We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best experience of our lives”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The best experience of our lives”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went to Rosewood hotel for our honeymoon with very high expectations and they were completelly fulfilled. The cullinary experience is outstanding, offering superb and ellaborate dishes at every restaurant they have. All the staff at the hotel were more than friendly to us, very helpful all the time, and always with a big smile on their face. Can´t describe with words how happy they made us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianHiguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Sr. Higuera thank you very much for the glowing praises and to know we have created the best experience of your lives together at Rosewood Mayakoba! Congratulations on your wedding and thank you so much for choosing us for your very special honeymoon! We take great pride on creating those special moments and experiences every day and so glad to read that once again we made a difference for you and your wife. Look forward to having your return for those annual anniveraries or any occasion just to enjoy our genuine hospitality.. Wish you both all the very best and warm regards...Graeme Davis..Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,467
    126
    29
    12
    7
See reviews for
425
899
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ardmore Ok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at Rosewood Mayakoba 5-30-12 to 6-03-12. Even though it rained a large majority of our trip, we had a BLAST!!!! This resort cannot be beat. From the time we arrived, until we checked out, we were treated like royalty. Every single employee went above and beyond. I can't imagine anyone not being 100% satisfied with every aspect of this resort. Thank You Rosewood Mayakoba for giving us an experience we will never forget!!!!

Room Tip: lagoon suites provide more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our third visit to Rosewood Mayakoba in three years. Our first two visits were outstanding. The third was absolutely spectacular. The new GM has raised the standard of excellence even above and beyond what we normally expect and receive from a Rosewood property. The staff and service were wonderful, making us feel very comfortable and welcomed, and catered to our every need and desire (being very proactive and gracious without being obtrusive). The architecture, surroundings, rooms, and décor are incredible – beautifully integrated within the beach and mangrove forest natural environment. We had several meals (breakfast, lunch, and dinner) at their two main restaurants and the quality and service and setting was uniformly and consistently great. For the first time, we visited the two other Mayakoba properties (Fairmont for lunch at Las Brisas; and Banyan Tree for dinner at Saffron). The architecture, setting, and layout of Rosewood were much more to our liking, and as such we would not consider staying at either of the other two for future visits. However – Saffron was excellent – the décor and food exceeded our high expectations. Fairmont on the whole seemed less elegant and more dated; Las Brisas had a more broad (i.e, generic) lunch menu, yet it was not as tasty as lunch at Rosewood’s beach restaurant Casa Bonita – a head-to-head comparison of chips, salsa, guacamole, and fish tacos yielded a clear winner in Casa Bonita, for about the same price. Again -- having stayed there now three times, there is plenty more I could say; for this most recent trip suffice to say that there is not a single opportunity I could give for any constructive feedback or things that we would have wanted differently. When the General Manager and Resort Manager meet you upon your arrival and departure, and check on you periodically throughout your stay, you feel very well taken care of. One final comment and recommendation – the spa area is perfect. My wife had a massage which she loved. But we came each day to the spa to enjoy the adult-only spa pool (which is sparse or empty each day), along with the well-equipped fitness center, and the men’s and women’s areas – private outdoor showers, drench shower, cold plunge pool, steam room, sauna, whirlpool, and so on. You leave very relaxed after spending time there. Feel free to contact me through this site if you would like more detailed information or have specific questions.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great choices, it all depends on your needs and interest. We've always sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hello John! Cannot thank you enough for returning to us again for the third time!!! So glad to read that you have noticed the changes we have made around the property.. We continue to maintain a relentless pursuit in creating the perfect experience for every guest.. I can say we truly have the best team of employees. We take pride in creating a great environment for our team to feel inspired every day so they can feel great about taking care of our guests and constantly train to create the best experience... So glad to read as well that you enjoyed again all the property and to know we have the best chips, salsa, guacamole and fish tacos out of the properties you compared at our Punta Bonita restaurant!. I will certain share those comments with my culinary team! I too love the spa area and was pleased to read your additional comments.. We have received many accolades on the spa and were just voted by Conde Nast Traveller's readers poll as being tied for 2nd place in all of Central America and Mexico as having the best Spa. So nice you pointed out the experience at the spa as it is a magical setting. Look forward to seeing you back for your 4th visit and again thank you so much for your continued loyalty in Rosewood Mayakoba. Safe Travels and warm regards...Graeme Davis...Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

If you are considering staying here I can't say anything bad about the experience. I have stayed at all of the highend chains and can't remember an experience like this. The resort is expansive and well maintained. The food is Great with two dining options with excellent food. Breakfast is excellent with a main menu and buffet our breakfast was included, no matter what we ordered it was included for example sometimes the coffee in hotels is not strong enough so I order cappuccino, most resorts charge extra, the rosewood didn't There is a tequila bar with tapas as well. The tequila selection is among the best I've seen. Expect to pay for the premium brands but the prices are not outrageous. My wife and I ate and drank well and spent about $300 daily on incidentals. The spa is beautiful as well as the gym. the rooms are spacious, we had a beachside lagoon suite. Very nice and spacious. Very comfortable beds and linens.

We have stayed at the grand velas down the road also nice, but no comparison to the rosewood. Grand Velas is great for families. I would not bring my kids to the rosewood because I feel it is more of a couples resort but kids do come and appear to have a great time. Hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank love69totravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I'll keep this review brief, as plenty has already been said about this resort and it holds true. We just returned from a 5 night stay and we could not have been happier with our stay. This was my first stay at a Rosewood resort and we are converts. Not only can I not think of a problem during our stay, I can't even give a suggestion for improvement. People who know me and my past reviews of hotels will find this hard to believe.

The staff is truly amazing and clearly well trained by management.

The rooms on the canals (mangroves) are stunning, providing a nice contrast after a day at the beach (and a really up close look at wildlife from your plunge pool). If you're into architecture, you'll be wowed everywhere you go, from your room to the restaurant.

Cocktails and food were quite good. No sugary, neon green margaritas. Fresh ingredients are the rule for food and drink here.

Not sure what else to say other than "go and enjoy".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bwhite00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear BWhite00,
Thank you very much for the kind words and glad to know you have found the perfect place with amazing service. We do take great pride in having a team of employees that truly care about service and take great pride in their resort. You chose a great suite over the lagoon which I too believe are magical watching the over 200 species of animals going by in the lagoons. Never a moment goes by without seeing the magic of nature pass by. Thank you as well on the food and beverage comments.. We do go the extra step in squeezing all of our own fruit juices and even extract our own special vegetable juices daily for our restaurants.. Glad to read you noticed the special touches. It was terrific to read that you are now "Converts" to Rosewood Mayakoba after your first visit and we look forward to welcoming you home again very soon.. Thank you very much again for the glowing review and your recommendation... Warm Regards...Graeme.. Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I usually dont write reviews but we had such a fantastic vacation last week that I feel I should share the experience. I normally try to stay at top hotels so I dont have to worry about anything. I've never written about any of them. Well I got that and more on this vacation. We travelled with our three children to Rosewood for a week of R&R. We were greeted promptly at the airport and then at the hotel. The general manager also greeted us at the entrance and personally made sure that our room was to our satisfaction. I booked the trip through my AMEX so We were upgraded to a three floor private residence by the beach. Wow! Our butler (nick) made sure that we had everything. He would meet us in the morning at breakfast and take down anything that we needed. the staff all knew our names and the children's names.

I think the children enjoyed the trip more than we did. They would be in the kids club, on eco-tours, at the beach, and in the pool. They had activities and just lots of fun. I would highly recommend this hotel both for couples and for families. I cant say enough. I'm looking forward to going back next year.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade and a residence in the 500's
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lazerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Doc,
Thanks so much for the glowing praise... Great to know that you and especially the kids had a great time with us... There is so much for children to do within Mayakoba and the surrounding area of Play Del Carmen and Tulum... Lots of fun culture for the kids and plenty of space for all to spread out at the resort so everyone can have their space and enjoy the natural serenity. We can't thank you enough for joining us on your first visit and do look forward to your return next year or sooner with the entire family....Bring some friends!!! Wish you a great summer...Warm Regards...Graeme...Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

where to start..

• Wherever we went, the staff knew our names
• The staff seemed anxious to help
• If someone did not know the answer to your question, they found someone who did an brought them to you
• Grounds were clean and everything looked perfectly manicured, like a postcard picture
• Although there were people around us, we never felt crowded
• Rooms felt more like a vacation home, and that is how they welcomed us.. to our home
• Excellent food and I’d recommend dinner on the beach and/or in the wine cellar
• Spa was nicely isolated, which added to the relaxation
• We left the resort relaxed and thinking of our next trip

Room Tip: Lagoon suites were very peaceful and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJRKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,990 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,736 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,034 reviews
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,761 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing