We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful service ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Clean total attention to detail clean. Staff and management can't do enough for you location is great rooms are adequate in size and always clean. It's like a family when you go there have been several times over the past 12 years and never have been disappointed.Kudos to all the staff they are the best.

Room Tip: Rooms in 500 building have great views. The cabanas are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb2348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Barb2348,

Thank you very much for writing a review for your stay at Petit Lafitte. We are honored by your commendations on the location, rooms, bungalows and specially the staff. You are right in terms of the feel we want to create. We want guests to feel like they are visiting family or friends in the Caribbean. As you witnessed, a lot of our guests are repeat customers who loved that atmosphere.

Welcome to the family.

Truly,

I.F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    253
    71
    9
    6
See reviews for
499
695
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I picked this hotel based on the overwhelming positive reviews and their great prices. The positives at this resort far outweigh any small negatives. We stayed the 3rd week of April and enjoyed every day. The food was very good, and the service surpassed our expectations. The beach and the view from our oceanfront room was to die for. ( Room 504 ) Our stay was not without a few tiny glitches but the staff really came thru. Luis at the front desk is a Rock Star when it comes to service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hola Señor Tim,
You and the previous reviewer, both mentioned trusting Tripadvisor reviews while making their election for hotel. We are glad to have a forum like this and then having you write a review that validates what others said in it!
Thank you so much for trying us. Food and service are precisely the two main pillars upon which we have built our name. I would have loved to hear about the little glitches, that would help us know which wheels to grease.
Yes, Luis is a loyal, long time collaborator and wears the Petit Lafitte jersey with pride!
Thank you for noticing.

Happy trails, love and health.

I.Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We chose Petit Lafitte for our Spring break with our 2 daughters after reading all the positive TripAdvisor reviews. The combination of a great location and warm, welcoming staff were second to none. We stayed in a hotel room the entire week because we lined up a few excursions and were gone during most of the days. Next time, I would choose a bungalow for a different experience-they looked fantastic. All the breakfast and dinner options were "excellente." Many have described the beach area as heavenly...we couldn't agree more. It was never crowded and there were ample palapas and beach hammocks for relaxation. Many kudos to the entire Petit Lafitte family -- Thank you for making our Playa Del Carmen family vacation one of the best ever!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear KSMBoston,

The pleasure is all ours.
We really enjoyed meting you and your family. It makes us proud to hear that you think your Petit Lafitte vacation was the best family vacation ever!. I am sure your open, friendly nature helped. Your daughters are lucky to have parents that travel abroad and explore the area, the culture, the food and history. High five to you for exploring the area and using Petit Lafitte as your home base. Thank you for the positive comments on the food. When you speak about an unsurpassed combination of elements such as location plus staff personality, we realize that you are into overall value and perception. We are so happy that you really enjoyed your time with us.
Have a great time and we hope our paths cross again.

Sincerely,

I.Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was such a beautiful hotel on an amazing stretch of beach. The staff was very accommodating to my sisters gluten allergy, super friendly, always knew your name and made sure your stay was exceptional.
Best price point for a quiet beach stay, fun for families too!!

Room Tip: The bungalows are totally worth it if you can get one, but the regular rooms all have amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jloewen417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Jloewen417,

Brief and to the point! Thank you for your kind review. Especially for mentioning that we are flexible and attentive with dietary restrictions and needs and with addressing you by name. We are careful with those little things and we are glad that they counted for you.

All the best,

I.Fuentes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We recently had our wedding and honeymoon here, and I cannot say enough about how phenomenal this place is. I actually cried our last night there because this place has turned into my 2nd home/family.

First of all, if you are looking to do a destination wedding, this is THE PLACE. Our ceremony and reception were right on the beach, and was absolutely stunning. Unlike the big/other resorts, the beach is cleared away, so you're not sharing your wedding space with sunbathers and others. Plus, they also charge far less than other places (I shopped around), and you get so much more for the price. Ivan Fuentes, the Director of Sales and our wedding coordinator, is so great to work with and gets the job done perfectly.

Besides the wedding, we also honeymooned there. The spot is perfect, no fighting for lounge chairs or tons of people crammed on the beach. We met great people from all over the world, some of whom brought their instruments and joined in on the Friday night, poolside jam sessions.

If you need tons of amenities and ultra modern, luxury accommodations, this probably isn't for you. But, if you want a place that is relaxing and beautiful, where you get to bond with the other hotel guests, truly unwind, and where the staff knows you by name, this is for you. The staff here is incredible and go out of their way for you. Ivan, David, Jesus, Victor, Antonio, Manuel, Martin, Javier, Geovanni - I truly miss them now that I'm back home, they work from the heart, and it shows.

Room Tip: The beachside bungalows are a great alternative to the standard hotel room. But remember, these are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaInNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hola DonnaInNYC,

Been a while now, but never too late to say Thank you.
After all, you simply shared the most important moment of your life so far with us. You shared your stories, back ground, family, friends, ideas, hopes and dreams and allowed us to become part of your lives. You see? just like you can’t say enough about Petit Lafitte, I can’t say enough about the privilege of being part of this journey in which we created, step by step such a lovely, memorable event. Everything from the fact that you are from different cultural and religious backgrounds to the genuine personalities of everyone in your group. It definitely made it enjoyable and satisfying. We`ve made some good friends for years to come. Then seeing you two as a couple, after everyone else had left and getting to meet you at a personal level, sharing a drink or two while making-listening-to music at the bar made it easy to understand why you would shed a tear or two on your last night at Petit Lafitte.

You both are in our hearts and are considered family, and we hope we get to see more of you in the future.

Love from us all

I.Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place was incredible. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and the hotel was beautiful. The beach was never crowded (when we took walks up the beach and walked by other hotels, we noticed that the beaches there were very crowded). The staff goes out of their way to make sure you enjoy your time at Petit. I felt like the manager David, and staff members like Javier really went out of their way to ensure I enjoyed my stay.

Every morning they serve fresh fruit juice, a bunch of different fresh fruits, delicious coffee and a breakfast dish off of the menu. The breakfast spread was so great, that I have difficulty accepting that I cannot eat that every day lol. The dinner is also incredible too. If I am in Playa del Carmen, I will certainly stay at Petit Lafitte again!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are close to the beach, as the place is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dpp41386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Dpp.

It is a great honor that you chose Petit lafitte as your Honeymoon destination.
We gather that you really enjoyed your time here, while initiating a new life with your husband.
You know now, when you are looking for uncrowded, good food and service, we will be waiting, (maybe for your anninversary?)
David, BTW, is our concierge, a valued and knowlegeable collaborator.
Our manager is very careful to maintain a low profile while still making it happen!
And yes, we are blessed to have Javier, Jesus, Víctor, Martin and other employees that give a face, a name and a personality to Petit Lafitte.

Thank you for noticing and thank you for your review!

Kind Regards,

iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went to Petit Lafitte over Spring Break a week ago. We arrived via our rental car and were shown our Bungalow on the beach. We were traveling with our two children ages 10 and 13. The bungalow was perfect for us! It had two double beds in the room, with another double bed up a ladder in the little loft space. They also have bungalows with King size beds also.

You walk out your door and can see the ocean in the distance and are immediately on the beach. There are about 15 cabins. You can also rent a hotel room. People in those seemed quite happy as well. I should say, the cabins do not have TV's, the hotel rooms do. But we didn't come to Mexico to watch TV. :) The internet connection worked fine. In between the cabins are some lovely hammocks for reading and swinging. The bar is close by and has wonderful service. The resort puts on shows or music a couple nights a week on the beach near the bar. This was a nice treat. The resort price includes breakfast and dinner. We all loved the breakfasts! The dinners were good and well received even by our picky eaters (children). The nice thing about dinner is they almost always have a soup and a large salad bar. The staff was wonderful and so welcoming.

We walked the beach one day and came to several other resorts, where everyone was lined up in rows on the beach fighting for beach chairs. This just isn't a problem at Petit Lafitte. I came to realize this resort is on the best part of the beach. You can swim in perfect sand just to the left. The right side is a little rocky. We found the beach to be perfect in every way. There just aren't that many spots left where you can be this close to the beach and so relaxed! When you don't want to be on the beach you can sit by the small pool.

The resort really feels like a small family. The resort is beautiful because they let nature do what it does best - be amazing. You go to Petit Lafitte because you want a nice place to stay on a quiet and relaxed beach.

You won't be disappointed in the staff. When we drove to Chichen Itza for the day. The staff knew we would miss breakfast and made us to go boxes for the drive. This area of Mexico was a perfect base for exploring and we did something fun almost every morning and came back to the beach in the afternoon.

We had a fabulous time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Globetoole,

We hope your return to Georgia, was a hassle free one.
Thank you very much for your visit and for your review. We are glad that you and your family, young boys included really enjoyed the bungalow, the location, the service, and the food.
Yes, we are not the type of hotel to stay inside the room watching T.V. what a waste when you have the turquoise waters, a list of sea activities, plus all the ancient Mayan culture. You see, that is why we do not include lunch, we want to encourage our guests to go out and explore the area during the day to return in the afternoon or early evening to hear the entertainment or enjoy a nice family dinner. To see that you immediately discovered how this dynamic work, and loved it, brings a smile to our faces.
Thank you for your kind words, they are rewarding and stimulating, we promise to keep up the standard.

Best Regards

I.Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,567 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
3.7 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#3 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,910 reviews
4.0 mi away
Rosewood Mayakoba
Rosewood Mayakoba
#1 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing