We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection all the way....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfection all the way....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Spent 9 days last month with my wife and daughters aged 24 & 18. The whole experience was exceptional, Hotel fab , scuba diving for the girls was great aparently and Golf for us was superb. Spent two days on visits to the ruins which must not be missed, particularly Coba.
The Hotel was first class all the way, rooms, service , food and facilities all excellent and couldn't be faulted, We have been lucky enough to spend time in some very good Hotels Worldwide and nothing is 'better' than the Rosewood. We are not that fussed about having a butler and sometimes find it quite untrusive but here they only trouble you if you ask, perfect.
If you can , get yourself out here, the people of Mexico are so very friendly too.........thank you.

Room Tip: Any room was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank meisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,410
    124
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
406
873
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

From check in to check out our stay was simply dreamy. Our suite was large (#302) and decorated with the most beautiful understated elegance.

The people were what made our trip to Rosewood Mayakoba so memorable. From Cecilia at the front desk to our beach waiter who shared personal thoughts with us and his unforgettable smile that lit up his face and all those he talked to, we loved the people.

Both the restaurants on the property were fabulous and the Tequilia Library is worth a visit.

Our butler arranged a trip to the Mayan Ruins (Tulum) and the same day a trip to the underground caves (cenote). Well worth the money to do it through the hotel. The tour guide was EXCELLENT and the wet towels and pineapple sliced were a nice touch after we hiked the ruins.

The other thing that we did was snorkel at akumal. Take a taxi from the resort ($55 each way) and then pay for a guide to take you to snorkel right off the beach for about 1-1 1/2 hours. We saw loads of fish, tons of turtles and much more. Then our taxi driver (who had waited for us the whole time) took us to the lagoon. It was nice to snorkel there too. It is smaller than the beach snorkel so you won't need as much time. We should have brought a lunch and eaten it on the beach. Make sure you go before 12. Its gets very crowded after that.

Great place to take kids too. They cater to them there.
The only complaint that I have is that there was a wedding that had 85 guests and they took up most of the place. That would have been fine but they closed the nicer restaurant on our last night and we would have eaten there on a different night had we known it was going to be closed for the wedding reception. Wish they would have disclosed that up front upon check in.

Other than that it was paradise.

Room Tip: our room was nice 300 but when we left we asked which room was the best and they told us to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmommywith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We visited this property back in 2008 and decided to come back since our first time was a superb experience. Well, this time it was even better.
Last time we stayed in one of 500’s suites which have a plunge pool and a deck in top floor, however this time we stayed in the suites by the beach… we walk from our back door/window to our own private deck/plunge pool and beach!!! The room is nice and elegant and the bathtub is huge!
Service was excellent everywhere in this property. The first day we arrived all the beach chairs by the pool and beach were taken and they went to the back to find some us and got us a couple of seats in no time! (in other hotels they just make you wait until other people leave)…
I love that they have bikes ( last time they didn’t) to move around the property, so convenient vs waiting for the golf cart. Breakfast buffet was really good! We had a couples massage and it was very relaxing. I've never seen a spa like this, huge!
For lunch the lobster tacos are my favorites! We ate for dinner outside the property-Banyan (they take no reservations from Rosewood), Esencia and Maroma… all great restaurants. We played Golf Course Camaleon (PGA Tour Course) Yes, we are coming back!

Room Tip: Stay by the beach, totally worth the $$$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claudillita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graeme d, General Manager at Rosewood Mayakoba, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Claudillita thank you very much for returning to your home at Rosewood Mayakoba. We are all thrilled that you came back and enjoyed your experience even more than your first visit. We are constantly working on creating exceptional experiences for all of our guests and so glad to read we exceeded your expectations again. We are already working on new menu items in Casa Del Lago and Punta Bonita that will be incredible.. Next month we will have our award winning Pastry Chef Fidel Baeza return to us from Panama where he will be creating mouth watering desserts and pastries.. This next month we will begin our sunset wine and cheese cruises throughout our extensive lagoons and our in house biologist will be giving daily complimentary eco tours throughout the rivers and lagoons of the property which will allow our guests to see over 200 species of wild birds and animals.. So please come back for a third visit and enjoy even more the incredible experience at Rosewood Mayakoba... Warm Regards and thank you again for your loyalty ....Graeme Davis, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
407 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

From check-in to check-out, this places in in a league of its own for Mexico and amongst only 1 or 2 others in the world. Why did we go to Cabo so many times?? Went for 5 nights with a certificate on the sky miles.com website. No doubt we got hundreds off a night. We had a beautiful and very private room (I can't remember the number) but it was the first villa built on the property. It is more private the others in its and higher categories. In fact rather then a free upgrade on our next stay we asked for the same room and an adjoining villa for our adult daughter who is joining us in December for a week.

I agree with some that for stays of a week+ it was difficult to find enou variety amongst the on-sire restaurants, even with the two lesser quality resorts (but not significantly) at Mayakoba. However, transportation into Playa Del Carmen where variety abounds was no problem and relatively economical.

The pampering, the gift bottle of tequila on arrival, the turn down amenities and all else made for amspectacular stay where we were treated as the princes we paid to be treated like and we'll be back. did I mention the boat ride to your villa on arrival... Too much!!! I wish I could live there!!!

Room Tip: If staying in a lagoon view room, ask for the one that was the first built on the property for a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeLudin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We are a couple in our fifties that stayed for seven nights in April with our teenage daughter. We are experienced travelers and only stay at deluxe properties. This property is beautiful and the suites are well appointed. Our only complaint with room was that there was no full length mirror. Decks are large with plunge pools and very comfortable lounge chairs that made an enjoyable end of day escape. You must take the boat ride once during your stay and look for Sophie...don't want to give anything else away. Property is spread out but liked our room near reception area and spa as we could walk everywhere. Only took golf carts to beach area. Everyone is extremely nice but just felt that service was not up to Rosewood calibre.

Beach Area-This is where we spent our days. Nice beach with free non motorized watersports. We also rented jet skis several times for $50 for 45 minutes-not associated with Rosewood but recommended by Armando, lifeguard. Pool boys were not attentive. Had to ask for everything....Water/ice was never refreshed automatically during the day. Little to no assistance was given with moving lounge chairs/umbrellas These are things we just expect from Rosewood. Treats were brought out several times per day, nice touch. Cushions were uncomfortable and had to ask for two. Pool boys didn't bring out or offer foot pillows.....Guess we were just spoiled by Rosewood in Los cabos las year.

Beach restaurant-Service was awful first day. Waiter was inattentive and had to move our own food/drinks when we moved tables. Things improved tremendously after I complained. In fact, service was over the top. Every need was taken care of after first day. Chef Julien gave us a guacamole demonstration which was a nice touch.

Concierge-Not sure where disconnect is here. Rosewood has hotel charging reciprocity with Banyan Tree and Fairmont, the two other hotels at Mayakoba. However, concierge cannot make reservations for you at these properties. They told me that they are booked. I ended up making reservations myself without an issue. Saffron for Thai food is a lovely experience. We ate there twice. Both times the restaurant was not full. Eat inside as the Mosquitos are terrible. Also had lunch at Las Brisas, five minute walk on beach. No problem getting in but concierge could not help. Just don't get it....

Tennis-Lucca the outside tennis pro was a delight. Courts are a disgrace for a high end resort and no clinics are offered whatsoever.

Private transportation-We used Cancun Valet at $115 roundtrip for airport transfers. Ontime, reliable and friendly clean vans. We took hotel transportation into Playa for 60 roundtrip. Last night we had a problem as driver spoke no English and got lost. Another driver had to come rescue us, unacceptable....We were not charged though fir this service

Internet-Be careful here. They say it is free but forget to tell you it is only for one device and charge for faster service. Dont play games here

Hotel has a new GM that is looking to make changes. This could be a spectacular property but for us fell short of expectations
Chairs were extremely uncomfortable and needed two cushions to feel comfortable. The cushions on our deck in room should have been used instead of these thin cushions.

Room Tip: Select room near spa if want to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank firstclass-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights as a family of four and had a wonderful experience at what is undoudbtedly a top class hotel. We have stayed at Four Seasons, Ritz Carlton and One & Only and this ranks with the best of them.
The staff were all incredibly friendly - making an effort to know your name and to help where they could. They were willing to help with everything and always greeted you with a friendly smile.The staff made the hotel.
The layout of the hotel was lovely - spread out and well designed - so there was a feeling of space and peace. The buildings were well designed and clearly high quality and well kept.
There were 2 main restaurants were both very good, and my children enjoyed a good kids menu and they were able to order what they wanted even if it wasn't on the menu - so they were very flexible and helpful.
The Tequila bar was very stylish and comfortable, but the night we went we left as there were too many mosquitos - this is clearly not a reason to not choose this hotel but go prepared for mosquitos - although the hotel does ' smoke ' the resort each evening to keep mosquitos away.
The swimming pools were lovely, very clean and well kept and a good temperature - both pools has jacuzzis too, which was a good feature.
We went one night to the Banyan Tree for a meal, which was lovely, but we felt as though we had made the right choice of hotel - we would definteily recommend this hotel if in the area.

Room Tip: We were in room 421 which was a great location - away from any main hotel road / path routes and a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tri4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Conde Nast had Rosewood Mayakoba listed as one of the top resorts in the world and they were right! Rosewood Mayakoba excels at transporting their guests into relaxation mode while providing a very high level of service. The property is spectacular with individual private guest villas scattered throughout. The lagoons throughout the property are clear and clean with many species of wildlife. We were able to see multiple Commorant nests over the lagoons filled with babies – and protective mothers. We had afternoon cocktails on our private dock and were able to watch Iguana’s, unusual birds and Coatis at play. So cool.
The spa is among the best in the world, the architecture at the resort is stunning and the villas are very well appointed (ours had indoor and outdoor showers, private pool and dock, second level outdoor terrace and an amazingly comfortable bed. The restaurants are very good with great wine selections. You can also arrange for a private dinner in the wine cellar. Agave Azul was our after dinner drink spot. Ask for Balam and he will guide you through a Tequila tasting and give you an excellent history of this spirit. When dining at the beach restaurant you must try the lobster tacos and ceviche – delicious!
The staff knew us by name throughout the resort and were always upbeat and helpful. We were amazed at the attention to detail that each staff member provided. One of my very favorite performers and her famous husband were staying at Rosewood and could be seen throughout the resort enjoying the amenities. Although A-listers are common at Rosewood, it was a treat for me!
The beach is a little narrow by the pool area but there is a much larger beach area in front of the Palapa. There are beach cabanas and sailboats/kayaks/paddle boards available for the guests to use there. Also, if I ever needed to host a reception or event – this is the place to do it. The palapa is huge and was beautifully decorated for a large corporate dinner event while we were there. It looked very romantic.
Overall, it doesn’t get any better than this. You do not want to come to Playa and miss this experience!

Room Tip: Rosewood has beach front or lagoon villas to choose from. We loved being on the lagoon and these vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W419lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,482 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,582 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,194 reviews
4.8 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing