We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait to Go Back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't Wait to Go Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our family of five (two in middle school, one kindergarten) absolutely loved Petit. Everything about this place made it the perfect Caribbean get-away after a very cold winter. The food is amazing, and so are the cocktails at the beach side bar. The beach features a wonderful swimming area and snorkeling on the surrounding reef. Definitely bring snorkeling gear. What really makes this place unique is its size and staff. Unlike the mega all-inclusives, at Petit you are treated like a member of the family. By the second day the staff knew us by name, and vice versa. The same is also true in getting to know the other guests. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Bungalows are wonderful for families. Best Bungalows for value are the Garden View up to #15. Thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear BM,

Greetings to the far North Eastern USA.

We wish to thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte as your family escape from the very frigid winter. We are very happy to hear that you can’t wait to comeback, and truly wish that you all do comeback…like the migratory birds that go south, feel free to return to this little spot where we will treat you like family (without asking you to do your own dishes, ha,ha,ha) our staff will remember your names and provide good service. Guaranteed!!

Best wishes,

Ivan Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    249
    71
    9
    6
See reviews for
488
678
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We spent a week at Petit Lafitte for spring break. This was our first stay at this wonderful little resort. Everything was just as expected! The bungalow worked fine for the three of us. My son (16) liked having his own space in the loft. It was quiet and comfortable. I can't say enough about the staff. If we needed anything, David was there for us. He gave us a tour and answered all our questions at check in. The food was very good. If you don't see something on the menu, just ask. Loved the different entertainment in the evenings. Two other families traveled with us and everyone really liked this resort. The teenagers enjoyed the pool, the beach, and the beach bar (virgin pina coladas!). This resort is not in town so you may want a rental car. We rented a car in Playa and drove all over the place. If you want to do many off site activities (Tulum, Coba, Xel-Ha) you should rent a car. There is a new Wal Mart 10 minute drive from the resort. We bought a cooler and stocked up on drinks and snacks for all of our excursions. Thank you Luis, David, Javier, Antonio and all the rest of the staff for a perfect spring break. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank AlwaysOnTheG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hola AlwaysontheGO,

Sounds like you and your family had a wonderful experience, not only by staying at Petit Lafitte, but also by exploring the attractions of the area, like Tulum, Xelha or Coba, you even got to shop in the super market here! :) . While some guests stay at the hotel and don’t do much outside of relaxing, reading books or swimming, you were active and that shows that it is possible to satisfy the restless hearts as well.

We hope that this is not the only time we meet and that our paths merge in the future.
Thank you for your personal mentions for some of our staff and for you visit.

Be well, and enjoy your summer !

Best Regards,

I.Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We loved our five night stay at Petit Lafitte, it was so relaxed and laid back and completely calm. We stayed in a bungalow which made the experience even more intimate, it was like having our own little beach house. Accommodations are comfortable and clean but rustic--no frills but very cozy and warm and welcoming. We enjoyed the meals and the super-friendly and helpful staff. The beach is one of the best in the area, no rocks, endless white sand, great swimming. If you're someone who wants a low-key, unpretentious, completely relaxing vacation, this place satisfies on every level!

Room Tip: I'd choose a bungalow over a room because it makes the experience a little more special. They ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear LizV,

Thank you so much for your short, yet lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our little rustic little paradise and preferred the bungalows due to their intimate atmosphere.
Thank you for the comments on the service and staff, they are definitely the central pillar upon which Petit Lafitte’s name is built. Little touches like the animal figures made with towels became a tradition back in the 90s and continue now. Thank you for noticing.

We hope you have a lovely rest of the year 2014, and who knows? Maybe you will get the urge for more hammock time in the winter…you know where we have one for you.

Kind Regards,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

First off, the staff at this resort are FABULOUS! the place is owned buy a family with a great history of service and friendly ness in the area. If you want a quiet restful vacation, this is the place! Clean, well kept beach side paradise. Every thing with in steps, dining, pool, beach, snorkelling right out front. If you want to relax the massage is right on the beach, the massage I had was so good I got one for my sweetheart. I recommend early in the day, also the food is fantastic. Before arriving I recommend stoping to pick up some snacks and things for your room. There is really no reason to leave the resort. No traffic, no line ups, just sun, sand, good company and a good book. Sun rise is spectacular, and the bonus is you get some sun in and are ready for a nap around 2:00 when it gets hot. The resort has a variety entertainment before diner, the sky at sun set is stunning. I could go on :)) happy to plan our return for next year :))

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelloo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hola Angelloo73,

Thank you so much for taking part of your time to write such a kind review. We are honored to read your comments and hearing this was your “best vacation ever.” Being a small, beach spot allows for quiet atmosphere and convenience in the design of the facilities, so yes, everything is just steps away. No golf cart rides to nowhere, or big lines. We’re so glad you enjoyed the massage on the beach and the sunrises and sunsets. That is exactly the idea.

Be well, enjoy your Vancouver summer and thank you again for your visit and your review.

I. Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just back from our second visit to Petit Lafitte and had a wonderful stay. We really like this hotel. Travelling with 2 children aged 8 and 5 who adore the pool, ocean front lunches, animal sanctuary and the kind staff.

Breakfast is included in the price of the room and is delicious. We didn't eat the evening meal (also included) very often as it is quite heavy and too late for our hungry children. Instead we chose to eat next door at Coco Cananas which can be reached along the beach and is really good.

We stayed in a garden bungalow which is really nice. For us, 4 people sharing, it was a squeeze due to the bed lay outs although it is a big room. My only recommendation would be a sliding bed for children so they can share on 2 levels rather than together in a double bed. That said, the room is super clean, comfy and well appointed

The staff are really friendly and nice. They will do anything to assist and we felt very welcome and well looked after. They also organised a really well priced car hire for us with no additional cost other than the basic hire fee. It was very nice to arrange this away from the hustle of Cancun airport

Thank you for a great stay Petit Lafitte!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SW4Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear SW4Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your return visit to Petit Lafitte. We hope your London summer is great and that you and your family are enjoying home. I imagine how the jet lag, and the difference in time zones affects appetite and meal times. Thank God for our neighbors, at Coco’s, who are open most of the day. Thank you for your kind words for our staff and their attentive nature. We are so glad you chose Petit Lafitte again for your Riviera Maya vacation and that your kids enjoyed the zoo, the pool and the beach.

Until your next visit!

I.Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

From begining to end this place was a delight. Caring & friendly staff, good food, simple amenitties but a great value. The live entertainment every night was a total bonus. Plenty of beach chairs, shade & hammocks to relax. This is not the place if your looking to party. And not walking distance to any shops, markets or restaurants. Its a great quiet place to get away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PDeCampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Hola PDeCampers,

Thank you very much for your brief, yet lovely review. We’re so glad you found us and enjoyed your family vacation, filled with relaxation and privacy.
Thank you for your commendations and hopefully we will get to see you again for a future Petit Lafitte vacation.

Sincerely,

I.Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

First of all, let me say that the glowing reviews here are not exaggerated. I recently stayed five nights with my 19 year old daughter. Our number one priority was the beach and we were not disappointed. Simply gorgeous. Not crowded. Great for walking. Never had a problem finding a beach chair in the shade. Entry for swimming was just a short walk from your chair. The water was warm and crystal clear with small waves. If you take a walk along the shore you will see many large, crowded resorts with beach chairs crammed together and less than stellar areas for swimming...and you will be very happy when you get back to Petit Lafitte with its wonderful beachside bar/grill and hammocks in the shade!!

We stayed in Room 405 which is considered ocean view. I would say that it is really only partial ocean view, mostly pool view/bar view with a palm tree you could touch from the balcony. I am sure that the view from the 500 building would be better and will request that next time. We really spent very little time in the room, though. Although we were near the bar, it was not noisy and closed early enough not to be a problem while sleeping. The pool area was very pretty, clean and almost always empty or had just a few people. Lots of chairs and shade to be had there, too. There was also a little playground right by the pool.

The room was very clean and had everything we needed. There was a mini fridge that had a few snacks and drinks in it. I mentioned to David when I checked in that I drink a lot of water and there were always plenty of bottles stocked in our room, at no charge. Never had to ask a second time. There was also a small fridge with water bottles by the front desk so you could grab one on the way out to an excursion if needed. The A/C and shower worked very well. The sink was outside the bathroom and had plenty of counter space. Beds were a little hard but didn’t bother us. You can request a mattress topper if need be. One day we had an issue with a little water leaking from the base of the toilet. It was fixed immediately.

We opted for a hotel room instead of a bungalow because I thought I would feel a little safer not being isolated in a bungalow on the beach. After having seen the layout of the property, I would have to say that would not be a concern in the future. We felt very safe everywhere on the property, which is small and cozy. The grounds in general are lovely and well maintained with very pretty landscaping.

There is a small animal sanctuary on the property. The birds are beautiful and worth taking a very short walk to see. Make sure you continue out a little farther back; there are also very cute little pigs, deer and goats.

Breakfasts and dinners (included in the room price) were very good and always nicely presented. Especially loved the dinner buffet. Lunch at the beachside bar/grill was excellent as were the drinks. Prices were very reasonable! There was a guitarist and violinist one night for live dinner music. We were sorry we missed the Mayan show which I guess is on the weekends.

Many guests were return customers, including one couple who has been going there for 31 years! The clientele was extremely varied and there were quite a few solo travelers when we were there, also.

The ride to town was 15 minutes and 180 pesos (about $14 US) each way. We went in one morning, but if I had to do over, I would have gone much later in the day or at night. It was extremely hot and that time would have been better spent on the beach. Also took a day trip to Tulum which was wonderful and went snorkeling with the Snorkel Shop to the reef and cenote. Also a great day!

I can’t say enough good things about the staff. Lorena, David and Luis at the front desk were wonderful. Luis was very helpful even before we arrived, as I had a problem booking the airport transfer online. Everyone was friendly, attentive, professional and very hard working. And yes, many of them do know your name after only a day or two. Gracias to Javier, Geovani, Martin and Jesus for making our stay really special and putting up with our poor attempts at speaking Spanish! Gustavo did a great job with housekeeping. Loved the animals made each day from the bath towels.

When it was time to leave, I was sad, as I usually am when having to return from a vacation to the “real world” but this time, my daughter said that she felt sad too, like she was leaving friends, and that to me says it all about this lovely retreat by the beach. Hope to return soon!

Room Tip: If you want a perfect ocean view, request the 500 building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miminj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear miminj16,

Thank you for your extensive and detailed review. We are glad that you and your daughter traveling together felt very safe in our little corner of the world. So, you too noticed the difference between small, personable and quaint, v.s. large, impersonal and industrial…Most people who walk on the beach to encounter the neighboring all inclusive hotels say they feel much happier to be at Lafitte, we realize there are many walks of life and preferences and we are glad that we seem to click well with our guests. Somebody told me recently that they stayed in a hotel in Playa that gave one bottle of purified water per person per day and anything extra would be paid for. We believe water is the minimal courtesy we can offer to our guests so, we provide without additional charges.

As far as the views, yes, views vary depending on which specific room you get, palm trees that were planted 7 years ago are tall enough now so they restrict part of the view in some of the rooms, but they continue to grow and soon will be taller than the balconies. The option of having a bare garden in front of the rooms was definitely something we did not like.

As far as developing feelings that emerged at departure….(/sigh) we welcome and reciprocate them. We view people as unique individuals and for us to meet along our paths is a blessing we value.

Be well and see you next time.

Sincerely,

I. Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.9 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,473 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
3.8 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#13 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing