We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Maya Suites
Certificate of Excellence
lincoln,england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2010

I stayed at Riviera Maya Suites in Feb 2010 with my wife and 8 yr old daughter and would stay there again in a hearbeat.

The place is on the corner of 5th Avenue with 36th Street, and is just on the tip of where it gets busy on 5th Av. This works really well imo, as you're close enough for everything to be within a walk, but also things are peaceful and quiet.

The suites are immaculate, furnished to a real high standard and want for nothing. If there was one thing that could be improved it is that if you were looking to lots of cooking, then they could do with some more knives, but they had everything else.

Purified water is provided free of charge every day, and the maids do a fab job. All the staff have a smile on their faces and are keen to help. (this seems to be a trait of almost all Mexicans!)

Our suite had an ocean view balcony and looked out over the Carribbean sea, so that was pretty cool. There was also 2 hammocks which everyone enjoyed lounging around in. Everyone that we spoke to staying there was pleased with the place.

For us, one of the best things about this place is that it is affliliated to Las Palapas hotel, so you get to use their facilities free of charge. This was great as there are loungers and Palapas (big straw umbrellas) on the beach right next to a beach bar where you can get drinks and food (set up a tab, then you don't have to worry about money or cards on the beach) - reasonably priced as well (club sandwich 100 pesos, beer 25 pesos etc). There is also Cyan-Ha dive shop next door where you can book snorkelling trips, dives, hire jet ski's etc. If you walk north up the beach there is also a place where you can rent kayaks and canoes.

One thing I will say, is that I don't understand the "classification" of this place as B&B and Inns - it is neither. You are renting a Condo, in an apartment block, with on site security and (small) swimming pool.

The 2 managers, Simona and Francisco are great, really helpful and keen to make your stay a pleasant one.

We paid $2970 for 2 weeks in Feb, and this was well worth it - we could easily have fitted in another family of 3 in our apartment so this would haved worked out at $1500 per family for 2 weeks. That is an absolute steal imo.

PDC is the one of the coolest places I have ever been and we would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertredmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Dear Guest,

It's good to know that your stay at the Riviera Maya Suites was to your liking. The description of the location and the services we offer could not be better. Our entire team is grateful to you.As you said, we are very centrally located near to the best restaurants and the famous “Quinta Avenida” .The beach is also near and many other attractions alike. On the other hand, we would like you to know that our team is constantly training to provide the best service experience to our guest and develop the human potential that is within us. Based on your comment we do expect you coming back with us in the future occasion we shall make sure your stay will be truly unforgettable.

Best Regards from all the Riviera Maya Suites team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    57
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
201
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

As the title of our review states, this is the second time we have stayed at the Riviera Maya Suites. We loved our stay once again and are already planning our third visit.

Simply put, we enjoyed both playing and relaxing on an exceptional beach, with old and newly found friends. With 5th Avenue being just steps away, we had numerous restaurant and shopping options that we explored daily. Great location and amenities!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyM-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. We would like to thank you for giving us the opportunity to offer our services and made your holidays a moment to be remembered. We hope to see you very soon.

Best Regards from all the Riviera Maya Suites team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Fantastic hotel, clean, luxurious and comfortable. The staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. Food was plenty and delicious. The beach is clean and picturesque with plenty of sun beds and lounge furniture. Would def recommend and would visit again.

Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AimeeP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Nicely equipped apartment, very comfortable and clean, super patio. Simona was great, responding to my LateRooms reservation within minutes, providing driving directions and arranging for a member of staff to meet us on arrival as reception would be closed. He was very helpful and said "don't worry" to the $4 tip I offered.

The adjoining hotel's beach is adequate but crowded, we found a much nicer and quieter public beach to the north, complete with small bay and rockpools (from the property's entrance head inland/west to the traffic lights, turn right and continue straight/north for nearly 2 miles until you see a newish concrete road heading off into bushes on the right, after passing a large construction site on the right).

Riviera Maya's proximity to the shops and restaurants is a big plus, though we didn't manage to find any really good dining. Probably worth researching in advance and maybe booking.

Francisco the manager kindly agreed to a late check out (4pm) and then somewhat marred our stay by phoning back, rescinding the arrangement and demanding a 12 noon exit. As all except one of us was out until 2pm, this was rather unreasonable to the remaining one! He then commenced another disagreement by claiming that we had received an explanation from Simona of the need to set up an account to sign for bills at the hotel, which was not the case.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chacann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

we went to Riviera maya suites for the christmas in a group of 8 people. All of us were very satisfied with the confort of the apartament of 3 bedrooms and we felt as with we were in our house. We were very near of the restaurants and shops, the beach in the palapas is very beautiful and the bar service good. Simona, the manager is very helpful and help us a lot before and during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

We booked a 2 bedroom based on favorable comments on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Simona and staff very responsive, polite and helpful. The location is close to 5th street but a block or so away from the noise and activity. These are large units with great patios. A first or second floor unit may not have a somewhat distant view of the ocean, but there is beautiful landscaping in the courtyard and pool areas. We had a rental car which we parked in the garage underneath the small complex. We were provided with a remote to open the secured gates to the garage at our leisure.
There was quite a bit of rain the first day and apparently a problem with drainage system, they stated a problem due to a pump. This caused water to back up into our first floor unit (which is elevated at least 7 feet above ground level) flooding the entire unit. Fortunately, our possessions were in closets and on beds and not damaged. Simona immediately moved us into a 3 bedroom unit at no extra charge. Don't let this problem with the flooding bother you. They were on the problem immediately and proved themselves to be very responsive.
The walk to the hotel next door which the RMS share pool and beach, is a very easy, short walk. Great beach.

Very pleased

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longhorn1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Reservations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this review, January 9, 2010
Dear Value Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking time to share such positive comments about your stay with us and especially about our staff.

I am glad to know that the flooding to your unit after the rain did not incommode you too much in your vacation. Our maintenance did all the necessary work to avoid a future flooding to this unit.

Thank you again for choosing Riviera Maya Suites and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Simona Hümme
Reservations and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Riviera Maya Suites is a wonderful condo hotel; perhaps one of the best we have ever stayed in. We rented 2 2-BR condos for our family and everything was perfect. The staff is professional, friendly and helpful, the facilites perfectly maintained and the location can't be beat. Security and privacy are tops.

Access to the beach facilities at the ajoining Las Palapas hotel makes this the perfect vacation spot for families and couples. We will be back.

Let the staff make your transportation arrangements to and from the Cancun Airport. They will save you money over a taxi and the service is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank black5603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RivieraMayaSuites, Reservations Manager at Riviera Maya Suites, responded to this review, January 9, 2010
Dear Value Guest,

On behalf of Riviera Maya Suites Team, we wish to thank you for taking time to share such gracious comments about your stay with us.

Thank you very much for placing Riviera Maya Suites above all the new and respectable competitors in Playa del Carmen. We all work very hard to meet our guests´ expectations every day and it makes us smile to read such good reviews over our place.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Simona Hümme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Maya Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Maya Suites

Property: Riviera Maya Suites
Address: Av 32 Norte S/N | Entre 5ta Avenida y 1era Avenida, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Maya Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Maya Suites has 12 exclusive apartments of two and three bedrooms, specially designed for family vacations by the owners of the well known Hotel Las Palapas, pioneers at Playa del Carmen. The apartments are fully equipped with high quality appliances, in order to fulfill all your needs and exceed your expectations. At Riviera Maya Suites you will enjoy an unforgettable experience at the Mexican Caribbean, taking advantage of the great location of our vacation rentals, only a few steps away from the beautiful white sand beach fringed by turquoise, crystal clear Caribbean water, where you can choose from an ample range of water activities like scuba diving and snorkeling at the Ccoral Rreef, yachting on Caribbean Sea, amazing sport fishing, and many others.Also, as Riviera Maya Suites guest, you will enjoy access to the private beach club, and all the facilities of the famous Hotel Las Palapas, the perfect place to laid back and enjoy the sun, the ocean breeze trough palm trees, and the magical atmosphere that can only be found at the particularity of Playa del Carmen, México.The building has a nice private swimming pool and is equipped with an elevator servicing from the covered parking lot of the semi basement to the three apartment floors.The roof has been designed as a solarium, from there and particularly from the third floor penthouses you can enjoy a spectacular view of the turquoise Caribbean Sea.The building offers 2 or 3 bedroom Suites. Each bedroom has a private bathroom. The main bedroom has one king size bed, the second bedroom has 2 double beds, the third bedroom has 2 individual beds. We can offer cribs and extra bed. There is a large living and dining room and nice balcony with chairs, table and hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera Maya Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Maya Suites Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing