We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Ranked #114 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights in December 2011, and had a wonderful time. The location, the quality of the accommodation, the service - everything was excellent. The decor of the rooms was top notch, and felt like a home away from home. The beach was steps away, as were amazing restaurants. Could not have asked for a better experience! Everyone at the hotel was very helpful, and took immediate care of any concerns we had. The kitchen had only the basics, but we were expecting this based on reading prior reviews on TripAdvisor. We were able to get extra pots after a quick call to reception. The grocery store at 38th and 5th had everything you need, plus extremely reasonable rates. Highly recommended.

Only con: The wifi was extremely flaky a couple of days

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AMurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    80
    24
    11
    14
See reviews for
70
94
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel is also known as Pueblito Escondido.

I needed to stay in a non all-inclusive resort for business near 5th Av. in Playa del Carmen. My business partner brought his young kid and the hotel turned out to be great for both of them as well.

The rooms are condo-like, equipped with a kitchenette and fridge. They all have standard kitchen utensils handy and I recommend doing an inventory at check-out just to make sure they don´t charge you for any missing item.

Besides the hotel, a small restaurant called Orígenes is open most of the day and night with great food and service, so no problem if you don´t want to cook.

Positive

Very clean rooms, white pillows and sheets. Excellent furniture, kitchen, TV and DVD equipment. Air conditioning worked great, pools very clean and pool furniture was in excellent condition. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is great for bringing young kids since the kitchen allows you to feed them with no hassle and there are good grocery shops near the hotel (three blocks) to buy anything you need. This is an excellent option to save money compared to an all-inclusive if you want to bring all the family.

Free in-room wireless internet service.

Negative

The hotel does not have private beach access, however it is still is one block away. I don't like the public beach near the hotel because of a strange smell and there are not seats and shades. Nearby beach clubs might be good for couples but not the best for kids.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

To start with we had a great time and this property is BEAUTIFUL! The master bedroom is roomy and the beds are amazingly comfortable. We slept so well.
The roof top infinity pool is very impressive and scenic with many lounge chairs around it.
Because it's one block from the beach this makes for easy beach access.
The staff was friendly and demonstrated good sense of urgency when posed with a problem.

Our air conditioning failed on our third day and the room they transferred us to was even hotter. They stated that both units shared the same compressor. Well, finally we were up-graded to a suite that has roof-top access to a private pool. Even though it was a penthouse suite, it was no nicer than our original room. The important thing is that we were again cool.

This place is a great value! Our AC issue, although frustrating, took about 2 1/2 hours to resolve. We liked the North Playa location and being on 38th makes it about three blocks North of the 5th Ave. pedestrian walk, but it's a bit removed from the 5th Ave hoopla.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north have pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
med hat
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

My husband and I along with friends of ours stayed here New Years Eve. The location is perfect... close to the beach, just far enough off of 5th to be calm but a very short walk to all the action. The units are large with a great big kitchen and patio. Only a 2 min cab ride or 10- 15 walk to the mega for groceries. Each of the bedrooms were big... however when booking i must have missed that the second of the two bedrooms have twin beds rather than a double or queen. It would have been a bit annoying for a week but for one night sleeping apart was ok. Had I of paid better attention when I booked I would have just booked two one bed units. The staff was very friendly at check in and check out . The breakfast that was included with the stay was very nice.... eggs, beans, toast, fruit, steak and salsa, coffee and fresh squeezed juice. In fact breakfast was so ample that none of us were able to eat it all. We have stayed at many places in playa from very large all inclusive resorts (5 star), to small villas and this place really met everything that we look for while we are in playa. Some of my family is heading down there next year, so we recommended this place.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsoaker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

As previous reviews have indicated, there are pros/cons to this condo/hotel. The rooms are nice & spacious, close access to the beach, quiet area but yet short walk to restaurants/shopping on 5th Ave. Several of the staff are very friendly but not all - could be more customer service focused.

Make sure you make an inventory of all the items in the kitchen, as they are often missing on check-in, and attempts will be made to charge you for items on your check out- you'll need to stand your ground and refuse to pay. The restaurant next door has a great breakfast and the staff there is very nice. The first day we were there was no hot water which previous reviews have mentioned - after that no problems. One of the other guests while we were there was complaining about problems with their toilet and seemed upset.

I don't know if we would return as there are other hotels/condos in Playa that are more customer service friendly and not so apt to want to take advantage of their guests. It has the potential to be great due to its location & easy access to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cinder55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

If going to Playa del Carmen, I would stay here over any of the overly-expensive all-inclusive resorts. Get a great room right near the beach and you can then enjoy other parts of the town/area without feeling guilty b/c you think you should stay at your resort the whole trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in December over Christmas. It was a similar experience to staying in a Villa with many positive and unfortunately negative aspects. I don't know that any of the negatives were really big enough to not come back (and it certainly didn't hamper our vacation) but they are worth noting. First the good:

Room: we were in PH 305, a 2 bdrm, 2 ba duplex with the private pool. This apt was spacious, clean and comfortable for an adult family of 5. The private pool we didn't use as the roof top infinity pool was so beautiful, we opted to use that. The kitchen was fully equipped except for a dishwasher. Free wireless in the room, huge plus. After a week I was stuck in Playa due to a blizzard in NYC so my family left and I stayed a few extra days and switched to room 107- ground floor 1 bdrm that was HUGE, actually bigger living area than the PH.

Food: Breakfast was included daily in the restaurant. Service was slow but this was because everything was made fresh to order. It was good food, lots of fresh juices.

Location: can't be beat. Steps to the beach and 5th Ave, everything we needed was walking distance.

Negatives: major hot water problem in the hotel. We complained the first day. By day 2 when I took a cold shower I was somewhat enraged. They apologized and said it was a boiler issue and they were working on it. By day 3 they shut off the water without warning and it wasn't on again until 6 pm (toilets were not working during this time). Zero water pressure throughout the stay. There were never enough towels in the room. When we asked for more they told us they had to charge us. Um, I don't think so. Some firm albeit polite words had numerous towels in our room 10 min later. Staff was friendly and accommodating so we couldn't fault them on anything, but management is definitely poor. There was no memo, nothing to let us know about the water situation. Once I switched to room 107, the phone was not working. They sent several people to look at it but could never fix it. Normally this wouldn’t be an issue but I had to contact the airline to book a new flight and had to keep going to a pay phone. Some people commented that the staff doesn’t speak English well- they don’t. But you know what? We are in THEIR country and they don't need to speak our language. Practice your Spanish.

Beach access: as mentioned, the beach was steps to the hotel. However, please note this hotel doesn't have an immediate area where one can sit with beach loungers/umbrellas. That being said, you have the option of a few beach bars. We had to take a stroll down the beach (turn left on beach and walk down about 5 min) to Canibal Royal- a restaurant/beach club where we could use the chairs etc without a cost. The place was amazing- good DJ and vibe, yummy food (best cerviche and fish tacos). Young/hip staff and everyone was so nice. On Sat it was similar to Nikki Beach- house DJ, def a vibe. Other days it was chill music or they played salsa/meringue, lots of locals. One day we ventured to Mamitas and wow, what a difference. The place was huge, crowded and lacking personal service. However if you sit near the area where they have the beds, it’s also a good crowd and the DJ was pretty great.

Overall, we had the feel of a villa with hotel amenities. Unlike staying in a villa where you are self sufficient, you had the room cleaned each day which was nice. On the flip side, there is nothing extra in the apt- cooler for beach, smaller beach chairs, umbrella etc. Also the kitchen didn't have anything if you plan to cook- no salt, pepper, napkins etc. You need to provide everything.

Tips: we used Balam Transportation for round trip airport transport and also when we did a day trip. After they picked us up at the airport, we asked to stop by a grocery store where we stocked up on food/water. We did Tulum and Akmal Beach which I would highly recommend. Our driver was professional, on time and wonderful to spend the day with.

Overall: this hotel is great if you don't encounter any problems during your trip and its well worth the value. I booked in August and got 30% off the rate so we had a deal. However, its not service oriented and while the staff is very friendly, they are somewhat clueless (we had to call 2x for them to bring a roll away bed and when they finally came, house keeping showed up with a pillow and a sheet, no bed.. Ha ha). The water issue was beyond annoying but what can you do? If I were to get another good rate, I would book again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RoxxyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
Aldea Thai Luxury Condohotel
#159 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#96 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#27 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblito Luxury Condohotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblito Luxury Condohotel

Property: Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Address: Av. 38 Norte S/N Col. Centro | On 38th St. And the Beach (North Downtown Playa), Playa del Carmen 77720, Mexico (Formerly Mistik Residence Club)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pueblito Luxury Condohotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the placid waters of the Mexican Caribbean, Pueblito Escondido Luxury Condohotel emerges in the midst of the vibrant atmosphere of Playa del Carmen as an exquisite luxury resort that, with a magical aura, enriches the cosmopolitan Quinta Avenida and its shops, boutiques, restaurants, bars as well as its magnificent nightlife. Pueblito Escondido Luxury Condohotel, Playa del Carmen offers comfortable lodging with spacious and modern suites of different sizes and excellent amenities that enhance the enjoyment of the white sand beaches, beside the property. With a sense of exclusivity, Pueblito Escondido Luxury Condohotel is the absolute place to feel at ease and enjoy an unforgettable vacation at this luxury condominium complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Pueblito Luxury Condohotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Pueblito Escondido Hotel
Hotel Pueblito Escondido
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing