We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This was our second trip to Petit Lafitte, and it wonderful again. Rooms or bungalows close to the beach, friendly guests and even friendlier staff, personal attention to every need, very clean. The food is wonderful and beautifully presented, in an outdoor dining room that is quiet and intimate. The grounds are beautiful, the outdoor bar has a lovely deck, everything is swept, raked, clean and convenient. The staff are thoughtful, helpful, and work together like a family. They are also very knowledgable about Mexican history, wildlife, the environment, any place you might like to visit and how to get there, safety, assist with taxis, car rentals, and anything else you might need...and my favorite, a sense of humor. They had evening entertainment including wonderful musicians and Mayan dancers. It's quiet, never loud or rowdy, and feels like coming home after you've been out to Playa or Xel-Ha.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Hi LorraineM,

Thank you for your second visit to Petit Lafitte!!
How great that you liked it again and that you mention about the other guests being friendly. That is another aspect about Petit Lafitte that separates it from the other hotels, being a hotel with a repetition rate of more than 50% guests like you who came on a second visit, adopt an attitude of feeling at home, relaxed and then as a result they are more likely to have a smile or start conversation easily. Most guests have are open minded and respectful of others. The staff, well, as it’s been said, most have been working with us for a while, and carry our flag with pride, we hire good attitude and train skills, even at management level, (like in my personal case) that creates employees that are appreciative of the opportunity they were given, they feel appreciated and rewarded and they are more likely to be genuinely happy at their jobs. Result= Loyalty, as in the guests group. Sounds like a fairy tale right? 40+ years of creating this got us to this point. Yes, a lot of trial and error, but at this point, we have a defined identity and a reputation. Thank you for appreciating that, for being part of that, for helping us create that and for your loyalty, that is exactly what we’re aim for.

Have a great rest of the year, love, health and happy travels.

Until we meet again,

Ivan Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    258
    72
    10
    6
See reviews for
513
712
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Love the rooms and the staff. Great place for a quiet beach vacation. They helped us when the airline lost our luggage. They also have the best stretch of beach in a at least a 4 mile stretch (we know because we walked the 4 miles down the beach to the city of Playa del Carmen). Highly recommend this resort!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Anna,

Thank you very much for your brief yet positive review. We are delighted to hear that you had a very nice vacation and that your luggage was found.
We agree... Our little stretch of beach is still kind of protected from the nearby hustle and bustle. Thank you for trying us and for recommending us!

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ivan Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Staying at Petit Lafitte for our honeymoon was the most amazing experience!! Everyone that works there is amazing and will treat you as though you are family. If you are looking for a getaway on the water where the food, drink and services are out of this world then you NEED to stay here. The beach was clean, the water was clear and the room was awesome! We stayed in an ocean view bungalow and all of the amenities provided made our first time out of the country so easy and relaxing. If you wanted anything at all you can request information or services from the front desk. Señor David and Señor Luis were so helpful in setting up our guided tours to Chichen Itza and called taxis for us to go shopping in the town of Playa Del Carmen. They have a small natural animal habitat on the property where you can view tropical birds and some deer. They are even working to become as environmentally friendly as possible by recycling and being energy conscious. After reading reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay at Petit Lafitte because of the rave reviews of the staff and all of the repeat vacationers that this hotel seemed to have... People that go there and have gone there for the last 20+ years... It was an amazing experience and I know me and my husband will be one of the couples that return to Petit Lafitte time and time again!!

Room Tip: Ocean view bungalow is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Celena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Celena

So, first time out of the country, honeymoon, and Petit Lafitte??
We are so honored! What a great concoction!

Thank you so much for choosing us for such a special occasion. It seems that you had a grand time and enjoyed the tranquility, the beach, the food, the service and just about every aspect of your vacation. How great that you found us here on Tripadvisor, only to corroborate the reputation that precedes us. Thank you for trusting past reviewers.
We are glad that you met Luis and David, sure remarkable employees that try hard to satisfy guest’s needs and interests. Not to mention Javier, Jesus, and the rest of the food and beverage department staff.

We truly hope that your kind intention of becoming one of our repeat customers over the years, gets fulfilled, from our part, you can count on us, whenever it is that you wish to make it happen!

Best Regards,

Ivan Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Petit Lafitte is a small, laid-back resort that is located directly on a beautiful strip of white beach and aqua water. My boyfriend and I were not quite sure what to expect when we landed in Playa del Carmen. We had chosen Petit Lafitte solely from the reviews we had read on Tripadvisor.com.

Petit Lafitte is about a 15 minute drive from the downtown/commercial/ferry area of Playa, and it costs a standard $180 pesos ($15.00 USA) to hire a cab to take you back and forth from the hotel. At first, I was a little disappointed that the hotel wasn't closer to town, but my mind was quickly swayed when we drove up to the quaint, unpretentious yet extremely pretty little resort.

From the front of the building the hotel doesn't look like much, and the lobby is tiny but as soon as you walk past the front desk you enter a beautiful little oasis of stucco, tile, stunning white sand, an exquisite pool with beautiful sea-turtle mosaics on the bottom that look like they could be real, gorgeous green palm trees with the biggest coconuts you've ever seen, and the most attractive strip of resort beach that Playa del Carmen has to offer.

Our room was on the ground floor of the main hotel, which is about 3 stories tall and has balconies or patios that face the garden/pool, the adorable little outdoor bar area, or the ocean. There area also private bungalows that have lofts for families. Our hotel room was minimally decorated however it was pristine, spacious, and cozy, and mimicked the feel of the resort- no frills, but high-quality. There is a gorgeous open-air dining room where breakfast and dinner is served, and the outdoor bar area has a great deck and cabana area with a thatched roof for lunch. A HUGE plus to us was their extremely high-speed wifi connectivity so we could keep in touch with kitty-babysitters, etc, back home super easily via email and cellular devices.

While Petit Lafitte isn't considered an 'all-inclusive' resort, during specific seasons of the year the hotel includes breakfast and dinner in booking cost of the rooms, something we were both happily surprised was included in our reservation. While lunch and drinks were not inclusive, the lunch menu was extremely reasonably priced, and the drinks were pretty cheap too. There was not one meal that we didn't absolutely love at Petit Lafitte. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, -what have you- we ate SO well. And to top it off, I ordered the 'catch of the day' one day for lunch, and it was by far the most delectable piece of fish I have ever ordered. Even my boyfriend, who hates fish, declared it the 'prime rib of the sea'.

Another highlight was professionalism of the staff. I loved how each one of the hoteliers learned our names and were so quick to accommodate us; they were so on-top of things! Javier, Martin, and Manuel were just lovely, and Eduardo at the front desk was really great too.

Lastly, and most importantly, the beach was absolutely exquisite. There were two much larger resorts on either side of Petit Lafitte, and during our afternoon walks, we would often comment on how much dirtier the beach got as we neared the other hotels, but our place was so clean. Directly in front of the hotel, the water is a little rocky, but if you walk about 50ft to the right, the water is clear of debris, so you can swim and play as much as you want without stubbing your toes. (Eduardo was kind enough to pre-warn us of where to swim when we checked in!) The beach, however, is truly a little piece of paradise. White sands, blue skies, aqua water, huge, leafy palm trees.... just spectacular. And the sunsets were absolutely breathtaking!

We will absolutely be back to this resort next January, 2015. In fact, we're planning on booking our trip in April or May, so we can guarantee Petit Lafitte reservations, since it seems like this hidden gem is getting more and more exposure on tripadvisor.com!

PS: (( it is NOT hard to get into town- we taxied into town four out of the five days we were in Playa, so if you want to experience the nightlife of Playa del Carmen, don't feel like you have to stay right on 5th Avenue. In fact, coming back to Petit Lafitte after being downtown feels like a breath of fresh air!))

Room Tip: We loved our room, but if you're on the ground floor, keep your blinds closed or else people wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hola Sarah W,

We hope your return to DC, was nice,
We appreciate deeply your very extensive and precise review. You left no lose ends! One thing to stress perhaps is that as you mention, It is not necessary to stay in downtown Playa to see the night life and going in for a night out and return “home” has that peculiar “homey” effect. We are very honored to hear of your intention of returning in 2015. You know where to find us, and yes, book early specially to get a specific type of room or bungalow!

Be well and have a great spring, (just around the corner)

Til we meet again!

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

So, there are two kinds of people, those who can chill out, enjoy themselves when they are a little out of their routine/element and those who can't. If you are looking for opulence and pretense this resort is not for you. If you want to relax in a Stunningly beautiful place and just hang out reading and dreaming and watching and chatting then look no further.
The staff and service was great. Everyone, from the front desk to waitstaff, ground crew and cleaning staff was truly friendly. A resort takes on it's leadership and this one was nothing but friendly and happy. On "Vacation" we feel this is super important. Nicer at some places mean bigger food spread, larger bathroom, bigger pool.....this isn't wrong, it is just a different point of view and if it is important to you then look somewhere else.
We rented a Bungalow (#11) for a week. It was perfect. It had a large firm king bed and a single up in a loft for our 13 year old. There was a table and chairs in and out and a large, covered porch which had room for 10 comfortably. Each porch had a foot bath for rinsing sand which got cleaned daily. The bathroom had a nice sized walk in shower. There was a coffee maker with plenty of fresh bottled water(This was AWESOME in the morning before breakfast....we are coffee snobs and it made GOOD coffee). We asked for a third coffee cup after the first morning and it was there after they cleaned our room. There was a little bar sized fridge which we emptied out of the resort snacks and filled with our own beer and soda. (Read Transfer review) Our only "issue" was the rooster in the yard directly next to our bungalow. He started crowing in the early morning on & off for a few hours. We bought soft earplugs & problem solved.
The bar/beach restaurant was nice and the food was good and not expensive($5 for a hot dog and fries, $7 for a cheeseburger and fries) The burgers were good!!! There was some other stuff on the menu that was a little nicer. The drinks also were good and not expensive. The beers were $2.50-$3 USD which is cheap. The mixed drinks weren't huge but were good. We tried the Pina Coladas and Maragritas. I wanted a Mojito but Jesus told us he didn't like the condition of his mint(dried and bruised) and would rather not make one as it wouldn't be up to his standards.....works for me. Three Pina Coladas later, I wasn't arguing:)
We didn't do the pool because it was only in the low-mid 70s while we were there and the ocean water was warmer.
The breakfasts had a nice spread of fresh fruit: Papaya, Pineapple, various fresh melons, Bananas. There was some good fresh granola, plain and fruit yogurts, numerous single serve cereals and milk and a variety of fresh, warm, homemade buns, breads and confections.The bomb was FRESH SQUEEZED Orange juice, daily. NICE!!! Then, you could order from the menu which had Omelets, Huevos Rancheros, french toast, banana pancakes among other selections. If you wanted to eat heavy or healthy, you could. The coffee was good and strong and their milk was creamy and buttery tasting which I really enjoyed.
Dinners consisted of a soup (something different each night, Tomato, Lime, Mushroom, Onion... ) a nice salad bar with a selection of at least three different salads, sometimes a meat and cheese platter and fresh homemade desserts. Then there was either a selection of two entrees or a buffet. The food was not gourmet but neither was it inedible. I would typify it as local food. Flank steak with Mole or Mixaote sauce, chicken breast stuffed with shrimp, pork shoulder wrapped in palm leaves (cooked under ground over coals all day) and served with a Pibile sauce and corn tortillas, linguine and Salmon in cream sauce. One buffet was steak, pork, grouper with sides of dirty rice and corn on the cob. Another buffet was basically a taco bar. Was the food amazing? No it wasn't. The beef was sometimes tough and the pork was dry. Am I complaining? No. It was decent food at least and sometimes very good(Chicken with shrimp,Pork Pibile) It wasn't too spicy, which is good because a week of that can kill you, and we LOVE spicy food.
The beach was nice, with a beautiful view and plenty of room to swim. We snuck onto the pier at the resort to the left of Lafite and sat on the love seat and watched the waves break, late the first night:)
We used their pre-booked transfers to/from the airport. $160 for three people. This worked out nicely. Probably could have gotten one from the airport cheaper but it was one less thing to worry about and on vacation I'll pay extra for that. We then paid $30 extra for an hour and went to the local MEGA supermarket in PDC before we got to the hotel. We got snacks, beer, soda and water for less than $100 and kept them in the fridge in our room. Lunch a couple days was cheese, crackers, pepperoni with beer and soda on our porch. We feasted like royalty:) Also, it was 180 pesos to go into downtown PDC by Taxi. That is cheap so we had no problem coming and going when we wanted.
Their main taxi guy is Cesar Zapata. We booked him on Sunday(as he was driving us into PDC) to take us to Tulum and the Akumal/turtle snorkling for a day on Wednesday. Cesar was one of those awesome people you bump into in life. He was great. Told us all about Mayan lifestyle and local customs. We paid him $130 USD for a six hour trip. He got us there, told us our options and sent us on our way. He also is quite the fisherman so he sometimes is available to set up fishing charters. To book the trip through one of the companies would have been more and you wouldn't get all the local flavor. If you go, book this through the front desk before you get there. Check out our Tulum and Akumal reviews(soon to come).
All in all, this was a relaxing vacation with a lot of options to find your own level of staying busy. If you're looking for something to keep you busy every day, this may not be the right place, especially for very active children who need to be entertained. We were more than happy with our stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maciprich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Maciprich,

As you well point out. There are different kinds of travelers and you are the kind that can relax and divert from the regular life routine and distractions and enter a world of simplicity, peacefulness and beauty that can be found on our beach, with our staff and the services we offer. We appreciate your comments, the good ones and the ones that point out areas of improvement.
We see perfection as a concept that seats in the minds and souls of the beholder, like beauty, a way of perceiving things…We are Ok with not aiming at perfection, we aim at intention, and our is to create moments that last in the minds and hearts of our guests. We understand that we achieved that connection with you. (Rooster included). Contrary to what a lot of persons think, the rooster is not part of the animal refuge center that is adjacent to the hotel; it belongs to our neighbor on the property north of us. We have spoken with him and he promised to make a delicious Mole soon. (Yikes).
As for the other people, (Cesar) you encountered during your journey, yes, he is dear to us and a person who has been around Petit Lafitte for three decades. He is family. A great fisherman as well.
Thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte and for sharing a review on your experience.

We hope to see you again.

Iván Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Petit Lafitte is a small hotel on the beach. It is not an all-inclusive resort. There are bungalos and hotel rooms. The hotel rooms all have outiside patios with views of either the pool and outside bar or the ocean.

There is a wonderful open air restaurant on premises. There is also a covered dining area that overlooks the beach. Several palaypos are available for use by hotel guests on the beach.

Be forewarned that this beautiflul place is outside maybe 10-15 miles from the actual city of Playa del Carmen. Also be advised that the tap water on the premises is not purifed but the facility provides bottled water for drinking.

If you're looking for shopping or clubbing you should look elsewhere. But, it is indeed a magical place. And it has free wi-fi. One employee went above and beyond by learning our names on our first day (Javier).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Rick M,

Thank you for your nice review in which you point out some very important things that “we are not” just so readers and potential visitor, learn to not expect that from us. :)
Yes Javier is one of our best waiters. His great attitude and efficiency is remarkable it sets the standard for the rest of the boys to follow. I will personally tell him about your review, sure, in most places, waiters are there for the tips and the money, but the majority of our staff also enjoy the place and the ones like Javier, do things because it is in their nature, they love their job and take pride in what they do.
Thank you for noticing!

Be well and see you next time!

Ivan Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2014

gorgeous beach area and nicely maintained grounds/pool. perfect for a relaxing no pressure, low key getaway with your nearest and dearest. we had a lovely time and the staff was accommodating to our vegetarian request. will come again!

Room Tip: Bungalow rooms are worth it if you can swing it. regular rooms are fine, but not updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brockpapersciss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear brockpapersciss,

We hope your re-entry to the real world was not as harsh as it seemed to be from here. Fortunately you got to spend a week of your Chicago winter with us, and from your review, we gather you really liked Petit Lafitte, its location, its staff and the way things are done around here.
Yes, when guests tell us in advance, it is very easy to accommodate special dietary needs, and we are working on the rooms, it is just a gradual work, as we are open and we have to do one or two rooms per week. Believe me we are moving in that direction and by the time you come back next time, we will be sporting a renewed face!

Thank you for choosing us among so many options in Riviera Maya, and for reviewing your stay!
See you next time!

Best Regards!

Ivan Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,738 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
693 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing