We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a cool place.......”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Petit Lafitte for part of our honeymoon in December 2008.

We could not fault our stay in anyway, the staff were extremely helpful, very friendly, knowledgable and took to our quirky english ways without a second glance!!

The sea and beach view from our room was outstanding, our room was always spotlessly clean and very well kept. How they controlled the sand we trailed up and down the stairs I will never know!! ;-)

The hotel was very quiet at all times, the beach was beautiful with lots of sun-loungers and soft white sand. The pool was refreshing but never freezing and always very clean.

The food in the restaurant was excellent and the staff were happy to recommend places to eat in the somewhat tacky Playa del Carmen when we fancied a change of scenery. The margarita's served at the bar were truly amazing and an absolute must for those old enough to indulge in good alcohol.

I would thoroughly recommend Petit Lafitte to anyone who wants a wonderful break away from the mammouth all inclusive resorts and the tack of Playa del Carmen or Cancun.

Petit Lafitte is a truly wonderful place

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redlilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2015

Dear Redlilley,

Thank you for staying at Petit Lafitte for part of your honeymoon. It looks like you really appreciated and liked our laid back, family style as much as we liked your British ways. That’s just great!
We hope that what started here with us as a honey moon continues unfolding as a life filled with experiences and growth.
Hope to see you again for an Anniversary trip?

Kind Regards,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,414 - 1,420 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2009

My husband and I were at Petit Lafitte from 12/31/08 to 1/4/09. We stayed in an oceanview hotel room. It was sparse, but clean and met our needs (bed, tv, a/c and shower). Don't expect high luxury here! The only things we really missed having were a clock and an in-room safe. The food was delicious! Both breakfast and dinner are included. There were lots of choices and we found it all to be above-average and plentiful. The staff was helpful when they were asked to be, but otherwise left us alone. The location is gorgeous, although it is hard to find and far from Playa (you have to take a cab). They have a beautiful private beach with plenty of chairs. The pool was clean but on the cool side. The seaside restaurant was open for lunch, snacks and drinks most of the time. There were many families with kids there, a few honeymooners and tons of repeat customers at the hotel. The repeat customers create a sort of clique-i-ness to the place that was somewhat intimidating. If you want a small, simple hotel that is secluded and away from the main drag and if you don't enjoy the super-mega-resort scene, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank diving-mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

Hola divingmommy,

Thank you for your brief and positive review for Petit Lafitte version 2008-2009.
We truly appreciate the fact that you decided to try our place in its new location as part of your winter vacation with your husband. It seems like you were very pleasantly surprised and that you were satisfied.
Now we’re glad to report that all rooms are equipped with safe deposit boxes and we are even more glad to report that we will not install clocks in the rooms. We want our guests to measure time by the time of the meals, and disconnect from restrictions and such. (Besides nowadays, everyone has a cell phone if they need to look at the time). Our advice is that you forget about time and indulge in the freedom of doing what your body and mind tells you.

Being hard to find is a blessing in disguise, as it allows the privacy of our beach and relaxed atmosphere. Someday that will change but as of now, we’re still one of the nicest, most quiet stretches of beach around.

Repeat customers, are very nice and open to new guests (for the most part) but yes, I understand your perception on how some of them, may group together and isolate themselves as if to show their connection with the place and the staff in a position of “power.” Fortunately that is unusual and the majority embraces new guests, as a lot of other reviews attest.

Once again thank you for your visit, your review and commendations.

Hope to see you again,

Best Regards,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We just returned from a fabulous stay at the Petit Lafitte. A secluded and small hotel, it is light years away from the hustle and commercialism of Playa del Carmen. Our bungalow was cozy and very clean, the food (while not gourmet) was good, there were many wine selections, and the beach was lovely - but it was the friendliness of the staff that made our trip. They greeted us by name each time we met, joked with us (especially our waiter, Manuel), and did their best to make our stay enjoyable.
Enrique, the manager (?) and concierge handled every problem (like the luggage lost by the airline) and request (he helped us to book a fishing and snorkling trip) with efficiency and patience. The rest of the staff followed suit. When we left, we felt like we were leaving friends.
Only two things would have made our trip more enjoyable; a little more light in our room and a computer which was not monopolized by children, so our adult daughter could complete some necessary business more easily.
Don't let the drive in freak you out. As you approach the hotel it seems unlikely that the route could lead to a hotel, but it does. If you are driving get very explicet directions.
If you are not looking for life in the fast lane, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank wyoming_pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2015

Dear Wyoming_pamela,

Thank you for your stay at Petit Lafitte,
We truly enjoyed reading your comments and how you clicked with our staff, I was thinking about the fact that they addressed you and your family by name since day one, and I couldn´t help but to think that for these people, that is actually the natural and easy way of doing it.
As I mentioned before n another response, Enrique our head of reception, is no longer working for us, he decided to return to his home place Mérida, as his daughters were growing up. He is still a good friend to us.
The lighting in the bungalows is better now than back in 2008, we added a few more lamps. And now we have experimented with adding windows on certain walls, we’re so close to where we want to be in that aspect.
The computers are no longer monopolized by kids, most kids travel with their ipads and phones and we also created a space in the game room that is specifically designed for the kids to use, video games tv and such.

The freaky road in of then had suffered many changes, most to improve and now we have a very decent road in, every so often new construction or repairs affet it, but that is not the norm, as much as the exception.

Once again, thank you for your visit and for taking the time to write such a nice review.

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed at Petit Lafitte after reading the reviews here and were not disappointed! It was a truly amazing experience and I like the other guests there almost hate to share this little hidden gem with anyone! :-)

Great:
- The ocean view and ocean front cabanas are amazing! I cannot say enough about them - you feel like you have a rustic beach front home, and they are very comfortable (except for the bed, noted below), with fridge, coffee / tea maker, good shower / bathroom, a/c and fan). The balcony is lovely, as are the hammocks strung just outside
- It is a relatively quiet stretch of beach so you really feel like you have all the space you need.
- The sand is lovely right in front of the hotel (some of the neighbouring hotels have very rocky beaches) - however see the note about swimming in the ocean below.
- The food is incredible (breakfast and dinner are included), especially the Mexican food and the desserts! For some reason they kept trying to do other international food but I cant see why, their Mexican food is out of this world! Their cakes are outstanding and were the highlight of dinner for our family every night!
- The service is amazing - everyone bends over backwards to help you and make sure you are taken care of. I like fresh coconut juice so every morning Jesus would get me a coconut. I also am vegetarian so each morning at breakfast they would organize the dinner menu for me, and would make whatever I wanted.
- The massages by the ocean are really really good and very relaxing - Letitia is wonderful!
- We took some excursions with Cesar (a local taxi driver that used to work at Capitain Lafitte - front desk booked for us) - he is amazing - do not take any of the big group tours, Cesar knows more about the area than most of the tour operators and will customize a full day tour for you including ruins, cenotes, local restaurants etc for a very reasonable price - his car is new and large and he speaks excellent English and is just a wonderful man. We even booked an excursion through him after we moved to our next hotel.
- My son loved the little animal sanctuary they have at the back
- The property is small enough that all the kids love to play together while the adults hang out at the bar or by the beach or pool and you dont have to worry about them - it is really a fun vacation for everyone!
- Many people were regulars from the old Capitain Lafitte, and having been once we will definitely be back, and often, you will understand why once you have been!

Not so great:
- The beds in the cabanas are hard and very uncomfortable, they really need to do something about these - this is literally my only complaint so that will tell you something about this place!

Be aware:
- The ocean right in front of the hotel is rocky and you will need swim shoes - however there is a buoy tied a few meters up the beach to mark a sandy access area, we went in there and it was really wonderful.
- This is like taking a step back in time to a more relaxed era - don't come here if you want a luxury resort with multiple activities and amenities and kids playgrounds etc - this is a home away from home on a relaxed beach, where everyone gets to know each other and where you reconnect with yourself.
- The cabanas do not have a tv or phone, we liked it that way but if you need a tv in the room opt for the regular rooms.
- The road is narrow, windy and bumpy getting there but nothing like some of the reviews, it actually lends to the rustic feel and we came in and out several times, it adds 5 min to any trip but really not an issue - just dont be put off by the mega resorts and condos on your way in, petit lafitte is nothing like the others.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank wananchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2015

Dear wananchi,

Your review was the first one of 2009, and we started on a great note.
We are delighted to read that you loved our place so much that you almost resisted to write a review as you wanted to keep this place a secret, and we truly appreciate that you ended up writing a review anyway.
Thank you so very much for all your kind and encouraging words, It looks like you had a well rounded experience and got to enjoy each aspect of our services, from the atmosphere to the food, the service, the fresh coconut milk, the animal sanctuary, the massages, Cesar the driver, (he’s still around) and even meeting repeat customers.
We have taken measure regarding the beds, and even though we made progress, it seems that no matter how far we go in softness or hardness of them, there will always be comments, due to the fact that this is such a subjective aspect. Definitely your comment and the comments of other guests served to take the initial action to correct the issue.
Thank you.

We wonder If your intention of returning and becoming a repeat guests like the ones you met, became a reality,

We aren’t sure as pseudo names are hard to decipher sometimes.

We hope to see you again sometime and regardless of where you go, enjoy life and travels,

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

I read all of the reviews of this place before booking. It was just what my family wanted. Quiet, not resorty, not tons of people. However, there were a lot of kids for those who want a more adult excursion. Here's what I liked:
Quiet,
great service
on the beach
beautiful area
good food
relaxing.
They have a game room with ping pong, pool, videos and left books.
Lots of chairs and shade for beachgoers.
Very multicultural cliental. Lots of europeans, americans, etc.
Air conditioning was great.
Water Pressure, AMAZING.
Had a safe, refrigerator, etc.

What I didn't like:
SO HARD TO FIND. Their road got built on by another resort so it's hard to find, at one point you have to drive on another resort's hotel sidewalk! Make sure you get REALLY precise directions.
Service was a little slow. getting our plates taken and water refills took forever.
It's a trip into Playa. A cab ride is about 12 bucks each way and no one knows where it is. (Make sure if you ask for location you tell them it is NOT Captain Lafitte, that no longer exists.) Not a place for those who want to be "in the mix" everyday.
There is only one computer with internet and usually kids are on it playing games or something. They really need an "adult only" computer. (I realize people come here to relax and not worry about internet but it's nice for plane information and checking email and weather.)
Last day we lost electricity and water for like 3 hours, no big deal but I had to take a last minute shower before heading out for airport.
Very HEAVY/HOT comforters. Too hot to sleep with AC off and a sheet, too cold to sleep with AC on and just the sheet so had to turn AC on high and sleep under comforter.

Overall, good place. Rooms were alright, views were beautiful, beach was beautiful, staff was great.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gcarfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2015

Dear gcarfan,

Thank you for visiting Petit Lafitte,
We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the place in its beginnings. You would love it even more now, let me tell you that the road was moved so you don’t have to go through another resort to get here. We added several sings on the road to make it easier to get here and that issue seems to be completely resolved. We added one more computer and many routers for wi-fi signal, so people are mostly using their phones and tablets now.
We changed the heavy comforters for bedspreads that are way lighter and make sleeping with just the fan and windows open, very nice, or if you prefer, you can turn on the AC.
We are gradually replacing the old “window type” AC units with nicer and silent mini-split units.

Those are the changes, 23 bungalows now and the same quiet, white sand beach…

Wanna try again?

Iván Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

This was our first visit to the "new Lafitte". With the exception of a couple of years, we have been coming to the old Lafitte for over twenty five years. Obviously we have been happy. There is always some trepidation when going to a new place, particularly after having been so satisified with the old mainstay. Due to the staff, great and improved food and continued laid back ambience, our expectations were not only met but exceeded. The Lafitte staff is like family to us and in turn treats us like their family. We cannot say enough about the service rendered from all fronts. The Mayan people are truly the most humble and giving on this Earth and always have a smile, regardless of the cirmcumstances. We found the grounds and Cabanas very new and clean and the prices continue to offer one of the best values around. Lafitte is a place to lay back, lounge and relax and forget about the craziness of today's world. And there always is a conversation at the bar throughout the day. We are booked for a week in February 09'.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank testlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2015

Dear Teslick,

Well, what can we say to you and your lovely wife?
You have been our fans and loyal customers, for so many years.
We’re so glad that the trepidations of a first encounter after the relocation, was quickly dissipated when the staff welcomed you with their smiles and service, the food and the good qualities that you learned to love over the previous years as a Capitán Lafitte guest, reassured you that the only thing that changed, was the geographic location, yet the spirit of the place was preserved.
As we both know, several more visits followed this initial one of December 2008, and now we’re very happy to see your names in our reservations for this coming winter 2015-2016.

To your continued love and loyalty…

Cheers and God Bless.

Warm Regards,

Iván Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2008

Based on other Trip Advisor reviews I chose Petit Lafitte for a surprise birthday getaway for my husband. It was a good choice. For 3 days we never left the hotel area other than to walk down the beach.

The food was delicious (hey, I live in New Orleans and am a foodie-so this says alot). The whole place was clean, slow paced, quiet, with nice guests, and nice, mostly english speaking help. The beach bungalows were rustic but comfortable. They are advertized as beach views but don't expect them to all be facing the beach. Our bungalow was towards the back and did have a view but we couldn't really hear the waves. They are still building their gardenview bungalows, of which a couple of them will still face the beach. When they finish it these new bungalows will face a beautiful garden area with parrots.

The beds were a bit on the hard side and we had difficulty figuring out the A/C (no instructions and it was not intuitive). There was plenty of hot water, thick fluffy white towels, beach towels, shampoos, soaps, etc. but no lotion. Our room had no clock, no phone, and no TV so disconnecting from our hectic daily schedule was made easier. There was wi-fi in some places and a computer, with internet, for guests in the game room for those who needed it. But, after a couple of days of decomressing I was actually annoyed to see anyone carrying around a laptop and talking about the stock market news of the day!

I highly recommend using Transportadora Velazquez (pdctransfers.com). They were cheap, on time, friendly and already knew the way to this hotel. There is absolutely no way I could have figured out how to get to this location without them (behind another couple of residential areas, over and down a sidewalk for The Tides hotel, down unmarked, single lane, dirt roads...you get the idea.

The weather was a bit windy and cool at night so take some pants and a light jacket. All your meals are served outdoors.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank everclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2015

Dear everclimber

Thank you for your extensive and positive review about Petit Lafitte.
We’re glad that you decided to follow Tripadvisor reviews to choose our spot and loved it. This speaks highly for the reputation of both the hotel and the T.A. forum.
We’re very honored to read that you liked our food, yes, coming from LA. And being a food fan, I mean..you know that you’re talking about!!
Since you were here, we added phoned in the bungalows, just to facilitate communication with the reception, the restaurant and such. No TVs will be added and no clocks, the idea of “unplug here” is what we want to provide.
Roads have been improved, constructions of the Tides and Fives is over but other construction is happening now.
Find Paradise…then change it…seems to be the way to go anywhere.

Thank you for your visit and your review, we hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,478 reviews
3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,978 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#18 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
560 reviews
2.9 mi away
Newport House Playa del Carmen
Newport House Playa del Carmen
#1 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
114 reviews
7.8 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#4 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $196 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing