We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Exceptional”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truly Exceptional”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I might have actually gotten a tear in my eye the day we had to leave. This place is truly one of the most relaxing and outstanding places I have been - right up there with Bora Bora beleive it or not. We had a driver pick us up in Cancun in one of their luxury SUV's, and he already knew even our children's names. Johnnie (our driver) was so pleasant and professional we asked for him throughout our trip everytime we needed a ride somewhere. From the moment you arrive you can tell this place is just exceptional. The decor, the landscaping, the service (outstanding!), Casa de Lago (one of the restaurants) serves food that can compete with top restaurants in any metropolitan city. We stayed in a Deluxe Oceanview Beach Suite, it was very spacious, and having a luxurious walk-in closet and high thread count sheets made it as comfortable as home. The pools in these suites are bigger than the others and you are litterally 30 feet from the pool, kids club, Punta Bonita Restaurant and the beach. They provided our 4 year old daughter with a fuzzy pink robe and children's bath amenities. We also brought our 11 month old and we were concerned about getting a baby gate for the stairs. Within 10 minutes 2 maintenance guys were there with power tools, installing a sturdy wooden gate that matched the decor right into the wall. Wow. It's not only about you've paid for and what you're expecting at Rosewood Mayakoba, it's the little delights that you weren't expecting. I don't want to ruin any surprises for anyone because you simply must stop what you're doing and just go, but "May I offer you a [insert something superb here] as a beach amenity, Mrs. [insert your name here as all the staff have memorized your name, face and suite number already]". The beach and pool staff were wonderful. The kids club staff were so kind, my daughter spent hours there most days and each time came home with some elaborate thing she had made. I should also mention we were also there with some friends, they stayed in both a lagoon suite and a beach-front suite (for variety) and both were beautiful. You just can't go wrong here. We do quite a bit of travelling and we very rarely return to the same place twice.... This place, however, is a gem and we will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Booboomama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    125
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
419
887
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Book now. Seriously, stop searching, stop contemplating....this is the greatest place I have ever been. Just like many other picky reviewers like me who have stayed at many luxury resorts can attaest, Rosewood Mayakoba is a very special and incredible place. Beach - great, pools - great, lodging - great, security - great,....service - AMAZING! Cannot stress the quality of the service enough - it is the platinum, 5+ diamond standard and almost so perfect it is hard to believe. Best time ever and cannot wait to go back. Granted, it is not a cheap vacation nor "all-inclusive" however a value nonetheless that will be unforgettable. Upon visiitng, you will like find yourself recommending it to everyone. I am.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colotep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Well if it werent for tropical storm type weather it would have been perfect.
The staff is very friendly and helpful whos service is second to none, and its genuine.
The rooms are absolutley outstanding and probably the nicest suite I have been privleged to stay in anywhere in the world, the alnost 100% glass structures (feels that way) bring in the complete beauty of the properties surroundings.

Food was excellent and the Tequilla tasting is somthing that should not be missed.
The Spa facitlities was very nice - almost exceptional but my massage however was mediocre.
Although it rained all of the 3 nights - The concierge was great and still got our tour in to Tulem and 1/2 day of ziplining - They also found a spot were we could snorkel in underwater caves, so the rain didn't interfere.
The short ride from the airport was a small added bonus

Room Tip: request a suite on the lagoon
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jambony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I just returned from Rosewood Mayakoba where we spent 5 days celebrating our 10 year anniversary.

The grounds are spectacular and the staff and service were unrivaled to anywhere we've traveled (which is fairly extensive).

We stayed in a Deluxe Lagoon Suite halfway between the Main Reception area and the Beach area. We were offered an upgrade to an Overwater Lagoon Suite, but declined because that type of Suite is actually smaller and does not have a roof deck. The Deluxe Lagoon Suite offered more than enough space. There are many videos on Youtube that can be searched to give you an idea of the space.

Our days were spent at the beach pool which was extremely pleasant. It was mostly couples but there were a few children there. If you have children who need a decent amount of stimulation or "stuff to do", this might not be the best place. While they have an enclosed kids area, I could see younger children getting bored very quickly (we would not bring our kids here).

My wife did get a spa treatment one afternoon and said it was one of the best she ever had.

When we were there, they claimed 40% occupancy. It was clear than with even close to 100% occupancy, there would be no shortage of staff to fulfill any request.

Every staff member knew who we were (as if they were briefed beforehand) and remembered preferences we might have made on previous days.

All the food at the resort was delicious and we felt while certainly not the least expensive vacation, the value for what we got was superb.

We ate dinner at the hotel at Casa de Lago which was quite good and also spent several nights in the nearby (10 minute car ride) town of Playa del Carmen. While it's clearly a tourist town, there's no shortage of restaurants and fun shops to visit during the evening. For those concerned about safety, there is absolutely no sense of danger in the town at all. Local street vendors can be a bit pushy and mariachi musicians will try to serenade you often if you're sitting outside on the street but a simple no thanks (or ignoring them) gets the message across without any issue.

We absolutely intend to return to Mayakoba and the Rosewood. For couples looking for relaxation, I cannot think of a better experience.

Room Tip: While Overwater Suites are more expensive, the Deluxe Lagoon Suites are larger and offer a roof deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sundstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

3 days was not enough at this incredible hotel. We had an over-water lagoon suite with a plunge pool, which was completely secluded from other guests and our own nature sanctuary (with turtles, fish, ducks, and the occasional crocodile swimming by). The room (more like a private house) was beautifully decorated, peaceful, and spacious. We had impeccable service at the restaurants and all over the resort, the staff were personable and friendly, and everyone went out of their way to ensure our stay was 1st class. Although the beach was a golf-cart drive away, the benefits of having the lagoon surrounding our room was well worth it. Although there are plenty of activities to do outside the resort (snorkeling, nature reserve, shopping, Tulum, etc.), you will find it very hard to leave the hotel. We tried to make reservations at Saffron, a restaurant at the neighboring Banyan Tree, but they were very preferential towards their own guests, and we ended up having a great dinner at Punta Bonita and Casa del Lago anyway! This hotel was amazing for a peaceful, relaxing honeymoon. We are absolutely returning for our 1st anniversary.

Room Tip: Over-water lagoon suites are so tranquil, wild-life in abundance, plunge-pool was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The hotel is quite beautiful and the service was exceptional. We suffered a tropical storm during our visit and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Our room was the nicest we have had in Mexico and we have stayed in some very fine hotels.The food was excellent at all meals and in both restaurants. This is an expensive hotel, but wonderful. We will return.

Room Tip: All the roooms are lovely and very private. Avoid the beach view rooms during a tropical storm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChuckieBgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

This was by far the most beautiful beach I have ever been to. We stayed at the rosewood oct 5-9,2011. With the exception of a half day of rain, the weather was gorgeous! The resort was immaculate, staff was fabulous, happy and more than accommodating. We stayed in an ocean view/side suite, which had a private pool on the roof. It was hands down, the most beautiful view on the property. It was also right across( very short walk) from the beach.if you stay on the lagoon side, it is more inconvenient to get to beach. You can wait for golf cart, as it is a half mile walk over. It was pricey, but worth every penny. It seemed as though the each of the staff ( servers/drivers) knew our names, they also always have a smile on their face( imagine that... People that actually enjoy their job !! Wow!!!)
We will go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BWoods2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#4 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,723 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,579 reviews
10.9 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing