We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Wonderful place to stay when visiting Playa del Carmen. Rooms were roomy and comfortable. The hotel is right on the beach and centrally located to everything. Walking distance to good restaurants and shopping. The staff was friendly Victor was very helpful during our stay. Will definitely stay here again when visiting Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    275
    57
    23
    15
See reviews for
108
558
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel goes beyond 5 stars! A beautiful setting right in the heart of Playa del Carmen, right around the corner from great restaurants, bars and shopping.

The two men at the front desk, and the rest of the staff all went above and beyond to make our stay amazing! When we had luggage troubles due to our airline they were able to help straight away and get our luggage to us - something the airline couldn't do in 5 days!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Playa Palms was recommended to me by a Mexican friend of mine and it didn't disappoint. Located directly on the beach, it has a great selection of beach beds and chairs. You are able to get service from the hotel next door to your beach chairs for drinks and food. We had a ocean view room, I recommend this. It was a nice touch to have a hancock on the balcony of our room.
Only negative was it is located close to a couple of nightclubs, so can be a bit noisy when outside. However when we close the sliding door we could not hear a thing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrunchieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our first time at a non-all-inclusive hotel in Playa and we were not disappointed. The front reception desk personnel are amazingly accommodating, hopefully this hotels management knows the quality of their staff! The rooms are clean, the views are fantastic. Some large palm trees do block your view slightly but it adds to the beach theme. The patios are large and the hammocks are nice. Breakfast is light but always delivered on time. The location is excellent, close to everything you want (5 bucks cab ride from supermarket if you have a lot of groceries). Restaurant selection is great. We booked our fishing trip direct with the hotel and Carlos really got us a great boat and crew. We caught a lot of fish and they cooked it at the restaurant next to the hotel, what a great experience. Now the small things we noticed. Beds: not the most comfortable but not a deal breaker. Ice: no ice at this hotel, you have to pay for it but the hotel staff will bring it right to you. Beach: you have to navigate through the multiple boats in front of the hotel. Again not a big deal, just little things to know. If you are looking for a nice break from the huge all-inclusive hotels and came to Playa del Carmen to try new restaurants and bars, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place is right on the beach, although it is certainly not the best section of beach in Playa del Carmen. The rooms are reasonably well appointed if not a little dated. The bed was comfortable and bathroom had adequate water pressure and heat. The included breakfast was light on but adding an additional fruit plate will get your appetite over the line. The staff were helpful but there aren't many of them, which is nice in many ways because it adds to the quiet nature of the place. Disappointingly not much attention has been paid to certain upkeep issues (a splash of paint for example in some spots) and the pool wasn''t well attended to and needed a clean. Several birds helped themselves to yet to be eaten breakfasts on the balconoes surrounding us so be aware - if your brekky comes, save it from the birds! It's a laid back place close to where you want to be but has no frills.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wezy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queretaro City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hi I am Alejandro from México, I stayed this past Thursday to Monday and definitely would return to this same hotel, ask for room 101 or 121 this rooms are 3 feet from the beach just outside your doorstep, location+price are unbeatable and 2 blocks from la Quinta Avenida

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleMCote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

After 2 weeks staying different hotels in mexico with my wife, playa palms hotel was the best! Actually its my third time in mexico and I never been in such a great location hotel with kind, professional and amazing staff, they gave us such a great service and great price too.
If you want to go dance its just one minute walk to the heart of night clubs area or if you choose stay in the hotel you can enjoy the lights on the swimming pool with the sound of the ocean with the palms trees wind blowing whisper leafs...
Cozzy clean beautiful and warm hotel...this is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,534 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#10 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Address: 1st Avenue Bis | Between 12th and 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 199 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Palms Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, lush tropical gardens and sweeping Caribbean views frame the charming palapa-roofed architecture of Playa Palms Boutique Beach Hotel. We welcome you to enjoy Playa del Carmen as it is meant to be experienced - where gracious service, superb amenities and exhilarating activities deliver just the Mexico you came to see. As the "alternative to all-inclusives," Playa Palms offers a relaxed and intimate departure from the larger resorts on the Riviera Maya. Stay walking distance from the vibrant shops, restaurants, and bars of 5th Avenue, known locally as "La Quinta." When relaxing at the hotel, guests have their choice of amenities and adventures. Whether you want to indulge in the delicious local cuisine, partake in a wide range of water sports, or lounge in a hammock on your private terrace while basking inexquisite ocean views, Playa Palms is an elegant oasis for relaxation in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Come to Playa Palms and Wake Up Inside Your Dream! Enjoy a complimentary Continental breakfast on your private balcony overlooking the Caribbean when you book your reservations directly through the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Playa Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing