We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had a relaxing vacation at Playa Palms. The location is perfect near the nightlife and restaurants of 5th Avenue. The staff was great from check in to our room service breakfast to beach lunch and drink service. I think it is a little pricey for what you get, but I would go back.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room as you get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    273
    56
    23
    14
See reviews for
107
551
34
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

The property at Playa Palms was in a great location. Close walk to so many restaurants and shopping and of course, the best attraction is the beach which Playa Palms is attached to. We made our reservations through Hotels.com (because they happened to be the sponsors of the website I was on while searching for accommodations). After reading several TripAdvisor reviews I determined that we wanted a third floor room. While on the phone, the reservation specialist actually called Playa Palms for a confirmation of a third floor room as we were prepared to continue our search if there were no rooms available. We were guaranteed a third floor room and upon arrival we were given a different room. It was small and inconvenient but we were told we would move rooms the next afternoon at 1:00. After three visits to the office we were moved at 4:00. Basically we spent day #2 with our luggage packed and by the door waiting to transfer rooms. This was not the end of the world, just annoying since I was diligent in research and planning prior to leaving home to avoid this exact problem. Our new room was wonderful. Full size frig, cook top and sink in the small kitchen. Spacious and nice.

Room Tip: Third floor or ocean front are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a perfection! Comfortable, clean with extremely helpful staff and great location with just 3 minutes walk from the centre! The best is a balcony where you can enjoy breakfast and amazing views and then walk barefoot from your room straight to the beach:) as the hotel is not that big it has a nice homey feeling quiet and peaceful .. Couldn't imagine better place to stay in playa del carmen!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evagrafova86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights with my gf. We have been to Playa before, but we now wanted to stay closer to the beach.

Every room has a porch with a hammock, and a complimentary continential breakfast is delivered to your porch at the time you choose. You can also order fruit, cottage cheese, granola/yoghurt and extra items at extra cost.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and accommodating manager, and we were always met with a smile by the staff.

There are a lot of boats docked at the beach outside, but you could just walk 1 min to find a boat free area.

Good selection in mini bar!

Rooms are nice with a kitchen area and a reasonable sized bathroom.

If I have to complain; the rooms was very very moist (our clothes was constantly wet, the bed too hard and we missed our breakfast one morning. But I would def stay again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Horabjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We love Playa Palms Beach Hotel! My husband and I decided to get married in Playa del Carmen but we wanted to do it off-resort. We chose Playa Palms based on a recommendation from our wedding planner (Maria Tripaldi of Weddingsinplaya.com - also amazing!) and we were not disappointed. Half of our guests were staying at the hotel (about 7 rooms) and the rest were in condos. We worked with Carmen through the planning process and she made us feel very comfortable and we felt we could trust her. Our guests had rooms of all kinds, beach front, ocean view, 1 bedroom suite, and garden view and everyone was happy with their rooms. We stayed 9 nights at the hotel. As the bride and groom, the hotel upgraded us to a beach front room for the first half of our stay which was absolutely unbelievable. We were on the first floor with a private balcony - where we enjoyed our continental breakfast everyday. You would wake up in the morning and open the curtains to beautiful sun, sand and ocean. What more could you ask for? The second room we had was a 1 bedroom suite. Huge room with tons of space for entertaining guests. The girls actually got ready for the wedding in one of these rooms and it was a perfect size and set up. The rooms were equipped with a kitchenette or full kitchen and this helped with a week-long stay so you could buy some of your own food and snacks for lunches. The hotel is so close to 5th avenue and the food is amazing in Playa so you really don't need an all-inclusive - we ate dinner out every night (for reasonable prices).

The hotel is extremely close to 12th avenue (where all the bars are located) and as others have mentioned it can be a little noisy. This was not an issue for the 'partyer' guests we had as they could just walk a little bit and join the exciting night life. However, the closer to the beach you stay, the quieter it becomes. We personally experienced this since we switched rooms halfway through our trip.

But best of all is the amazing staff that work at the hotel. We felt like we were treated like kings and queens all week. Anything you needed, they would be there to help! They truly made our wedding week the best experience we could have asked for.

Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach are quieter from the noise of the nearby bars and plus you get an awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arich088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Family honeymoon. Celebration of our nuptials, had 12 of my family join us (youngest 24, oldest 80). Staff very friendly, accommodations great! We stayed in seven rooms total for the group, garden view, ocean view, ocean suite, and one bedroom suites. My husband and I started in the Ocean Suite room, the view was incredible and the amenities great. Water in every room, refrigerators, most had hot plates or stoves. Can't say enough. We will definitely be back...looking to book again immediately. Thank you everyone for an amazing time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank GnocchiLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Wow! A tastefully made place on a brilliant location right on the beach. Stayed here for 2 nights as I was passing through and simply loved it. The staff was always very helpful, and overall a great experience. Location is great as it is close to the hang out areas, bars, pubs, restaurants and then ofcourse there is the beach. Small pool to chill out in the evening as well.

Every bit worth the money we paid

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deveshm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#11 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#14 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Address: 1st Avenue Bis | Between 12th and 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 196 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Palms Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, lush tropical gardens and sweeping Caribbean views frame the charming palapa-roofed architecture of Playa Palms Boutique Beach Hotel. We welcome you to enjoy Playa del Carmen as it is meant to be experienced - where gracious service, superb amenities and exhilarating activities deliver just the Mexico you came to see. As the "alternative to all-inclusives," Playa Palms offers a relaxed and intimate departure from the larger resorts on the Riviera Maya. Stay walking distance from the vibrant shops, restaurants, and bars of 5th Avenue, known locally as "La Quinta." When relaxing at the hotel, guests have their choice of amenities and adventures. Whether you want to indulge in the delicious local cuisine, partake in a wide range of water sports, or lounge in a hammock on your private terrace while basking inexquisite ocean views, Playa Palms is an elegant oasis for relaxation in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Come to Playa Palms and Wake Up Inside Your Dream! Enjoy a complimentary Continental breakfast on your private balcony overlooking the Caribbean when you book your reservations directly through the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter and HRS so you can book your Playa Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing