We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cozy and convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cozy and convenient hotel”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed there for around 10 days. It has a great location, it is located on the beachside, you can get loungers without additional cost as well as towels (in some places this is extra). The sea is great and warm, sometime there are some boats anchored nearby, but they are usually a problem. The room was very comfortable, with kitchenette, fridge and microwave. Luis, the Hotel manager, is very nice and friendly. Just something to take into account, I think its twice a year an electronic festival(BPM) takes place very close to the hotel and the music may bother you, just check when this happens. Other than that, is a great place to stay and the prices are reasonable taking into account is next to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrismx07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    282
    58
    23
    14
See reviews for
114
570
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed for 8 days in an oceanview room. You can see a small section of the ocean from the balcony. The hotel is extremely clean, with filtered water in the room that's replaced when empty which was very nice and the breakfast served on the balcony was great. The location is perfect to access the beach and downtown area. It's on a beautiful stretch of beach and there are many beach restaurants and bars within walking distance on the beach.

If you like to swim in the ocean - please be aware of the numerous boats anchored at the beach in front of the hotel. Therefore, you have to walk a way down the beach to access an area in which you can swim. If you do swim in the ocean in front of the hotel, it's very shallow and you have to go out 50 to 100 feet in order to be in deep enough water to swim and there's a lot of seaweed.

The staff are incredibly nice and helpful and truly want the guests to enjoy their stay.

TIP - the larger rooms are far better even for 2 people, the small room is very small and not the one pictured on this website. The bed was very small, did not appear to be a queen size, more like a full size, so a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryL1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have just returned from my first trip to Playa del Carmen. I am so thankful that I listened to the reviews and stayed at Playa Palms. It is centrally located right in the middle of paradise. You could not be any closer to the ocean - your room is literally a few steps away. My stay at Playa Palms was like staying in a little bit of heaven. I loved lying in my hammock at night, looking up at the stars, and listening to the waves.

From the very first moment I arrived at Playa Palms, Victor and Carlos gave me a very warm greeting and made me feel at home. Everyone at Playa Palms was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. I loved the towel creations that Basilia would leave in my room.

I was informed that the hotel recently had 3-paned windows installed to eliminate any noises that may arise from the nearby nightclubs. The windows were a great investment. I was never disturbed by any noises in my room. My room was like a little sanctuary. It was beautifully decorated, comfortable, and serene.

Every morning breakfast was delivered on my balcony. It was quite lovely to be able to relax and eat my meal while overlooking the beautiful playa.

I can hardly wait to plan my next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights and it lived up to the expectations the photos had given us. Great position in Playa, right in the heart, yet feel far away enough from the clubs. Yes, there were boats out the front, but we just walked 50m to the right to a nicer spot to swim. Great rooms, amazing service and friendliness from all staff, would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AidenMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is really small but comfortable, it has everything you need. I loved it and the staff are really nice and they help you out with all you can need.
It is also really close to all the night life's most popular places. The only thing is we were 3 guests and there was only 1 bed in the room,so I don't really recommend it to more than 2 persons per room.
And my favorite thing about it was the breakfast in your personal balcony. It's just lovely.
I think it's an excellent place for couples

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Perfect hotel if youre looking to experience all playa has to offer... white sand / crystal clear beach front property, pool, and just steps from beach bars and downtown playa. We went out along 5th Ave every night and the walk was very busy with tourists and well lit.. The hotel doesnt have a restaurant but the kitchenette was perfect and there are lots of options as far as restaurants near by. Tons of activities and things to do in the area. The balcony hammock was a nice touch after a busy yet relaxing day. Overall, excellent value and would love to go back :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globalirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Loved staying here for one night before we headed out to the airport. Will definitely stay longer next time. Great, helpful staff, well-decorated rooms with great windows that block all of the noise from the very hip, very happening 5th Avenue a couple blocks away.

Delightful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - first floor made it easy to go to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,339 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,397 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,679 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#20 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Address: 1st Avenue Bis | Between 12th and 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Palms Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, lush tropical gardens and sweeping Caribbean views frame the charming palapa-roofed architecture of Playa Palms Boutique Beach Hotel. We welcome you to enjoy Playa del Carmen as it is meant to be experienced - where gracious service, superb amenities and exhilarating activities deliver just the Mexico you came to see. As the "alternative to all-inclusives," Playa Palms offers a relaxed and intimate departure from the larger resorts on the Riviera Maya. Stay walking distance from the vibrant shops, restaurants, and bars of 5th Avenue, known locally as "La Quinta." When relaxing at the hotel, guests have their choice of amenities and adventures. Whether you want to indulge in the delicious local cuisine, partake in a wide range of water sports, or lounge in a hammock on your private terrace while basking inexquisite ocean views, Playa Palms is an elegant oasis for relaxation in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Come to Playa Palms and Wake Up Inside Your Dream! Enjoy a complimentary Continental breakfast on your private balcony overlooking the Caribbean when you book your reservations directly through the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Playa Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing