We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the rain”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Paradise in the rain”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The Petit Lafitte is the perfect place to go if your priorities, like mine, are a beautiful beach, kind, accommodating staff, good food and clean well stocked rooms, where everything works. There's a game room for pool and ping pong and a very nice pool.
We booked early, directly with the hotel and were able to get the best beach facing bungalow right on the beach, at a very good rate. In the bungalow there's a small fridge, stocked with soft drinks and snacks you do pay for but you are generously supplied with free bottled water and there is room for your own stuff if you care to bring some.There's also coffee maker and coffee supplies replenished daily or more often if you need one. A king sized comfortable bed and adequate storage place.
Breakfast included a buffet of fresh fruit and juices, sweet and savory pasties and cereal but everything hot was made and served to order. I mentioned to our waiter that they'd run out of plain croissants and he put aside the next day for me without me even asking.
Dinner included a different soup every night, salads, antipasto, and deserts and except for the Mexican barbecue night buffet, which was quite good , there was a choice of two mains that were cooked and served to order.
It was unfortunately not the best weather and it was great to be right on the beach to take advantage of any good weather hours of the day and be able to make a quick escape to our veranda.
They played really good music at both the bar and dinner, live and canned and I really appreciated not having to listen all day to loud speakers calling me to cheesy activities and awful music which has been my experience at large resorts .
This is a great place to relax, enjoy the sea and sun and the quality and variety of the other guests, couples, friends, families from all over the world attests to that.
I would have liked better lighting in parts of our bungalow it,( although the lighted makeup mirror in our bathroom was better than any place I'd ever been),more pillows, the food a bit spicier, a TV (in rooms, not the bungalows) but would have cared less had the weather been better but beyond those minor details it was just lovely.
If you are looking for endless activities, getting drunk at a swim up bar while being blasted by incredibly bad music, this is not the place for you.
I recommend it to grownup, civilized people, with or without kids, who want a beautiful beach in a small resort, run by a gracious and friendly staff.
A first for me was David, the head honcho outside as we left waiting to say "Adios".
This is a place you want to return to and hopefully next time the weather will be kinder. If very good is an 80 and excellent is 100, my rating is 90.

Room Tip: If you want to be alone, book a bungalow. If you cant live without TV, get a room. Or compromise an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Hollyssg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Hollyssg,

Thank you very much for your lovely review on Petit Lafitte. We are very glad for all the aspects of your vacation that you loved, the beach, service, food, cleanliness of the rooms, et cetera. We are sorry that your week with us was a rainy one. However, it seems like you made the best of that and were attentive for the spaces where mother nature gave us a break. Thanks! We wanted to mention that we have more pillows available on request, dial 7 from your room and ask for them. It is that easy! The other one is about the spicy food, well as you can understand, we have to prepare our food to please the majority and sadly, the majority prefers mild.
Habanero sauce is available at the table, just ask the waiter! :). We are soooo very happy to hear that you think this is a place to return to. What an honor and a reward for our efforts, we hope to see you again next year, and promise better weather!

Best Regards,

Ivan Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    258
    72
    10
    6
See reviews for
514
713
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
western ny state
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Tucked in among huge all inclusives, this boutique hotel is a true getaway. While the rooms are rather spartan, they are clean and efficiently refreshed every morning. The grounds are immaculate. The beach and pool area are just right. Our room was on third floor with partial ocean view. There are also bungalows available. While they look appealing, the fact that there is sand right to the front steps seems to us that there would be sand inside on everything. The big resorts are set back from the beach whereas this hotel is literally on the beach. This place is quiet with no entertainment which was perfect for us.

The staff was helpful in getting a taxi into Playa Del Carmen and then the driver told us what to pay for return and to negotiate before getting into taxi. It is about a 10 min. drive into Playa.....which is a typical port stop for cruise ships.

Hotel set up a day trip to Chichen Itza which was amazing although the tour company was not! Book your transportation to and from airport thru hotel. Otherwise you will be overwhelmed (and ripped off) by transportation providers.

Room Tip: U get what you pay for. :-) Room price include breakfast and dinner. Lunches are available at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzieq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Suzieq77,

Thank you for taking the time to review Petit Lafitte after what was your first visit. We are glad that over-all you had a nice experience. Yes, being tucked in among a handful or large all inclusive mega-resorts makes the contrast so obvious. Thank you for mentioning the things you notice.
I wanted to just add some further info for possible readers that we have live entertainment on Wednesday (with a duet of jazz guitar and violin) on Saturdays with a group of Precolumbian dancers, who perform native Mexican dances and music and on Sundays we have a trio of two guitars and percussion performing Latin American. So we have a sprinkle here and there, but it is fair and true to say that we do not have a group I the staff that is ushering the guests into activities.  The good news is that we don’t see that happening ever, under the flag of Petit Lafitte. We hope that you reported whatever incident or service or lack thereof that caused your comment about the company that took you to Chichen. We do not want to work with companies that are incongruent with our standard of service. Please expand on the info for us.
We hope that you recommend Petit Lafitte to your friends and that perhaps we get to see you again, in sunny weather.

Kind Regards,

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We traveled to the old Capitan Lafitte when it was somewhat north of the current property and really enjoyed both our stays. So, now that Lafitte has returned to the Playa area we decided to give them another try. I'm very glad we did! The staff is very pleasant, kind, and responsive, the new property is lovely, and the vibe is still very low key. The guests include lots of Europeans and families, and everyone tries to speak a little Spanish (although the staff all speak pretty good English).

A few tips - 1) ask for a room on the top floor. The furniture is heavy and wooden and when your upstairs neighbors start moving it around at midnight it's a jarring experience. 2) Don't swim in the surf right in front of the hotel - there are rocks and coral you can't see, but the waves push you down onto them (instead, go slightly north and swim near the little blue boat). 3) Know that tips are included in the price. This is not clear when you sign your checks for alcohol, but it is broken down on the (pretty confusing) receipt you get at the end of the trip. 4) When approaching the property by car, take the "Princess Road" (near the Princess resort) rather than turning at the sign on the highway - the Princess access road is much better.

Overall we really enjoyed ourselves. David, Lorena, Javier, Valdemoro and the rest of the staff made our stay very pleasant. (If only the weather had been as cooperative!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. The furniture is heavy and wooden and when your upstairs neighbors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Mori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
So… You are an distant, traveler, who walked the sands of the Old Lafitte?
Now on different suns and different moons returns to find our new sands, but the same vibe, and the same faces. The familiar feel of an open heart, a peaceful glance to the sea, a rested body beneath a palm tree.
Blessed are the lives of those who return, just as much as the lives of the ones who they meet, over the years, in a space of peace…

Have a wonderful year Dear MoriM, May our paths meet again…Happy in a not so distant time!

Ivan Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I understand why there are a lot of fans for this quaint boutique hotel --reasonably priced beach lodging with a fantastic bar/restaurant and quality service from all of its employees, especially from its manager David. However, two small Mexican double beds in one tiny room with a leaky roof, subpar dinners (strange because the lunch meals you paid for were great!) and a sparse activities' room, didn't quite work for our family of three. Petit could be a great alternative for families wishing to avoid the monster resort all-inclusives that make you feel like you're stuck on a cruise ship, but as it stands for now, it's just "ok", which is a shame because it has the potential to be so much more. (I agree with the previous comments -stronger WiFi and repair the road to the hotel, which was partially underwater after the big rain we had. Removing the litter in the area would also be a major improvement!)

Room Tip: We had room 502 which was on the end with a view of the ocean on the first floor, which was very con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear DebraM,

Thank you very much for your sincere review, we value your praise very much but it is your suggestions that will serve us better. We have great news about the road: The municipal government is repaving it; this work started around two weeks ago and is around 50% done. This will really improve the first impression about the hotel.
The rainy season was so unusual and long this last year. No excuse, but it brought our facilities to the limits of its efficiency, we located the leaks and have been working on sealing them well. We decided to do the 5 buildings, and not just those that showed leaks. Right now we are finished with three of them, this takes long because rooms are occupied and it is hard to work on their roofs if guests are staying in them, but we expect that by the end of March, this work will be brought to conclusion.
Other aspects have been brought to the attention of the owners but it is impossible to do everything at once, it is more a gradual progression in the right direction and again, your sincerity and constructive criticism is worth a million! We believe that we have potential to be better and are on that path.
Once again, Thank you very much for your visit and for sharing your story with others.
On behalf of the staff and proprietors,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We just returned from our 3rd visit to Petit Lafitte (and before that, we vacationed at the original Capitan Lafitte resort.) As always, our stay was fabulous. This was the first time we stayed in the bungalows and we found them clean and spacious. The grounds were immaculately kept, the staff incredibly friendly and helpful and the food was quite good. Our large group included children between the ages of 1 and 12 and it was ideal for them. We very much appreciate that children are welcomed and that the intimate size of Lafitte makes it possible for them to roam freely around the property safely. The beach was not crowded and there was always plenty of room in and around the pool. We had one rainy day and the children enjoyed the ping-pong, game room and library on the second floor of the main building. We very much appreciated the staff's willingness to accommodate our group of 20+.

I have only a few suggestions for improvement:
-wifi service was limited and inconsistent.
-water pressure in the showers in the bungalows was very poor.
-service at meals and bar was slow (though this was largely due to our group size.)

Room Tip: Both the ocean front and ocean view bungalows are nicely situated. The garden view bungalows are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Hola JoyH,

We hope your return to Billings, Montana was a pleasant journey, we know it is a beautiful country even when it is contrasting with the beach landscape.
Thank you so much for your loyalty to Petit Lafitte. It seems that your group grows with the years!! We are happy to accommodate your family, including the young ones. After all, the holidays are always like that, family times!
We are blesses at Petit Lafitte to be located at the north end of Playa del Carmen, where the beach is quiet and the traffic of people, four wheel motorcycles, and vendors still minimal. As you mention, a very safe environment still.
Thanks for your kind word towards our food, service and grounds and we have passed your suggestions to the GM, I personally spoke with him yesterday to relate your insights.

I am sure that we will see you again, what I don’t know is how many more of your relatives and friends will come next time!
Please know that you and them are always welcome.

Best Regards,

Ivan Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our family has spent 7 Christmas vacations along the Riviera Maya. Tulum, Cousmel, Playa Del Carmen and for 2013 Christmas we landed at Petit Lafite. We had the most relaxing vacation we have ever enjoyed. Pleasing my 80 year old parents, a middle age couple, a San Francisco, type A, attorney and two teenagers is not always easy, but Patite Lafite pulled it off with flying colors. PDC transfers met us at the airport with a great sign and Raoule,the driver, made the trip, both ways, very pleasent and informative. We were greeted by David at Patite Lafite who oriented us and was always available and friendly! He was everywhere, doing everything! All the staff were patient and friendly, especially Antonio who made sure I recieved plain scrambled eggs. He wrote down for me "hoevos revueltos naturales" and all would smile each morning as I attempted my Spanish. You were able to truely "let go" and not always constantly be on guard. Our kids were able to ride Ski Doos, swim alot and we all did a lot of hammock reading. The bar was right by the pool and the surf! Thanks for a great family vacation!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMcK_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear BMcK_TN,

As I wrote in my response to your mother’s review... It is a great honor that being familiar to the area and having spent 7 vacations in Riviera Maya, you thought Petit Lafitte hotel and the location were the best!
We have talked to David, Antonio and Raul about your comments, they really appreciate when their work is recognized.
We hope that you keep enjoying your Christmas vacations in this area. Hopefully our paths will cross again!

Until then and wishing you a lovely 2014

Ivan Fuentes, on behalf of all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, OH, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed there for 5 nights with 2 young grandchildren and must say that out of 7 trips to the area over the years, Petit Lafitte was by far the best. Not only was the food consistently wonderful, but it was a great feeling to be in a place that was really safe. The kids loved it, ate like pigs (even fruits and vegetables), and enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and other people who were staying there. It could only be more perfect if the driveway were paved.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CarolfromOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dearest CarolfromOhio,

Your review is very, very special, as it shows that you have been to the area 7 times, therefore you know it well and after all this years you decided to try us and found it to be the best vacation in this area!
How sweet to be traveling with your young grand children and see them have such a good time in a very safe, environment. You see, some reviewers mention that the place seems to not have a lot of activities for children, you are living proof that a lot of what we think children “need” maybe something that is created in our minds. We often tend to create and elaborate too much around a subject or creating our own spaces. We often forget that back to basics and simplicity are fertile ground for peacefulness and relaxation, yes, kids need more action, but hey! The dive-shop, the animal refuge center located near the hotel. The ocean, the beach, the swimming pool, and the nearby attractions like the parks and archeological sites are often sufficient for just about any kid. Then again, for those who love technology, there is the wi-fi and the t.v, but why come this far from home and be trapped inside a screen?

Thank you for your kind comments about the food and the staff: As for the road, the municipal government is working on paving more than two thirds of the access road as I write this, it is supposed to be finished in about a month.

Thank you so much for your preference and we truly hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ivan Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,751 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,655 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
698 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,408 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing