We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No access to beach in front of hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No access to beach in front of hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The staff, especially Luis, were wonderful and attentive. The rooms are clean but NO frills. Our room didn't even have a chair. If you want to be in the heart of 5th street and hear loud music everywhere, sort of like Bourbon street in New Orleans then this is your place. The pool is merely a big hot tub. I thought it would be quiet and peaceful and unfortunately it was not. You can walk in between all the boats parked in front of the property but it is really dirty to get in the water. Unfortunately my husband and I (in our 50's) wanted a quiet getaway and we're sadly disappointed. Also, beware: there are NO deals as far as shopping. Sadly disappointed honeymooner.

Room Tip: 310 was a beautiful view (minus all the fishing boats
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thanks for your review of our hotel.

Its true that on many days there are fishing boats parked in this area of the beach. Normally on good days most of them go out diving or fishing for the days, and then its easier to swim, on days with rougher weather that is not always the case. I can understand your point, but on the other hand Playa is in a way a fishing town and it is part of the charm also.

Regarding noise, Playa is a party place, and this is noticed on many parts of town. We at Playa Palms have taken measures to soundproof all our doors and windows, so when they are closed little, or no, noise should be heard in the rooms.

Kind regards,
Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    261
    51
    21
    13
See reviews for
101
518
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed 9 nights because the hotel suited us location wise and we were not looking for one of those massive, out of the way all-inclusives. Thank you to all staff. Nothing was too much trouble. From the hotel we did a whale shark tour and joined Playa Scuba for reef and cenote scuba. Shopping heaven and even though nightclubs are just around the corner, our room was soundproof! If you need to day trip to Coba and Tulum to see temples then Freddy's your man and hotel staff will call him on your behalf. We were so impressed! Thanks everyone at PlayaPalms, we had an awesome holiday thanks to you! Great pool, pristine swimming at pier out front, food and drink service at beach umbrellas. Devine!

Jackie and Anne - Australia

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieTither
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Jackie and Anne,

Thanks for staying so long time with us. I am glad to hear you had such a good time both at ou hotel as well as in Playa del Carmen in general.

We definitely aim to profile ourselves as an alternative to all-inclusives, a place where there is a personal touch. I am glad you noticed this.

thanks again for choosing Playa Palms. we look forward to see you on another occasion.

sunny greetings
Helge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I really loved this small intimate hotel. We had an ocean view room on the third floor. It was charming and comfortable. You have a small kitchen so you can fill the fridge with your own food and drinks. The beach is right there and so is the town. I enjoyed being able to walk right into town where you are one block from 5th avenue where there are so many shops and restaurants and dive shops.
The staff is welcoming, gracious and helpful. We had the continental breakfast and supplemented it with the fruit plate each morning. The beach is not the most enticing for swimming as there are fishing boats right there, so we walked down the beach to a cleaner area to swim. But the location is perfect for diving and cenote cave exploring as well as night life and dancing.
Great place for young adults, as well as older adults who like to be on the go.

Room Tip: Third floor facing north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks for your positive review of our hotel. we are glad you enjoyed the different aspects of our services.

the continental breakfast, with optional fruit plate, on the terrace was aimed to give our guests a light start of the day, overlooking the sea. I am glad to hear you and many other people appreciate it.

The kitchenettes are also handy to prepare lighter foods and margaritas:-)

We hope to see you on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We really liked this little hotel. We stayed in an ocean view room on the second floor. The room was very clean and it was a nice size. Even though there wasn't a full on ocean view it was still nice. The staff members were very helpful and helped me arrange a surprise for my two friends for their birthdays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Teresa,

Thanks for your kind review of our hotel. I am glad you and your friends enjoyed staying with us and that the birthday surprises went well.

sunny greetings
helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Pros:
-Location is great, a very short walk to 5th Ave. and right on the beach
-Room was clean and had all the amenities we needed
-The balcony is great and the peek a boo view from the hammock is beautiful
-Easy check-in
-Love the kitchenette
-Very friendly staff
Cons:
-Bed was very hard and kind of small ( I know that is common in Mexico) but this was harder than usual
-This was our second stay and Prices seem to be creeping up
TIP* Treat yourself to a massage on the beach in front of the hotel there are a few massage stands and the prices were resonable and they were very professional

Room Tip: You cant really book a bad room here
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sandalGalVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Sandalgal,

Thanks for your positive review of our hotel. Glad to hear you enjoyed our different amenities and the service delivered by our staff.

regarding the beds we have quite recently installed a high standard hotel bed in our rooms. Normally our guests like these beds, but it is a personal taste, and therefore we do offer memory foam tops for those who want an extra soft bed. I am sorry if this was not communicated to you.

Kind regards

Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Beautiful pool, lovely spacious rooms w/ balcony and hammock. Took a dip in the lovely pool everyday. small kitchen was awesome. Breakfast was just the right size. The rooms are sound proof so you can sleep through anything going on at the club next door. Beautiful plants around the pool. Great staff, friendly, helpful! My friends wedding was here and it was so lovely. Can't say enough nice things about these guys. Worth every penny!

Room Tip: The rooms are priced for the view, but all rooms look out onto a lovely jungle like pool with two li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saraphe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very nice and cozy Hotel in a center of town. Rooms are spacious , well decotated with balcony. There is everything you need include kitchenette to make your own meal , table on a tarace and hammock of course. Breakfast served In a room . Service extremely nice and polite.
Swimming pool is only like a big jaccuzy or fountain but beach is right in front of Hotel. In general beach at this part of town is just ok, docked boats prevent people from taking a swim and occasionally thery is a bad smell. At night loud music is coming from neighboring nightclubS til 4:30 am so you can forget about sleep! Luckily windows are solid and makes your sleep comfortable.

Room Tip: Take a room closer to the beach and on a last floor so others do look in your plate :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guiguiboubou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#41 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#38 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condominiums Playa del Carmen Mexico
Acanto Boutique Hotel and Condom...
#14 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
La Pasion Hotel Boutique
#9 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 916 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#27 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Address: 1st Avenue Bis | Between 12th and 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Palms Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, lush tropical gardens and sweeping Caribbean views frame the charming palapa-roofed architecture of Playa Palms Boutique Beach Hotel. We welcome you to enjoy Playa del Carmen as it is meant to be experienced - where gracious service, superb amenities and exhilarating activities deliver just the Mexico you came to see. As the "alternative to all-inclusives," Playa Palms offers a relaxed and intimate departure from the larger resorts on the Riviera Maya. Stay walking distance from the vibrant shops, restaurants, and bars of 5th Avenue, known locally as "La Quinta." When relaxing at the hotel, guests have their choice of amenities and adventures. Whether you want to indulge in the delicious local cuisine, partake in a wide range of water sports, or lounge in a hammock on your private terrace while basking inexquisite ocean views, Playa Palms is an elegant oasis for relaxation in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Come to Playa Palms and Wake Up Inside Your Dream! Enjoy a complimentary Continental breakfast on your private balcony overlooking the Caribbean when you book your reservations directly through the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing