We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #7 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We staid at the "Petit Lafitte" for 4 days. The plus were the fantastic food, the nice location on the beach, and the service. All the members of the staff were really really really nice. They also have a small nice zoo which my 7-yrs old son enjoyed a lot. On the minus sign, the weather was not very nice!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Dear FabioEdith,

"Muchas Gracias" for your very positive review.
You got the exact points upon which we have built our name.
Location, Food and Service ! and we are very happy to hear that!!
We are glad that you chose Petit Lafitte for your vacation with your wife and 7 y/o boy. Yes the "zoo" (which is actually an animal rescue center) is one of the attractions for children and even though it is not property of the hotel, it is owned by a very good friend who has always collaborated with us and shared his passion for natuer with us. We're happy to hear youf child liked it.
Sorry to hear about the weather.
May we get a second time around?
I hope so.
Once again, thank you for your lovely review.

Sincerely,

Iván A. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,559)
There are newer reviews for Petit Lafitte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I LOVE Petit Lafitte. An absolutely charming quiet low key resort right on the ocean. We stayed for 4 nights in Cabin #10 which was facing the water. In fact, you must walk through the sand to get to it. Don't worry. Your bags are carried to the cabin for you. All the bungalows have a front porch which was a wonderful spot to sit. It was a 1 minute walk over to the bar and they were happy to make our drinks in "to go" containers. David was extremely helpful with making a car reservation for $35 that was delivered right to the hotel for us. (insurance included) He also got ua a reservation to Rio Secreto when the website showed sold out. In fact, he cheerfully helped us numerous times. There seems to be no turnover in staff as people we talked to have been there 20 - 30 years. We met people that have been there more than once and we hope to be counted among them.

Room Tip: I loved our bungalow and would recommend it. There is no tv in the cabin but there is free internet...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS66215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear KS66215,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We find it rewarding when new guests like yourselves, come and readily capture the essence of Petit Lafitte.
Sorry your stay was only 4 nights, we hope next time you allow more time for us. You are welcome to become one of those repeat costumers you talk about.
Yes, David, with his 30 years experiences and 5 languages, is an excellent concierge not only helpful, but also efficient and considerate.
We are gald you got good deals on cars and Rio Secreto.
Thank you for mentioning the lack of T.V´s in the Cabins, you are right, the whole concept of the Bungalows was created with tranquility in mind. However, it is fair to add that if you are staying in a cabin and are hoping to watch a game of the news or something on T.V. we do have a game room with a T.V. plus ping pong and billiards.This was created with the guests in the bungalows in mind, also, when there is a big game or special event, we bring a T.V. to the Bar Area. drink and antertainment together!!!
Once again, thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte and for allowing us to serve you.

On behalf of the staff, and manegement,

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our 3 young children in later October 2012 and had a very nice time. I'd concur with pretty much all that has been said in previous comments: very helpful and friendly staff, laid back and relaxing and nice beachfront location.

There is always room for improvement, however! Some of the public areas, around the pool in particular, are a bit care worn, and would be greatly improved by a lick of paint. The plastic furniture has also seen better days.

Food was fresh and good quality, but some reviewers give the impression that you're going to a Michelin star restaurant, which is not the case (in fairness, you're not paying for that either).

Also, having to order kids meals before 1pm is very cumbersome. Its hard enough to get a 4 year old to decide what they want for dinner at 7pm, never mind 1pm! We're talking hotdogs and spaghetti here; its really shouldn't be that difficult to prepare to order!

Entrance to the hotel is also a bit of a shambles, but you're only going to see that once or twice. The "zoo" seems to be part of someone else's property, and is a bit weird. We stayed away from that, not being keen on seeing animals in cages.

All of these are very minor quibbles, however, and I am a very fussy customer. I'd have no problem recommending this as a location in Playa Del Carmen. We stayed in Cabin 14 which was really lovely.

Highlight of the stay for us was the musical evening where a lady and a guy played jazzy versions of Michael Jackson classics on a guitar and violin at the beach bar. Sounds weird , but it was really magical.

Tip for swimming: it took me a couple of days how to figure out how to get into the sea. Basically, there's a sand bar that runs along the shore just where the waves break, which gathers small stones and pebbles. When you step on this, you might be a bit concerned that that part of the beach is rocky. Its isn't. Just hop over the sand bar and go beyond where the waves are breaking, when the water is really clear and you have sand underfoot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garrethmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear garrethmcd

Thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte as a destination for you family vacation.
We are glad that you, your wife and three children enjoyed the stay.
We are also appreciative of your sincerity of your comments and, while we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, beach location laid back atmosphere and excellent service by the staff.

We would like comment the following:

1.- Yes we totally agree with you, regarding the painting around the pool and the furniture. We are buying some new drink tables, to replace the ones that are worn.
2.- We are implementing a simple children menu of around 6-8 options for dinner.
3.- We have submitted (with all the neighbors) a request to the municipal government to fix the part of the road that is in bad shape, is good to remark that this part is only about one tenth of the road. The rest in very good conditions.
4.- The “zoo” is really not a zoo. It is a refuge (U.M.A.) for animals that were confiscated from the black market and the federal ecology and environmental authorities are unable to return to the wild, as they have been domesticated. Cages are more a necessity than a preference in this case. The U.M.A. should not be seen as a zoo, but as an effort to rescue and bring back to health these poor animals.
It is not property of the hotel, but the proprietor of the Center, allows the guests to visit.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Wednesday night cook out dinner at the bar grill and the jazzy music we accompany it with. Alex and Sophie are very good musicians. Sophie the violinist is a classically trained musician who also plays in the Cancun Camerata. We are lucky to have them both be part of the experience.

Thank you once again for your review and the commendations, hopefully some day you will return and see the improvements.

Sincerely

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm getting a head start on writing my review.....I'm lying in bed, in bungalow #5, dreading the thought of my plane trip back to New York in a few hours. It's 4am, dark out, but I can peek out my window and see the palm trees wrapped in rope lights on the beach. The only sounds I can hear are the ceiling fan, my friend's breathing, and the occasional unknown animal outside doing whatever animals do in the middle of the night...I've been here for seven days, and I'm not all that excited about going home.
Petit Laffite is a special kind of place. The experience is what keeps people coming back for more. The bungalows are comfortable, the food is outstanding, and the beach is wonderful. What separates Petit Laffite from other places is the employees who work here. Not only are they good at what they do, they work very hard at it, and they seem to enjoy interacting with the guests. All of the employees seem to multi task as well. It's hard to tell who has what title here. The waiters seem to be everywhere....in the restaurant, at the bar, checking on you at the beach...They are all very friendly and professional. The chefs are very visible and extremely accomodating, and the bartenders are outstanding also. I've seen the bartenders washing glasses, a waiter handing out towels, the general manager picking debris up off the beach, the chef making drinks, everybody helping out with stocking the bar....seems like everybody works together to give guests an unforgettable experience. The grounds are meticulous, the beach and pool very clean...these guys do a great job!
This was my third visit to Petit Laffite, and won't be my last. Aside from a few complications with the website (couldn't book transfers with PDC), I made all arrangements online, which was convenient. I traded emails with Luis regarding my reservation, and he was very helpful. I used STP Caribbe for round trip transfers, and they were great.
My vacation coincided with Dios del Muerto(?) which I was very interested in and the staff members tried to explain to me. They even went so far as to set up a traditional altar in the restaurant, which was a big hit and got photographed by most of the guests. We were also lucky enough to be there when a large group of Mexican guests with children stayed at the resort. The kids got dressed up in costumes and trick or treated at the bungalows....unfortunately, I wasn't prepared to give out candy. Next year I will bring some!
I would love to say we went on all kinds of adventures up and down the Mexican Riviera, but truthfully, we never left Petit Lafitte. We talked about going to Isle de Mujeres for a day, but decided we had a good thing going on right here and never moved. We did go for several beach walks, and we both decided Petit Lafitte was the best place on the coast. I walked around the big all inclusive up the beach, and couldn't wait to get back to Petit Lafitte. Their place was beautiful, the grounds were awesome, but I would have hated sitting among hundreds of beach chairs, people smoking, noisy jet skis interrupting the tranquility. The cookie cutter mentality is not for me. I also noticed people waiting for a shuttle to take them around the resort. One of the pools was apparently an activity pool, with ear splitting music and some kind of water aerobics going on, with some hot looking guy barking commands from the pool deck. And apparently you have to make reservations to eat. Yuk!
Give me the entertaining and always available staff at Petit Lafitte any day. I can't say enough about my friends Javier, Giovany, Baldi, Martin, Victor, Jose, Jose, Gazpar, Antonio, Manuel, David, Felipe, Luis, Jorge, and the rest. If I could, I'd take them all home with me so I could reciprocate their hospitality in New York. A million thank you's to all at Petit Lafitte!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ripley1747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Ripley 1747,
It is hard to begin responding to a review like yours. I mean, you definetely went out of your way to depict your experience...the ambiance... A lot of imagery in your words. It made me see things from a perspective different from the staff´s perspective. Yor depiction of the morning alternation of sounds and silence, was evocative.
Thank you so much for your review, your third visit, your awareness and input. We are lucky of being able to create relationships like the one we share with you. I mean we have guests, we have repeat guests and we have friends. In time we experience moments together and that collection of moments become deep inpressions in our hearts.
I am glad you saw Dia de Muertos and our altar and the food we prepare for such a traditional holiday in Mexico. Makes me wonder if the all inclusive hotels you saw on your beach walks have that. Maybe so, in a larger scale. (You are right, we are a world apart from that).
We work as a family, as a team and your observation of the spirit of collaboration, is really on the dot of where we aim to be. So we are very happy to read your words.
We hope you keep gracing us with future visits and recommendations.
We were thinking of you and our NYC guests during Sandy, we wish everything goes back to normal soon.

Until we meet again, the staff says hi and happy holidays.

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went here for a second honeymoon.
We had on of the rooms, not the small houses. Rooms are fine in size.
The food is really great - 1st class! Both in the evenings and the breakfast - lots of local dishes.
The staff is really helpful and nice!
The hotel is quite small which makes for a nice experience - not one of those large ressorts.
The other guests all were nice and behaved well.

What we didn't like so much:
Cleanliness is very good according to Mexican standard - but not up to the standard of very accurate Europeans.

Anyhow, we would return to this hotel if we come to Yucatan again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reise21at
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear reise21at,

Thank you so much for visiting the Yucantán Península, Riviera Maya and staying with us at Petit Lafitte during your second honeymoon.
We enjoyed your review, because it shows that there are European travelers who appreciate the Mexican "flavor" and the friendly atmosphere. We do not have a lot of European visitors, but the ones that choose us, seem to enjoy our style. We are very honored to read your opinion on our food. We like to think of it also as (in your words) "first class." We buy fresh produce everyday, as we do not have a big "walk in closet" that alone impacts food quality and flavor a lot.
This winter we are hiring a couple persons to help with the afternoon and evening cleaning. Normally we have that well covered but sometimes in the early evenings, after most of the help is gone, we are a little bit weak in that department.
So we are solving that with the inclusion of more staff to do that task in the evenings.
Thank you for pointing that out.

On behalf of all the staff and the management,
we want to say :
Danke für Ihren Besuch!

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed 8 nights at cottage in Petit Lafitte and it was so comfortable. Hotel staffs are very kind and full of hospitality. Actually I was surprised to their hight-standard service.
We left very early morning so we did not expecting to have a breakfast on our departure day. However, they prepared sandwiches for us at night the day before we are leaving.
Thank you so much.
We enjoyed conversation with staffs, especially Mr.David. He is not only nice and friendly, but also reliable. We know that what the professional is from your hotel.
We will definitely stay Petit Lafitte when we visit next time! Thank you for your everything!

コテージに8泊しました。とても素敵なサービスに驚きました。こんなにホスピタリティーあふれるホテルはそんなに無いんじゃないかと思うくらいです。
出発の日私たちは朝早くにホテルを出なければならなかったのですが、彼らはそれを見込んで前夜に朝食用のサンドイッチを用意しておいてくれました。これを持って行くといいよ、と笑顔で渡された時は本当に嬉しかったです。もちろんそれだけではありません。その他色々と彼らの気遣いには本当に心が温まりました。またプラヤに来る時も絶対に泊まりたいホテルです。Davidさん、ありがとうございました。

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank milka1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Milka1984,
Doumo arigatou gozaimasu,
(Excuse my poor japanese!)
We are very happy to see your review here and to read about all the positive experiences you left Petit Lafitte with. Thank you for mentioning the special attention, exemplified in the preparation of take away bags for early travel. That is how we built our name and also actions like that are where we put our creative energy.
To be recognized in your review serves as a motivation to continue our work.
We also want to say thank you for choosing Petit Lafitte as your Riviera Maya home-away-from-home, you come from so far away, we are honored.
We only hope that you give us the oportunity to serve you or your friends and family in the future.
Until then,
We send our warmest regards,

Sincerely,

I.F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I chose this hotel because it was beach front, small, away from the party scene, and looked like a quiet place to stay when vacationing by myself, and it exceeded all my expectations. The staff was very friendly, greeting you by your first name when every we crossed paths. The beach was perfect, transparent turquoise water. The room was clean, and had all the necessary amenities. The hotel is a quiet place to stay if you want to read, lay in the sun and catch up on your reading. Don't stay here if you are looking for night activity, big fancy restaurants, or an expensive environment. The only downside I would say was the food, I wanted a little more Mexican and local flavor, not so much international all around cuisine. The other thing I had to my advantage I was told, is that I stayed during their low season, which meant not fighting of an umbrella or lounge chair at the beach, having the bar all for myself, and the undivided attention of the staff. Who by the way organized all kinds of trips for me during my stay.

Room Tip: If you ask for beach front room (not the bungalow) make sure you get a high floor room, otherwise it...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Stephanie,

Thank you for your valuable review. It is nice that readers can get an outlook of how the atmosphere is here for lone female travelers.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the pristine uncrowded beach with turquoise waters, the tranquility and the "low season" yes, it is a very good time to travel, as you say it, you get undivided attention from the staff, the weather is great, there is plenty of beach chairs, hammocks and such, ideal for quiet vacation.
We hope you remember to visit again, now that you know where we are.
On behalf of all the staff at Petit Lafitte, thank you very much for your review and we wish you many, happy vacations.

P.S. Have a Boston Brownie at Faneuil Hall for me.

Sincerely,

I. Fuentes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,775 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#13 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,084 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#8 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
436 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,109 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $138 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing