We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING”
Review of Rosewood Mayakoba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rosewood Mayakoba
Ranked #1 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Close to perfection, everyone MUST visit Rosewood Mayakoba

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyerick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,448
    125
    28
    12
    7
See reviews for
419
887
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The staff at this great hotel is very warm and friendly. The rooms are spacious and really gorgeous. I stayed at Banyan Tree as well and it's not clear from the website, but they are not comparable. Rosewood wins hands down. You have far more personalized treatment, more quiet, more elegant architecture and more sophisticated guests etc. It attracts a more sophisticated crowd. If you are a tattooed smoker planning on blowing smoke to your neighbors at the restaurant, go to Banyan Tree and be right at home. You want a modern, comfortable suite with a private plunge pool, gorgeous facilities, pretty pools and delicious restaurant with impeccable service. Their spa is really gorgeous with many areas to relax, free of charge without any service. (Not true at Banyan Tree)

Little details like housekeeping leaving a bookmark on your book or sun-glass cleaner by your glasses or delicious treats brought hourly to your free cabana at the pool, this is the place for you. You may even be lucky enough to release baby sea turtles on the beach as the hotel supports endangered turtles. I can't think of anything bad to say about the place. Go off season for a reduced price on the rooms and put up with some showers, a few clouds, and some dramatic lightning. It's worth the discount.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the main pool or restaurant or the beach, so then, half the places you go, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We just returned from nearly 3 weeks in Mexico staying in 3 different resorts, all great in their own way and each very different. The Rosewood was the last property we stayed in, (after La Amada and Grand Velas) and was the only one which was not all inclusive and therefore significantly more expensive. It was, however, worth every penny.

From the moment we arrrived, we were treated with smiling, courteous service, refreshing drinks (all the drinks we had throughout our stay were excellent) and a relaxing boat trip to our lagoon suite to set the mood. We were taken through the mangroves, via the baby crocodiles and turtles to our very spacious suite. The room itself was spacious and beautiful with tranquil views in every direction, including the roof terrace. The scenery and architecture, lighting and layout really are incredible. Complete luxury, surrounded by nature. We had a huge stone bath, big enough for the whole family, indoor and outdoor showers (my personal favourite) and a little pool overlooking the lagoon. Absolute bliss. And we had the cheapest room in the hotel.
It was cleaned twice a day, always before lunch and again at turn-down which was around 7pm so was always spotless - which isn't easy with all that nature literally on your doorstep and 2 small kids.
The property is sprawled out amongst the lagoons so some rooms, the lobby pool and the beach are about ten minutes walk. Not far, but with 2 kids under 5 and the Mexican sun we didn't always feel like walking. Luckily, the golf carts, which the kids loved, were never far away to whisk us wherever we wanted.
The beach was lovely, as were all the beaches we saw in Mexico, with soft white sand and clear water. Our children loved the beach and the kids club (which is conveniently located right next to the beach and pool) and were treated like royalty throughout our stay. The service was top class, and whilst we were greeted by name in each hotel we stayed in, the staff at Rosewood managed to be both more attentive and yet less intrusive at the same time. They never bothered us, just made sure we were as comfortable as possible at all times: changing ice buckets on the beach to keep our water cool, bringing little non-alchoholic cocktails to refresh us and the kids, cleaning our sunglasses and even noticing when I couldn't get comfortable reading on the sun lounger and bringing extra cushions! And always with a genuine smile.
My husband and I took turns having a spa treatment which was wonderful, and my only regret is that we didn't have enough time to make more use of the spa facilities.
Our favourite 'restaurant' was the tequila bar, where the drinks were fabulous and the mexican tapas menu was fresh and delicious. As was La Punta Bonita, the Mexican restaurant on the beach, which sadly was only open twice during our stay. The breakfast was also a beautifully laid out, extensive buffet, which was refilled constantly, with hot dishes cooked to order. Room service was also outstanding and always arrived within the time stated (usually 20 minutes).
I read another review of the same hotel complaining about having to pay for WiFi. During our stay, there was no charge for this service at all. In fact, when the tropical storms were making it difficult for us to get internet access from our lagoon suite, the concierge immediately brought us a router and alternative password to get us successfully connected. The was also a Bose ipod docking station for our use. I honestly wonder if it was the same hotel we stayed at.
Overall, we loved the Rosewood Mayacoba. It was probably not the best value hotel we stayed in, but the beauty of the property, the absolutely magical atmosphere and the service put it in a different league of luxury. We hope to return one day...

Room Tip: Our room was stunning. And the view and location was so relaxing. As it was one of the cheapest, I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happykampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Literally. I am the pickiest human in the world when it comes to hotels - if a bed is facing in an inhospitable direction or the lighting is off I am in anguish and MUST FIX IT - and this is maybe the only hotel i have ever stayed in where there wasn't a single thing that wasn't delightful.

The staff is very warm and helpful. The food is amazing - particularly the Mexican restaurant on the beach and the insane poolside breakfast. I would fly back just to spend two hours at the tequila library.

We spent three days and never left the hotel, which is usually the opposite of how we travel. Could have done four in complete isolation. It's not an exciting place - but totally wonderful and luxurious for baking under the sun, swimming, playing cards on your deck overlooking the lagoon. Super expensive, of course, but if you want to pamper yourself, in this case you get exactly what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend. Our first time in Mexico! This is really a special place. If you love peaceful surroundings and nature, you will love this resort. The lagoons and the birds are amazingly beautiful. We had a lagoon suite with a small private pool. The suite was BIG and so beautifully decorated. I would describe it as understated luxury. Modern, but warm and very comfortable. Probably the best suite we have stayed in and we have stayed at a lot of upscale resorts. The beach is beautiful and the staff is THE friendliest I have ever seen at a resort. EVERY single staff member says hello to you. I really liked that a lot. I don't think this resort knows how to say no to a guest. Want room service any time of day? No problem! They really do cater to your every wish.

We went to the pool/beach every day and we ate at the restaurant by the beach. The first night was Mexican food night and it was really delicious and really expensive - over $100 US for tacos and drinks. Yikes!

I would definitely go back to this place! Next time I would book a suite on the beach. We were a little sorry that we didn't. The beach suites looked AMAZING.

We went to Playa Del Carmen one night. I was not impressed. Just a lot of people trying to sell you crappy jewelry. I had read so many nice things about Playa Del Carmen...I just didn't see the appeal. We will skip Playa Del Carmen next time, but I highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eggroll22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

From our arrival at the airport to drop-off at the airport this place is fantastic.
Everyone here from the check-in to Sophie the croc made us feel like we were special.
All the restaurant and bar facilities were of the highest calibre, such that even the room service felt like we were dining in the finest restaurant.
We were able to switch off and feel relaxed, in our awesome over water suite, around the pool(s), and every day we were reminded of this by the simple smiles and greetings we had at the breakfast table.
We were left to our own devices to absorb the wonderful natural settings and the wildlife.
The local area and it's history were just an added bonus to this resort and the Mexico experience.
The staff and the resort were beautiful in the most simple and natural way.
We loved it, pity it's such a distance from where we live, otherwise we would be going back every year.

Room Tip: All the suites are well designed and located across the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire dales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I absolutey loved this hotel everything about it was perfect.
Check in was spot on - even the welcome drinks were nice (and usually they are sweet and sickly affairs). We were taken by electric boat on a tour of the lagoon during which we were given cold towels and melon skewers with chilli, salt and lime -sounds weird but worked.
The lagoon is teeming with fish, turtles and a huge variety of wild and you could just sit and watch it for hours.
At the end of the boat ride we arrived at our suites pier where our butler was waiting.
A complimentary bottle of tequilla was in the suite with lime and salt - nothing like a shot of tequilla to know you have arrived in Mexico.
The room was huge (an island suite) and on two levels with a vast amout of space and flooded with light. Outside there were two places to sit out and an inviting private pool.
The general finish on the room was super -marble, glass and wood used with perfect taste.
I think there are two things you can really judge a hotel by - is there ice in the room on arrival and is the internet free and fast. The answer to both these was a definate yes.
Food was great and a fair variety and we were told on arrival we could go to any or the other Mayakoba hotels and have food billed to our room at the Rosewood.
Every single employee always had a smile for you and a Hola! They all seemed super happy and wanted do what ever they could to please - we were made to feel super welcome.
Given the choice this would be my number one choice for 5 stars in the Riviera Maya absolutely no contest. I am a really demanding hotel guest (read my other reviews) but I couldnt find anything that didnt make me 100% happy on my one night stay (we had to check out of the tides!).
Thankyou again to all the perfect staff and management of the Rosewood Mayakoba- looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Island suite for space and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#8 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,670 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,720 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,565 reviews
10.9 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Mayakoba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Mayakoba

Property: Rosewood Mayakoba
Address: Ctra. Federal Cancun, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#8 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosewood Mayakoba 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosewood Mayakoba is situated on the Riviera Maya. This luxury resort in Mexico offers spacious suites and is located south of Cancun and north of the charming seaside village of Playa del Carmen.Surrounded by the emerald embrace of the jungle and caressed by warm Carribbean breezes, is a resort of rare luxury and indulgence. Rosewood Mayakoba is imbued with the unique spirit of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula. A journey to this serene world, immersed in the dense green perfume of the jungle, captivates the soul with unimaginable tropical beauty,and pure, simple refinement. The ecological enclave of Mayakobá is a new, enlightened model of true luxury hospitality that celebrates the land without compromising it. Mayakoba embraces the government restrictions on development and mangrove preservation which has always been a top priority for the developers and designers. The Madrid-based construction company OHL, with 25 years of experience in Mexico, owned the land for many years before choosing how to build upon it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosewood Mayakoba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosewood Mayakoba Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Playa Del Carmen
Rosewood Mayakoba Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing