We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Petit Lafitte
Nearby Hotels
$267
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$241
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$610
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$385
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$726
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,716)
Filter reviews
1,716 results
Traveler rating
1,333
289
77
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,333
289
77
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnermega resortsocean view bungalowmayan dancerssmall hotelcevicherepeat guestsrental carbeach baryogurtinclusive resortsocean frontpalm treesrelaxing vacationgreat beachthe entire staffbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
1,091 - 1,096 of 1,716 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What we liked about the hotel:
Comfortable if simply furnished rooms on the beach
50 metre walk to the sea
Reasonably friendly staff
Reasonable but inconsistent food

What we did not like about the hotel
WiFi is poor
There is nothing else to do but sit on the beach and if it rains there is not much else to do
USD25 return taxi ride to town and the town is not much to write home about

In conclusion, if you want a good value holiday on the beach where your sole objective is to soak up the rays then this will do for you. If you want a bit more comfort and more to do then we suggest you look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The main hotel rooms overlook the pool and bar so if you want to sleep at night we suggest the beach bungalows.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terenceandwendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear TerenceandWendy,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad that you chose to stay at Petit Lafitte for your vacation.

After reading your review I can imagine that for some odd reason you did not see our dive shop offering snorkeling, scuba, kayaking, and fishing right here in the premises.
Apparently you did not connect with our ubiquitous concierge, David Herrera, (mentioned in many reviews) who plans trips to the jungle, trips to Xcaret (20 min. away), Xelha, (45 min. away) Tulum archeological site (50 min away), swim with the dolphins (30 min away) They are at the top of the list of attractions to Riviera Maya, I mean there are a lot of attractions to Riviera Maya, and a few more like Chichen itza, one the wonders of the world, just 2 hrs away. Some guests rent a car ($ 50 US +/-) and venture out to Chichen for a day, making it back in time for dinner.
Not to mention that we have a spa with a list of services and three nights of live entertainment, music two nights and dance one night.
Town, I agree does not have a lot of history, it is a booming town that just 20 years ago was a sleepy fishing village, it has transformed over the past two decades to become the fastest growing community in Mexico, so yes, lacks history. However, excellent restaurants, clubs and shops are found there.
I am sorry that you seem to have missed them!

An advice for readers is to contact David Herrera or any member of the staff for guidance if you begin feeling the urge for adventure!
Options are available if you need them.

Now the wi-fi, yes it is fair to admit that it has been an issue, one that we have improved greatly, we tripled (in February) the bandwidth and that has helped a lot, but still we are consider even more options. As I write this, we are in the process of changing one wi-fi antenna that has reached its time. Decisive steps for improvement.

We wish to thank you for pointing out those things that need improvement and for the opportunity of clarifying other comments.

With best wishes,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We enjoyed the relaxed, unhurried vibe here and the ability to get to know and mingle with the gracious staff and guests. We stayed in Bungalow 14 about 6 units back from ocean front. Loved sitting out on the porch and seeing the sand and palm trees and hearing the sea even if we couldn't see to much of it. Inside the room is very basic but was comfortable. Definitely could use another light or two at night.
We generally enjoyed the food and didn't feel the need to venture out for variety tho if we stayed longer than 3 nights we might have. Just easier to have a drink at the bar by the beach and then head in to dinner without any fuss or arrangements.
I enjoyed swimming in both the sea and the pool. It was pretty rough in the water so it was hard to do any exercise swimming out there so I did some pool laps each day. Never a problem finding a chair in the shade.
We arrived in time for a leisurely lunch on the restaurant deck overlooking the water and that set the tone. Wonderful ceviche and guacamole was the perfect first taste of Mexico after our trip down from NJ.
Staff was always most helpful. We took an afternoon trip in to Playa del Carmen and learned a lot of history about Petit Lafitte from Cesar the cab driver (who worked there for many years) and some of the guests at the bar.
Wireless Internet was spotty to non-existent due to the issues reported on this forum but generally worked well enough for the basics. One morning the signal was strong and we did a Facetime call with our granddaughter.
We walked both directions on the beach and this location is one of the best in the area. Beach is a little wider here and seemed to be a bit cleaner. There is a large empty lot to the north so it gives the feeling of not being hemmed in by other properties. Walking past some of the mega resorts with the beach beds jammed in one against the other was pretty jarring compared to the relaxed situation at Petit Lafitte.
After our 3 days here we moved on to Cancun for a small conference. Beach was nice, room was gleaming, and we had a view of the sea from the balcony but we most definitely missed Petit Lafitte.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abc2media
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear abc2 media,

Thank you so much for taking your valuable time to write a lengthy review for Petit Lafitte, we appreciate that, as well as the fact that you chose to stay with us for your first time around. It sounds to us as if you became “one with Lafitte” I mean you got into the swing of things and the pace and rhythms and in the end, you were able to appreciate the simply different quality we try to create. (To the point that you missed us during your second portion of your stay while in Cancun). Nice that you saw what can be found in the nearby mega-hotels and how dramatic the contrast can be with what you experience here.
Thank you so much for investing this time with us and we hope our paths cross again, maybe next time for a little longer vacation.

Sincerely

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently met up at Petit Lafitte ... two grandparents (that's us), our five grown children and their spouses (ten more) and our 13 grandchildren, ranging in age from 6 to 20. Twenty-five of us! Petit Lafitte was the perfect place -- big enough to offer a range of accommodation (rooms for some, cottages for others), small enough that we could do what we wanted to do and still run into each other. There was always at least one table of family members in the dining-room when we went for breakfast; we had a happy hour at the beach-side bar every evening at six, and there were almost daily excursions to nearby sites of interest to keep everyone happy and entertained.
It was the best choice possible for a family reunion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Janine C.

We are delighted that you opted for Petit Lafitte on your family reunion, yes we remember your group!
You guys were very polite and it was always easy to serve you. We appreciate how your grand children behaved and enjoyed the place, the beach and the pool. We truly hope that this reunion becomes a yearly tradition, in which case we will provide yet another great vacation and the same atmosphere of camaraderie and attentive service.
Be well and give a remote, but heartfelt hug to all of your lovely family.

On behalf of all the staff and the proprietors

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

What a great stay! Thanks to a wonderful staff (David, Manuel, javier, Victor (Loco). By the second day you feel like family, The Resort is small but It's loved by the people who run it and the guest who stay here. Food is good, Beach is great, wonderful staff, I see why they have great return rate. We loved it and will go back as soon possible.

Room Tip: Garden, Ocean view, bungalow all good
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Denis D,

Thank you very much for your eloquent comments. We were glad to have you as new guest and as far as we are concerned, new family! It is so nice to hear you liked the place so much and that you are planning to return, we are hoping you will become members of the Petit Lafitte repeater club!
On behalf of the staff and owners…I wish to thank you for your visit and for writing your review.

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed 5 nights after Christmas here. The bungalow was spacious with a great loft sleeping area for the children and a spacious veranda.
The food was good and the service very friendly and attentive.
Pleasant pool which we pretty much had to ourselves as a lot of guest seemed to spend the day on trips.
Theres a slight retro feel to the place that, while it wont be for everyone, particularly if you are looking for an 'all singing all dancing 5 star property', but in a way that adds to the appeal!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlustbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear wanderlustbelfast,

We hope your return to North Ireland, was a pleasant journey.
Thank you very much for your company even if it was only for 5 days, it seems to us that you enjoyed it! We appreciate your comments for the food and the service.
You are right to note that a lot of our guests go out on excursions to see a lot of the main attractions of Riviera Maya, first of course the Mayan Archeological sites, the cenotes, jungle tours and of course, why not…some shopping for gifts.
That is one of the reason why we prefer our meal plan to the all inclusive dynamic where a lot of people feel like they have to stay at the hotel in order to take advantage of the meals. Missing out on all the beauty of Riviera Maya's history, nature and culture.
Thank you for noticing the things that make Petit Lafitte simply different!

Sincerely

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews