We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place, Perfect Location”
Review of Petit Lafitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petit Lafitte
Ranked #6 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
nashville, tn
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect Place, Perfect Location”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Petit Lafitte is a small, family run business - perfectly situated along a gorgeous stretch of beach.

If you want a small, family friendly, clean, safe, 1 minute walk to the pool or the beach, beautifully situated hotel with a good staff - this is the place with you.
If you want a large, raucous, all inclusive, alcohol infused 24 hour party, where a walk to the beach requires a 15 minute walk or golf cart - or if you want a place steeped in turn-down service luxury -THIS IS NOT THE PLACE for you.

This was our first, in what I hope to be -many trips to Petit Lafitte. Here are the reasons I liked it:
1) . The hotel grounds were very pretty - with fantastic views from the restaurant, the bar area, and if you choose - your room.
2). Our room, located in one of the buildings - and was very clean and bright and while it might be described as "serviceable" -nothing fancy - it was nonetheless comfortable. The room had a small fridge that was always stocked with lots of water, a TV with Cable (only a few channels, but who needs to be watching TV at the beach?), and a very large and spacious shower. Did I mention how clean it was?
3). The people working in the front office, particularly Sr. Herrera were wonderful.
4). It was very calm and very safe.
5). I loved the fact that the pool and beach and the accommodations are so closely situated to one another.
6). The breakfasts with at least ten options of fresh fruit and numerous egg dishes were fantastic.
7). Free Wi-Fi!

Here the things I read in other reviews that we found NOT be true:
1) You did not have to get up early to reserve a beach chair on the beach -
2). I understood that while we were there - members of the owners family were there....and this was a non-issue.
3). The restaurant never ran out of food.
4).While the area directly in front of the hotel may not be great for swimming - The area TEN FEET away - is really great for swimming .


These are areas (also mentioned in other reviews) that could be improved upon.
1). I wish they would replace the very heavy blankets on the bed with something lighter.
2). While breakfast was wonderful - I think dinner might require a bit more attention - some meals were great - others - not so much.
3). I wish there was some kind of shop on site to buy things like band aids and sunscreen.
4).Also, with so much sand going into our hotel room - I wish there were mats outside the doors to catch some of it.

All in all, we had a fantastic time and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The closer you are to the beach - the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LookOut1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dear Look Out 1313,
Thank you very much for your detailed review, I loved the fact that you itemized, the topics and discussed them clearly.
Thank you for clarifying what was posted on other reviews, don't mean to invalidate what others mentioned, but It is fair to express that it may have been isolated incidents.
We are glad you enjoyed the way the hotel was designed to be conveniently located so basically all facilities are about one minute walk from the rooms.
We appreciate your suggestion on the issues that you believe may improve, such as some of the dinners, the mats for sand at the entrance of the rooms, and such.
We will be working to cover those issues and given the favor of your return to our hotel, you will see we pay attention and try hard to accomodate our guests needs.

Thank you for the pleasure of your company and for taking your valuable time to post a comment.

Best Regards,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,159
    258
    72
    10
    6
See reviews for
513
712
49
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, IL, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a wonderful, small hotel with fantastic people - both staff and guests. It has the beach, bar, pool and restaurant, but without the crowd. While there are not many rooms(30) and bungalows(15), there is quite a choice of location and surroundings. My friends stayed in an ocean view bungalow (#4), with sand and palms lending extra privacy. I started out in a bungalow, but asked to change to a room (#504) after the first night. That room has a really fantastic view of the ocean - and a TV! - and is close to the bar and pool as well as the beach. David and Irving were both great in helping me and my friends with bungalow/room changes.
I enjoyed the included breakfast and evening meals, especially the various soups in the evening, though it was also great having the option of eggs for breakfast. There were a couple different entree selections each evening, and it was fun trying new things. The waiters were so nice too - some old-fashioned attentive and some funny, but all great. Lunches and drinks were available at the bar, and the selections were yummy. The bartender Jesus is a joker; watch out for his plastic spiders!
The beach is rocky immediately in front of Petit Lafitte, but there is a good sandy entry just a few yards to the left. It was not at all crowded on the beach or in the water (late March/early April 2012). In addition to beach chairs, there are lunch areas next to the beach - many good places to watch the beautiful sun rises over the ocean.
We met several "repeat guests" and can understand why they keep coming back. I loved it and hope to return.

Room Tip: The few steps (3 to 5) up to the bungalows do not have a hand rail, which can be a challenge to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank home_dog_bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear home-dog-bliss,
We'd like to say thank you for your awesome review, I see you traveled with friends and each tried a different accomodation, you tried Bungalows and rooms and your friend stayed just in Bungalows. Well it is nice you point out that the rooms are equipped with a TV and the Bungalow aren't. That is exactly how we intended it to be.
We designed and built the Bungalows to resemble the original Bungalows of the original Lafitte in the 70's and 80's, only this time we added the nice comforts, like AC units, mini bars and safe.
We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us, eventhough you moved to chose to move to a room with TV, we try our best to be as flexible as possible to accomodate needs and if a TV will do...
Nice to hear you enjoyed the staff and their respective personalities, some, as you point out, are funny, some are more old fashioned yet attentive, some are jokers, but know how to direct their humor and character.
That is basically how we built this place, on those particular elements that you point out here.
Thank you for sharing your views and thought with others, it is an honor to receive recognition.

Enjoy life and keep us in mind for future travels,

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had a wonderful 10 day stay here and will definitely return. The garden bungalows are really lovely and had everything we needed. The food is good, especially breakfast. We enjoyed the fresh fish and ceviche for lunch. We travelled with our 2 young sons (3 and 6) who had an excellent time and the hotel were very kind to them. This is a small family type hotel with very nice personal touches like an Easter egg hunt for the children on Easter Sunday and a small animal refuge in the back of grounds which the kids loved looking round

Only negative for us was the time of the evening meal. This in included in the price of the room but does not start until 7.30pm. Both our children struggled with eating so late and there is not another option available. We also found that the evening meals were quite adult and again they didn't not like the food (spice, shrimp etc). We ended up paying and going down the beach to Cocos which had more child friendly food and worked better for us. Other than that this is a super hotel and we loved our stay. Thank you Petit Lafitte!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SW4Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear SW4Reviewer,

Thank you for bringing your family here. 10 days is what experience has told us is a good length for vacation, as the first and last days are usually invested in traveling, then it takes a day or two to unwind and get into the pace of the new environment. More than 10 days... your mind starts wandering off back to work and responsibilities, which is kind of a waste.
I am glad to hear that you found Petit Lafitte be Paradisiacal, We've been told that lately, it feels good to get frequent confirmations, even when we try to maintian our feet on the ground, it is rewarding to get those type of comments. I am glad also to hear your children enjoyed the personal touches, like the Easter Egg hunt or the animal refuge.
One thing that I regret is that you felt you had to go to the nearby "Cocos", to get children friendly meals. Yes, indeed, our menu is designed with adult palates in mind, but we do accomodate (and it is easier for us) the needs of the young guest, by preparing, food more oriented to their satisfaction, for instance, spaghetti, hamburgers, milk shakes and such. I wonder why you did not connect with our concierge, who acts as a liaison, between guests and kitchen, it is the very same person who prepared and conducted the Easter Egg hunt. I gather this situation, was due to lack of communication. I apologize on behalf of David and I want to advice other travelers to please voice your needs, we have staff trained to take the right measures to satisfy them.
Our concierge works as an advocate for your needs, food, travel, tours, services, etcetera.

Other than that, we are honored to hear you would return here in the future, when you do, you will see we are maintaining the high standard in service quality and I am sure you will get your childrens food requirements met.
We at Petit Lafitte, hope that happens soon.

Best Regards,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We had a thoroughly wonderful time. The staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. The cabins on the beach are delightful. It is a perfect place if you want a peaceful and relaxing vacation with good food and a lovely beach. We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear DianeB,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, even if it was brief, I think you chose very adequate and kind words.
I was thinking...you are one of the persons who used the word "paradise" for review title and my mind followed: "If I work in Paradise....Where should I go on vacation?"
Quite the dilemma.
:)
But hey, thank you for reminding us...we are lucky to be the other side of the equation.
We hope to see you again sometime in the future...or maybe take care of family and friends of yours who may also visit your found "Bit of Paradise."

Thank you again, and again.

Iván A. Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We brought our family to Petit Lafitte for Spring Break in 2012. We remember it from its previous incarnation when we came almost 20 years ago, before the area was so built up. Now, it really is a little oasis in a sea of huge resorts, but it manages to hold onto a little sliver of laid back paradise.

The accommodations are nice - comfortable and clean. Not luxurious, but plenty of room. The food is very good, though there's a limited menu each night and we enjoyed some dinners more than others. Breakfasts are phenomenal, with fresh mango, pineapple, papaya, melons, bananas every day and you can order off the menu or ask to customize with whatever you would like.

The staff is very gracious and accommodating. We used the concierge to book outings to Xel-Ha and to the Sian Ka'an Biosphere Reserve, which were very different, but fun.

But the biggest draw is that you are right on this gorgeous beach with crystal clear water and just right waves. As soon as we arrived and sat down by the ocean, we could feel all the stress just melting away. Our trip, though less than a week, turned out to be incredibly relaxing. We thought we would go on more excursions, but ended up spending most of our days sitting under a palapa, reading, swimming, making sand castles, etc. It was truly heavenly. I"m so glad that Petit Lafitte continues to hold on to it's little sliver of paradise.

Room Tip: We reserved 2 rooms directly across from each other, rather than trying to squeeze all four of us in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZahavaWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear ZahavaWashington,
Thank you vbery much for trying us again after a long hiatus since your last visit to our old predecessor, Capitán Lafitte.
You are right, life, motion, situations have changed along this coast, from the deserted long beaches of 20 years ago to busy chains of resorts.
That is why we decided to continue the Lafitte tradition after all these years, we knew there are people like you and your family who would enjoy the laid back, peacefui atmosphere, good service and food.
Thank you, because with your visit, the circle comes to completion, we manage to stay in business and you get your litle sliver of paradise, hopefully, we will be able to continue doing this for a long, long time and you will...hopefully not wait too long to return to our sandy, quiet beach to melt your cares away.
Thanks you also for telling others about Petit Lafitte...

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This smallish friendly hotel and bungalow style place by the sea has received numerous statements of acclaim and, having experienced the hotel for 5 days, we can share the enthusiasm of contributors. It is not for everyone, though, because it is small, quiet and doesn't feature the range of services that can be found at larger places. But for couples with young children, older folk and those wanting a relaxed and quiet time, it is ideal. Livelier offerings are nearby if they are needed but just sit back and enjoy this gem!

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms on floors two or three are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Rainsford,
Thank you very much for your brief yet, eloquent commendation.
You are right when you say Petit Lafitte is not for everyone, certainly we are not the "aerobics or volleyball in the pool" type of place. On occasion, (fortunately, not too often) a guest arrives expecting a heated swimming pool or elevators, maybe because they see that we are popular, but it is fair to admit that being amall hotel, we focus on service, good food and drinks and tranquility. We are happy that travelers like you, find those qualities enjoyable and satisfying.
Thanks for the pleasure of your visit and for your affirming comments.

Sincerely,

Iván A. Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Don't visit Petit Lafitte if you are looking for all the chaos, activities, congestion, rowdiness, and population of a large resort. This is NOT your place.
BUT..... if you want to get away from it all, relax and enjoy exceptional service and atmosphere, you can not go wrong at Petit Lafitte on the Riviera Maya.
Petit is its own little slice of paradise..... the air and sand are soft and warm, the ocean breezes are cool and refreshing, the rooms are clean and inviting, and the people (both staff and guests) are friendly and interesting. It seems that anyone who finds this place never leaves. Staff have stayed for 20-30 years. Guests come back every year for 20+ years. I think I will be one of them.
The facility is small, but well cared for and clean. Because the hotel sits on a narrow slice of land, only a few rooms and bungalows are actually ocean front. I thought it was well worth the extra cost for oceanfront, but everyone seems happy with their accommodations.
Your stay comes with breakfast and dinner. The food is excellent! There is a choice between two entrees at dinner, accompanied by an abundant, delicious salad, soup, side dishes, dessert buffet. They will work hard to cater to your special dietary needs. Breakfast consists of a wonderful assortment of fresh fruits, pancakes, french toast and pastries, all on the buffet. Orders are taken for delicious egg dishes from the breakfast menu. Lunch is available at the beachside bar, and is reasonably priced and delicious. Drinks are always available, and were not all that expensive.
The best part of the dining service, however, is the staff! These friendly folks have been there for years, and are very loyal to their jobs. It takes them one meal to learn your name, room number, how you like your coffee, what wine you want with dinner, etc., etc. The front desk staff is just the same. David, who is called concierge, but is everywhere, doing all things, can hook you up with any excursion, day trip, whatever you need or want.There are snorkeling trips and ruins to explore (Chichen-Itza is a long day, but well worth it). Find a cenote (underground fresh water cave) to visit. Or swim with turtles and dolphins. The fun town of Playa del Carmen is a short cab drive or an hour-and-a-half beach walk away.
But you might not want to leave Petit Lafitte at all! The quiet days spent under the palapas on the beach, or by the pool, or snorkeling in the warm Caribbean are really difficult to beat! Your vacation will be over way too soon.

Room Tip: Rooms 504 and 506 in the main hotel are oceanfront. Others have beautiful ocean views or garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurimart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captainlafitte, General Manager at Petit Lafitte, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear laurimart,

I've been wanting to write to say thank you for your nice and extensive review.
We are delighted to see you became quickly adapted to the pace of things here, to the atmosphere and the the "never wanting to leave" dynamic. As you well point out, we have often been blessed with the loyalty of our staff and our clientele as well.
I hope you come back sometime to join the repeat group.
You put it just right: "get away from it all!"
We promise to continue serving excellent meals in a cordial, familiar ambiance.
The whole idea is that you make this your home away from home, come have a little slice of paradise anytime you like.
Or...as we say in Mexico:
"Mi casa es su casa"

On behalf of all the staff...

Iván A. Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,738 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,652 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
Banyan Tree Mayakoba
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
693 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#3 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit Lafitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit Lafitte

Property: Petit Lafitte
Address: Carretera Cancun - Chetumal km 296 + 2.1 | Xcalacoco, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petit Lafitte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Petit Lafitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit Lafitte Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Playa Del Carmen
Petit Lafitte Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing