunning facilities, impeccable service and great food. This is a beautiful place with all the quality you would expect of a 5 star resort but without all the stuffiness. Staff are proactive, helpful, friendly and down to earth. Don't miss the beach, breakfast and tequila bar! Rooms are beautiful and the staff are great. They even gave our 1 year old son turn down service on his crib. :)

Room Tip: I don't think they have any rooms that aren't great. Ours was on the lagoon with a small pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joejhartzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I would like to think that my husband and I are well traveled and have stayed at some really swanky places, however Rosewood Mayakoba is beyond comparison to any place we have ever been. We were amazed by the creative layout of the resort, giving a private feel to each suite and guest. We arrived and our room was not ready yet so we spent the morning at the spa. My husband got a massage, loved it, and I being pregnant (first trimester) opted to just lounge at the pool. The spa was beautiful and offered many different amentities to the guest. We were then transfered to our overwater lagoon suite. Words cannot describe how incredible this suite was. We loved everything about it, probably the outside shower and personal plunge pool the most. Sitting on the deck with my morning tea was one of the highlights as well. The food at the various restaurants was excellent as well as the exclusive service. It really does live up to its reputation and price tag. You get what you pay for. The whole first day I kept asking my husband, when can we come back??? I would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a beyond luxurious vacation!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,126 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
3,240 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,353 reviews
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $745 - $1,908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen. Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty, and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakoba is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing