We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall well recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Maya Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Difficult to find if coming by car. Well located within the resort. Late arrivals arent dealt with particularly well and parking access was difficult. Grat rooms though, hammocks on balcony spacious clean airconditioned and well inventoried for self catering, excellent apartments.

Room Tip: Get the sea view (is quite far away). Great sized apartment type accomodation, inventory is huge tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 357 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

We really liked these apartments. Very very spacious and very well equipped. Also, its at the quieter (north) end of 5th Avenue, and just off it. Which we being a bit older really liked! Simona and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

Tip: when you get picked up/taxi etc at Cancun airport, just ask for the Palapas Hotel - thats easier than asking and explaining and showing the exact address for the Riviera Maya Suites (we spent about 15/20 mins wandering around until we found a helpful taxi driver who knew). Theres a Cuban bar on the corner of 5th Avenue and 34th Street, and the Palapas and the Suites are on the left from there heading south down 5th. As I think someone mentioned here, the Suites are really in the grounds of the Palapas, as you can use their facilities/beach area etc.

Theres a really nice French cafe on the other side of 34th St/5th Ave (ie sorta opposite the Cuban bar) which I would recommend.

In summary, If we return to PDC, I would absolutely def stay at the Suites again.

Room Tip: The 3rd and top floor has the best view if you want to see the sea. Also, you wont hear people scrap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clareiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The condo was well stocked, new, clean, modern and very spacious! The large patio with 2 hammocks was great. Use of Las Palapas beach and pool was essential for me and my kids. The condo is very convenient to the northern section of 5th Avenue for shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brenmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Riviera Maya Suites. We were only there for 5 days but had one of the best vacations we have ever had. On our previous trips to Playa we have stayed at Palmar del Sol, which is also a beautiful condo and kind of a sister complex to Riviera Maya Suites. We chose to try something different this trip in the hopes of just a bit less noise in the early morning. Palmar is right on the corner of 5th avenue and can be a bit noisy late at night and in the morning as all the people are arriving to open their shops/restaurants, etc. Riviera Maya Suites is set back behind Palmar just enough so that you do not hear any noise from 5th avenue, only quiet. It is still only about a 30 second/1minute walk to 5th and about the same to the Las Palapas beach as well. We have enjoyed staying at this end of 5th avenue so much that I don't think we would ever choose a different location when we go back, which we will! Riviera Maya Suites is clean, spacious and very comfortable for a few nights stay as well as an extended stay. The washer/dryer is a bonus, less clothes are needed. Balconies are huge with really comfortable hammocks. A table and chair is also provided out on the balcony. The beach at Las Palapas, the beach club you use while staying at Riviera Maya, is one of the best in the area. We have brought our children who are 10 and 12, since they were 6 and 8 yrs old and they have always had the best time at their beach. We've taken many long walks up and down the beach area and Las Palapas is by FAR the best. Most of the other clubs/hotels tend to be rocky and/or seaweed ridden. You will not find that at here. Overall, you will NOT be disappointed staying at Riviera Maya Suites. We stayed on the 2nd floor, 2 bedroom unit and were extremely happy. Our view was one of the pool, plants, etc. and was gorgeous. The 3rd floor rooms do have the ocean view but you can always go up to the rooftop to take a peek at the ocean and watch the sunrise if you don't choose or cannot get a 3rd floor room. Plenty of seating up there. First and second floor room views are just as beautiful. It is a super safe area and we have NEVER felt any different on any of our trips to Playa del Carmen. 5th avenue is the best ever for shopping, eating and people watching. So much fun, we feel we are almost addicted to going there! The ONLY thing I can say that would be at all "bad" about our stay is that the beds are very hard. There is little you can do about this, beds are just generally firmer in Mexico and you will find this in virtually ANY hotel/condo/apartment in Mexico....not just Riviera Maya Suites. Just something to be expected when you vacation in Mexico...period. All in all....Riviera Maya Suites is top of the line!! Book it, go there and enjoy yourself!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, same quality. The only difference would be that the 3rd floor rooms have a dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenny48170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I echo the previous reviews. This apartment complex was clean and comfortable. The balcony was huge and afforded great views of the ocean, and the staff were excellent. Upon arrival we were upgraded at no extra charge to a three bedroom apartment.
Francisco and Simona were extremely helpful, even going so far as calling our airline and helping to retrieve our delayed luggage. The Complex is very safe and secure, and we had no worries going out with our three younger kids at any time. Las Palapas Hotel staff were equally obliging. This is a great option for anyone seeking an alternative to an all inclusive vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrairieItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

RMS is an excellently located and well-run property. We enjoyed our stay there, as the apartment provided all we required - it was clean, well appointed, located steps away from the bustle of 5ta Avenida, yet quiet and secluded. The apartment was spacious, overlooking the pool, so we could keep an eye on our kids, and I loved the direct access from the underground parking by elevator - great feature when there are 6 heavy suitcases in the trunk of you car ;)
RMS also provived access to the neighboring Las Palapas hotel's pool and beach area, which was appreciated. The only minus I could find was the lack of kitchen exhaust ventilation - we were getting a little tired of the restaurant fare, so I cooked a couple of dinners - the apartment was smelling of food, so had to keep the doors open to create a draft. Otherwise, the kitchen was well equipped (they could invest in some better kitchen knives, though)and the washing machine and dryer were certainly appreciated after a week of sand....Definitely would recommend this place to anyone looking for privacy, space and comfort for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slarikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed for a week. Well located, walking distance from the tourist area & the beach. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. We are definitely going back !
Nous y sommes demeuré pendant une semaine. L'endroit est très bien situé, près de la zone touristique et de la plage. Le personnel est aidant et courtois. Nous y retournerons !

Room Tip: Any unit. The place is spacious. Toutes les unités sont grandes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JP M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
2,932 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#124 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#20 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Plaza Playa
Hotel Plaza Playa
#82 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
503 reviews
4.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
4,377 reviews
3.2 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#8 of 215 in Playa del Carmen
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Maya Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Maya Suites

Address: Av 32 Norte S/N | between 1st and 5th Avenue, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $121 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riviera Maya Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera Maya Suites has 12 exclusive apartments of two and three bedrooms, specially designed for family vacations by the owners of the well known Hotel Las Palapas, pioneers at Playa del Carmen. The apartments are fully equipped with high quality appliances, in order to fulfill all your needs and exceed your expectations. At Riviera Maya Suites you will enjoy an unforgettable experience at the Mexican Caribbean, taking advantage of the great location of our vacation rentals, only a few steps away from the beautiful white sand beach fringed by turquoise, crystal clear Caribbean water, where you can choose from an ample range of water activities like scuba diving and snorkeling at the Ccoral Rreef, yachting on Caribbean Sea, amazing sport fishing, and many others.Also, as Riviera Maya Suites guest, you will enjoy access to the private beach club, and all the facilities of the famous Hotel Las Palapas, the perfect place to laid back and enjoy the sun, the ocean breeze trough palm trees, and the magical atmosphere that can only be found at the particularity of Playa del Carmen, México.The building has a nice private swimming pool and is equipped with an elevator servicing from the covered parking lot of the semi basement to the three apartment floors.The roof has been designed as a solarium, from there and particularly from the third floor penthouses you can enjoy a spectacular view of the turquoise Caribbean Sea.The building offers 2 or 3 bedroom Suites. Each bedroom has a private bathroom. The main bedroom has one king size bed, the second bedroom has 2 double beds, the third bedroom has 2 individual beds. We can offer cribs and extra bed. There is a large living and dining room and nice balcony with chairs, table and hammocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riviera Maya Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Maya Suites Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing