We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Maya Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place for families”
Reviewed February 8, 2011

What a beautiful place! The staff was prompt in communications before we arrived and friendly and helpful during our stay. The apartment was beautiful and met all of our expectations. The location is very close to Av. 5 but far enough away to be quiet and secluded, and the beach access at Las Palapas was wonderful. Full kitchen, secure on-site parking, laundry in the apartment, wi-fi, great decor. Couldn't have asked for better!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Womantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    57
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
201
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2011

We really enjoyed our 2 weeks at this condo. We booked in for a beachy Christmas and New Year's holiday and feel that we couldn't have done better! I loved that I had all the options - I could whip up a quick breakfast for us, have lunch on the beach with an account at the all-inclusive resort and go out on the town for a fabulous meal on 5th Ave!
I hadn't bought into a plan that made me feel guilty for getting meals while out on excursions when we spent time off the resort - we truly had the best of all worlds.
The kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need - I appreciated the laundry soap and fabric softener supplied in the laundry room. Every day the cleaning staff would come in, tidy up after us and decorate with creative face towel sculptures!
The view from the rooftop was breath-taking and I enjoyed the solace in watching the sun rise over the ocean (and Cozumel) on New Year's Day.
My family felt safe and loved the fresh bread in the morning from the bakery (half a block away). We snorkeled, swam, para-sailed, toured, beached, shopped, body surfed, danced, played games, celebrated, ate and ate some more and took in many of the offerings made available in this area of Mexico.
We've been gone 5 days and I think we would all go back tomorrow if we could!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank klmmmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Riviera Maya Suites is a three story condo complex with 2 and 3-Bedroom apartments. The apartments are nicely furnished and the kitchen has all the appliances, cook- and dinnerware you need. A big plus is the laundry room wiht washer and dryer. We only had carry-on for 2 weeks and thanks to this we we did not need a big suitcase for clothes. Another big plus is the WiFi and satellite TV with Mexican, American, German and French channels. Riviera Maya Suites is located within the secured premises of the hotel Las Palapas, which is directly on the beach. The Suites have their own pool and hot top (serene and exotic) and a sun roof with a gorgeous view over the beach and the city.

The moment we drove into the hotel complex we were enchanted by the beautiful tropical landscaping with exotic plants and even exotic animals (e.g. coaties which I had never even heard of before). From the Suites to the hotel and beach area you walk about 2 minutes through a jungle like path and then all you have to do is enjoy and dream. The Las Palapas Hotel is not your standard luxury resort but still has a lot of individual charme. Instead of endless floors of hotel rooms there are one and two-story cabanas with thatch roofs that remind more of a polynesian village in the beach area, and of a jungle setting in the back part of the premises. There is an open libraray/community room with a pool table and lots of books in the center, a restaurant Mexican Style and of course the beach bar.

The hotel has enough lounge chairs at the beach to accomodate all the guests at no additional costs and from 12 noon all you have to do is order drinks and food from the beach bar and have it served directly at your spot or at the shady sitting area at the pool. The beach was the best beach we saw on our long morning walks. We took a tour at one of the big luxury hotels closer to downtown but the beach there was disappointing with lots of rocks and algae smell. I don't think I have ever been at a beach as beautiful as this one.

Once you walk out of the hotel complex you only need to take a right turn and you are in vibrant shop and restaurant life of 5th avenue. This is a mile long shopping avenue pleasing the young and old, families and singles.


The staff at Riviera Maya Suites was very helpful. I would recommend this place without hesitation to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hundsbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Just back from our week at Riviera Maya Suites, 3 of us super comfy in lovely 2 bdr suite.
Spacious, well equipped, airy, comfortable and convenient location. Best for us cause we are not all inclusive resort types, like independence to explore town and the area, meet people, and relax at the beach, whatever. It is all there and RMS is a great place for all that. RMS host Karla arranges pick up from Cancun airport, then visit Mega grocery store for provisions and you are set for the week of Mexico, Riviera style.
This our second trip to Playa and to stay at RMS. Such a luxury to sip our morning coffee on the big balcony comparing notes from the Jazz Festival stage the previous night at Las Mamitas Beach. Our host Karla and all the staff are so helpful and thorough, they made it a 5 Star trip. We will return and it will be RMS all the way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eugenialeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

We recently stayed at the Maya Riviera as a business reward from my wife's employer, and although we were only there 2 days, it was spectacular. We have traveled extensively and often stay in 4-5 star accommodations, but this was just over the top. The food was amazingly fresh and wonderfully presented - something one would think impossible to accomplish in an 'all inclusive' setting. The service was likewise incredible - there were seemingly more service personnel than guests. The room was just fantastic! Huge, luxurious, right on the beach, marble everywhere, top flight fixtures, enormous jacuzzi, our own porch with wading pool, et al... If I could give them six stars I would!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merunner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I had an exciting experience at the pool with the scuba team. They were awesome, especially the like's of Marek Vanura. He was very helpful and encouraging that we try the scuba tryout. We appreciated his comments and training.
You have a great team there and trying this at the pool was very exciting.
Lou Tager--guest Nov 11-15--room 6031/Riviera Maya

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriotman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

This is a really great choice all around (value, location, cleanliness, washer/dryer, etc.).

-Location & Safety-
The location is perfect, right at the foot of 5th Avenue. You can leave your room and walk the shopping district for hours...and yes, it is extremely safe. We took our 3 and 6 year old out at night until 9 or 10 pm on 5th Avenue and never felt unsafe. There are tons of happy people and families everywhere. You can also take a 5 minute taxi and grab a ferry to Cozumel where you can do more shopping, snorkeling, etc. Tulum is probably a 15 minute taxi ride away.

-Pool & Beach-
There's also a pool and you get access to the pool next door at the Las Palappas resort (which is where you'll find people sitting by the pool drinking and eating), the beach is also right there.

-Rooms-
The rooms are BIG and extremely clean. The in room washer and dryer are great if you're staying more than a few days with the family.

-Families-
There are lots of families staying at the suites and Las Palapas, so our kids were making new friends every day from all parts of the world.

Seriously, the proximity to so many activities for the price is an incredible value.

-Also...-
-Underground parking
-Great bakery next door that also has incredible an incredibly tasty lunch menu ("Chez Celine")
-Don't miss the artists in the street on Thursdays (I assume it's every Thursday)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sectionz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Maya Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Maya Suites

Property: Riviera Maya Suites
Address: Av 32 Norte S/N | Entre 5ta Avenida y 1era Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Maya Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Maya Suites has 12 exclusive apartments of two and three bedrooms, specially designed for family vacations by the owners of the well known Hotel Las Palapas, pioneers at Playa del Carmen. The apartments are fully equipped with high quality appliances, in order to fulfill all your needs and exceed your expectations. At Riviera Maya Suites you will enjoy an unforgettable experience at the Mexican Caribbean, taking advantage of the great location of our vacation rentals, only a few steps away from the beautiful white sand beach fringed by turquoise, crystal clear Caribbean water, where you can choose from an ample range of water activities like scuba diving and snorkeling at the Ccoral Rreef, yachting on Caribbean Sea, amazing sport fishing, and many others.Also, as Riviera Maya Suites guest, you will enjoy access to the private beach club, and all the facilities of the famous Hotel Las Palapas, the perfect place to laid back and enjoy the sun, the ocean breeze trough palm trees, and the magical atmosphere that can only be found at the particularity of Playa del Carmen, México.The building has a nice private swimming pool and is equipped with an elevator servicing from the covered parking lot of the semi basement to the three apartment floors.The roof has been designed as a solarium, from there and particularly from the third floor penthouses you can enjoy a spectacular view of the turquoise Caribbean Sea.The building offers 2 or 3 bedroom Suites. Each bedroom has a private bathroom. The main bedroom has one king size bed, the second bedroom has 2 double beds, the third bedroom has 2 individual beds. We can offer cribs and extra bed. There is a large living and dining room and nice balcony with chairs, table and hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Maya Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Maya Suites Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing