We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

I spent almost two weeks at this hotel - it was a great stay and I would return to Playa Palms. Yes, there are clubs around the hotel with loud music but once you are in your room and close the balcony doors, you can hear almost nothing. I was aware of it before I booked so it did not bother me at all.
It is close to 5th Avenue; beach was good yes, there are boats but I liked it this way); you can turn left or right and walk for miles on nice beaches if you wish. Location is perfect for shopping and dining etc. It is a cute, little hotel, staff are very friendly - we had a blocked toilet at midnight; we blocked out safe twice, AC did not work on one day - it was all taken care of immediately.
Carlos is great with booking trips, taxis etc. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we had 3rd floor, ocean view room; but I would not mind garden room if you want to have easier acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara_2010_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Barbara,

Thanks for staying such a long time with us at Playa Palms. I am glad to hear you enjoyed it, the beach, location, and the hotel itself.

We hope to see you on another occasion here at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Helge Sturesson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    273
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
107
551
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I was struggling with what to write in this review. Firstly the positives: our room was amazing. It was a good size, plenty of character, lots of shelving and tables to hold our stuff. The shower was great pressure and temperature and the bathroom spacious. The view from our balcony (we were in the beachfront studio ion the first floor) was absolutely brilliant.

The staff were friendly and there was a security guard positioned by the beach at night, giving a sense of safety.

The only think that let the hotel down was the beach bar next door which had music playing at a totally unacceptable level all afternoon (for at least 3 days over easter) and until 6 in the morning.

We complained to the reception but they said that they have asked them to turn it down previously and they just don't listen.

We like to go out and party and I had seen the noise warnings on previous reviews and not been too concerned. However, even with ear plugs in, the noise was just too much for us and started to really irritate by the end of the holiday.

I don't know if it was ramped up for the Easter crowd but it would definitely put me off staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Playa Palms was a wonderful hotel! It is perfectly located -- within easy walking distance of Quinta Avenida and several excellent restaurants off the main shopping street. It was also right on the beach. We had but to walk out our door, past the charming pool, and there was that sugary Caribbean sand dotted with comfy loungers. We didn't even have to get up to get a drink. Gabriele kept them coming, if we so desired.

A couple of mornings, we got up, took a little walk down the beach and watched the sunrise. Divine!

Our room was perfect -- we could have lived there indefinitely! "Leticia" kept it impeccably clean the five days we were there. Carlos, the manager, was very helpful and always ready with a smile and friendly greeting. Marco gave us several terrific recommendations for places to eat where the locals go.

The wifi worked perfectly. We relaxed on our balcony, swinging in the hammock and enjoying the sunshine. And yes, there are a couple of nearby clubs that are loud at night, but we closed the slider door, turned on the overhead fan, and didn't hear a thing.

We would DEFINITELY go back to Playa Palms Beach Hotel!

Room Tip: Get a second or third floor room. That way, your balcony isn't right alongside where people walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a relaxing vacation at Playa Palms. The location is perfect near the nightlife and restaurants of 5th Avenue. The staff was great from check in to our room service breakfast to beach lunch and drink service. I think it is a little pricey for what you get, but I would go back.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room as you get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

The property at Playa Palms was in a great location. Close walk to so many restaurants and shopping and of course, the best attraction is the beach which Playa Palms is attached to. We made our reservations through Hotels.com (because they happened to be the sponsors of the website I was on while searching for accommodations). After reading several TripAdvisor reviews I determined that we wanted a third floor room. While on the phone, the reservation specialist actually called Playa Palms for a confirmation of a third floor room as we were prepared to continue our search if there were no rooms available. We were guaranteed a third floor room and upon arrival we were given a different room. It was small and inconvenient but we were told we would move rooms the next afternoon at 1:00. After three visits to the office we were moved at 4:00. Basically we spent day #2 with our luggage packed and by the door waiting to transfer rooms. This was not the end of the world, just annoying since I was diligent in research and planning prior to leaving home to avoid this exact problem. Our new room was wonderful. Full size frig, cook top and sink in the small kitchen. Spacious and nice.

Room Tip: Third floor or ocean front are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a perfection! Comfortable, clean with extremely helpful staff and great location with just 3 minutes walk from the centre! The best is a balcony where you can enjoy breakfast and amazing views and then walk barefoot from your room straight to the beach:) as the hotel is not that big it has a nice homey feeling quiet and peaceful .. Couldn't imagine better place to stay in playa del carmen!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evagrafova86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights with my gf. We have been to Playa before, but we now wanted to stay closer to the beach.

Every room has a porch with a hammock, and a complimentary continential breakfast is delivered to your porch at the time you choose. You can also order fruit, cottage cheese, granola/yoghurt and extra items at extra cost.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and accommodating manager, and we were always met with a smile by the staff.

There are a lot of boats docked at the beach outside, but you could just walk 1 min to find a boat free area.

Good selection in mini bar!

Rooms are nice with a kitchen area and a reasonable sized bathroom.

If I have to complain; the rooms was very very moist (our clothes was constantly wet, the bed too hard and we missed our breakfast one morning. But I would def stay again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Horabjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Address: 1st Avenue Bis | Between 12th and 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Palms Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, lush tropical gardens and sweeping Caribbean views frame the charming palapa-roofed architecture of Playa Palms Boutique Beach Hotel. We welcome you to enjoy Playa del Carmen as it is meant to be experienced - where gracious service, superb amenities and exhilarating activities deliver just the Mexico you came to see. As the "alternative to all-inclusives," Playa Palms offers a relaxed and intimate departure from the larger resorts on the Riviera Maya. Stay walking distance from the vibrant shops, restaurants, and bars of 5th Avenue, known locally as "La Quinta." When relaxing at the hotel, guests have their choice of amenities and adventures. Whether you want to indulge in the delicious local cuisine, partake in a wide range of water sports, or lounge in a hammock on your private terrace while basking inexquisite ocean views, Playa Palms is an elegant oasis for relaxation in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Come to Playa Palms and Wake Up Inside Your Dream! Enjoy a complimentary Continental breakfast on your private balcony overlooking the Caribbean when you book your reservations directly through the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Playa Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing