We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE PERFECT PLACE FOR A TROPICAL GETAWAY STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Maya Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I looked on travel advisor for reviews and was very impressed, but Riviera Maya Suites is better than the best reviews. The apartments exceeded our expectations, they were extremely clean and very well resourced for a self contained stay. This was important to us because we had a 6 month old and 2 year old. However, the location is right at the beginning of 5th avenue, which is a beautiful pedestrian only street absolutely full of restaurants, cafes, snack places, so we ate out for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had a freezer, fridge, washer, drier, and fully stocked kitchen when we needed it. When we were taken to our room we were full of surprise and delight. The view from the 3rd floor was spectacular. Just above a canopy of lush tress, the beautiful Caribbean lapping on the white sand......and a huge balcony with outdoor furniture and 2 hammocks. The suites are set back enough to get away from the beach and feel clean and refreshed at the end of each sandy, humid day, but close enough to walk to the beach through the Las Palapas resort next door. We had full access to the outdoor facilities of the Las Palapas resort, including pool and bar and lovely thatched beach umbrellas and beach lounges. Drinking water was supplied,and even though we didn't ask for it, Simona the manager thoughtfully organised to have a high chair and porta cot ready for us on arrival. She is a beautiful person and made us feel so at ease and welcome and took care of our every wish. The daily room service was great, loved having the floors mopped each day, and even my baby's cot sheets made. I can't emphasise enough how ideal the riviera Maya Suites are for a young family, or for anyone for that matter. We had 3 bedrooms each with separate bathrooms, so tonnes of space. I loved being able to do the laundry every day, especially with how grotty my kids got. All detergents, cloths, etc were provided, even an umbrella. I was so worried about travelling to Mexico with the kids, but my husband and I had a great time, felt very very happy here, and very well cared for. I can't wait to go back. Do not hesitate to book a suite, you won't regret it. If you don't manage to get a room with a sea view, never mind, the trees are beautiful and there is a roof top verandah with wood sun lounges for all guests, so everyone can enjoy the elevated view. We had really bad weather for the first 5 days of our 8 day trip, so we really appreciated having a large place to stay indoors when it was too wet to do anything. I'd still rather be there in bad weather than where I am right now. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arabasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Dear Guest ,

We really thank you for your great comment. It is an honor for us to know that your stay have exceeded your expectations. As you said, we are very centrally located near to the best restaurants and the famous “Quinta Avenida” .The beach is also near and many other attractions alike. On the other hand, we would like you to know that our team is constantly training to provide the best service experience to our guest and develop the human potential that is within us. Based on your comment we do expect you coming back with us in the future we shall make sure your stay will be truly unforgettable.

Best Regards from the Riviera Maya Suites team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 355 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

Our family of four, including kids aged 6 and 4, loved RMS! The pool was a perfect size for young kids, with a shallow area they could play in, and we were the only people I saw using it the whole week. The beach was a 5-minute walk away--pleasant walk past iguanas and through the Hotel de las palapas grounds. The pool there was good too, and the beach perfect.
We had bad luck with the weather, which made us even more glad we were in a condo instead of a hotel--the kids had loads of room to play hide and seek, to build tents with blankets, etc. We cooked a bit and walked to lots of local restaurants. We'd rented a car, too, which we hardly used, but the parking was extremely convenient as well.
We were on the 2nd floor, and I heard the people above us just once or twice--it made me worry that people beneath us could hear the kids. You might ask for a high or low room depending on whether you're concerned about hearing noise or not disturbing others. That said, the windows were soundproof--you couldn't hear if it was raining, so I don't think our early-side visits to the pool (10am) disturbed the younger, more night-life oriented guests.
Simona was the staff member we dealt with the most, and she was helpful and amiable--everyone seemed really nice and sincere.
All in all, an ideal place to stay!

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank sistermmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Dear Guest,

It's good to know that your stay at the Riviera Maya Suites was to your liking. The description of the location and the services we offer could not be better. Our entire team is grateful to you. Thank you very much indeed for your comment and we look forward to having you back again with us and get you to perceive more of our infinite Hospitality philosophy.

Best Regards from all the Riviera Maya Suites team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed at Rivera Maya Suites for one week after a round trip through Yucatan and we loved our two bedroom appartment very much. Everything in the appartment was excellent. The livingroom with nice kitchen, separate room with washing machine and dryer. The two bedrooms with the bathrooms plus the terras with nice furniture.
Simona and the other staff were very helpfull and friendly. The location is perfect. It is about 5 minutes walk to the beach and 5 minutes to 5th Avenue with plenty of restaurants. When you are in Playa del Carmen, this is the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyAlmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

This place was perfect in every way!! There was six of us and we stayed at the Riviera Maya Suites for 10 days.We loved the location,the beauty of the grounds,how clean well kept the suites were. The size of our 3 bedroom suite was huge.Having the use of the facilities and the beach at Las Palapas was fabulous.Simona was amazing and help us in every way she could.She helped us with finding great places to eat.Simona shared her knowledge about the different kinds of activities that would be interesting for all of us.She is amazing and always smiling. The staff was friendly and so helpful We loved the fact that after dinner we could take a short walk to 5 th ave and enjoy all the night time activities.The only downfall is the continuous thumping music from Mamamit's beach club which we could here from the balcony of our suite. We also had the pleasure of meeting Eric whom originally was the person whom picked us up at the airport. We enjoyed our ride to the Riviera Maya Suites with Eric as he had a lot of knowledge about the area and interesting things to know and discover.We hired Eric for a day and he took us to an amazing Cenote and snorkeled with us and told us about the Cenote and the history behind the Cenotes.We left there and then he took us to Akumal.Once we were there we went to Yakul Lagoon and had an amazing snorkeling adventure with Eric.He showed us all the great spots to find many fish ,turtles etc. This place was so beautiful!!. I can't say enough about Eric he is fun,kind,very interesting to talk to and shared so much of his knowledge about the Mayan Riviera. If you want to have someone to take you to different places then hire Eric.You won't be disappointed. Ask Simona the manager of Maya Riviera Suites on how to reach Eric. We will return and Thanks Simona and Eric

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
Thank Canuckfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate the time you spent posting your
feedback about us. We feel very satisfied and proud to have contributed to a stay that went beyond your expectations. All of our staff share the same commitment in helping our guests to satisfy the expressed and…most important the unexpressed needs they may have. Be sure that during your next stay with us we shall extend you our warmest welcome and surprise you even more!

Best Regards from all the Riviera Maya Suites team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Very nice 2 bedroom apartment with plenty of space. nice kitchen that wasn't overly stocked with pots and pans, but enough for the breakfast, lunch cooking we did. We were with two other families, each family with an apartment on the third floor. Worked out great to have us together but with our own space. The rooms were very clean and the housekeeping service was great. The walk to the beach is probably about a block and a half, but you walk thru a beautiful tropical path so it isn't a big deal. The ocean view from our room was absolutely beautiful. Each room had a balcony with nice chairs and tables as well as two hammocks. Would definetly stay again!!!! Simone at the front desk was also great and very helpful. Also, right on the edge of 5th ave so the shopping / restruants were very accessible.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1rlogans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Dear Guest,

First of all , thank you for your comments , we really appreciate every feedback and encouragement from our guests. Your explanation about our services could not be better and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed each one of them. We will be glad to welcome you again and leave our mark in your memories trough quality, service innovation and constant dedication. It has been a real pleasure serving you.

Best Regards from all the Riviera Maya Suites team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I stayed at Riviera Maya Suites in Feb 2010 with my wife and 8 yr old daughter and would stay there again in a hearbeat.

The place is on the corner of 5th Avenue with 36th Street, and is just on the tip of where it gets busy on 5th Av. This works really well imo, as you're close enough for everything to be within a walk, but also things are peaceful and quiet.

The suites are immaculate, furnished to a real high standard and want for nothing. If there was one thing that could be improved it is that if you were looking to lots of cooking, then they could do with some more knives, but they had everything else.

Purified water is provided free of charge every day, and the maids do a fab job. All the staff have a smile on their faces and are keen to help. (this seems to be a trait of almost all Mexicans!)

Our suite had an ocean view balcony and looked out over the Carribbean sea, so that was pretty cool. There was also 2 hammocks which everyone enjoyed lounging around in. Everyone that we spoke to staying there was pleased with the place.

For us, one of the best things about this place is that it is affliliated to Las Palapas hotel, so you get to use their facilities free of charge. This was great as there are loungers and Palapas (big straw umbrellas) on the beach right next to a beach bar where you can get drinks and food (set up a tab, then you don't have to worry about money or cards on the beach) - reasonably priced as well (club sandwich 100 pesos, beer 25 pesos etc). There is also Cyan-Ha dive shop next door where you can book snorkelling trips, dives, hire jet ski's etc. If you walk north up the beach there is also a place where you can rent kayaks and canoes.

One thing I will say, is that I don't understand the "classification" of this place as B&B and Inns - it is neither. You are renting a Condo, in an apartment block, with on site security and (small) swimming pool.

The 2 managers, Simona and Francisco are great, really helpful and keen to make your stay a pleasant one.

We paid $2970 for 2 weeks in Feb, and this was well worth it - we could easily have fitted in another family of 3 in our apartment so this would haved worked out at $1500 per family for 2 weeks. That is an absolute steal imo.

PDC is the one of the coolest places I have ever been and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertredmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Dear Guest,

It's good to know that your stay at the Riviera Maya Suites was to your liking. The description of the location and the services we offer could not be better. Our entire team is grateful to you.As you said, we are very centrally located near to the best restaurants and the famous “Quinta Avenida” .The beach is also near and many other attractions alike. On the other hand, we would like you to know that our team is constantly training to provide the best service experience to our guest and develop the human potential that is within us. Based on your comment we do expect you coming back with us in the future occasion we shall make sure your stay will be truly unforgettable.

Best Regards from all the Riviera Maya Suites team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2010

As the title of our review states, this is the second time we have stayed at the Riviera Maya Suites. We loved our stay once again and are already planning our third visit.

Simply put, we enjoyed both playing and relaxing on an exceptional beach, with old and newly found friends. With 5th Avenue being just steps away, we had numerous restaurant and shopping options that we explored daily. Great location and amenities!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyM-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer our services and made your holidays a moment to be remembered. We hope to see you very soon.

Best Regards from all the Riviera Maya Suites team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#124 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
648 reviews
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
Wyndham Garden Playa Del Carmen
#108 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#69 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
0.2 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Maya Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Maya Suites

Address: Av 32 Norte S/N | between 1st and 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $97 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Maya Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Maya Suites has 12 exclusive apartments of two and three bedrooms, specially designed for family vacations by the owners of the well known Hotel Las Palapas, pioneers at Playa del Carmen. The apartments are fully equipped with high quality appliances, in order to fulfill all your needs and exceed your expectations. At Riviera Maya Suites you will enjoy an unforgettable experience at the Mexican Caribbean, taking advantage of the great location of our vacation rentals, only a few steps away from the beautiful white sand beach fringed by turquoise, crystal clear Caribbean water, where you can choose from an ample range of water activities like scuba diving and snorkeling at the Ccoral Rreef, yachting on Caribbean Sea, amazing sport fishing, and many others.Also, as Riviera Maya Suites guest, you will enjoy access to the private beach club, and all the facilities of the famous Hotel Las Palapas, the perfect place to laid back and enjoy the sun, the ocean breeze trough palm trees, and the magical atmosphere that can only be found at the particularity of Playa del Carmen, México.The building has a nice private swimming pool and is equipped with an elevator servicing from the covered parking lot of the semi basement to the three apartment floors.The roof has been designed as a solarium, from there and particularly from the third floor penthouses you can enjoy a spectacular view of the turquoise Caribbean Sea.The building offers 2 or 3 bedroom Suites. Each bedroom has a private bathroom. The main bedroom has one king size bed, the second bedroom has 2 double beds, the third bedroom has 2 individual beds. We can offer cribs and extra bed. There is a large living and dining room and nice balcony with chairs, table and hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera Maya Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Maya Suites Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing