We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$227
$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$331
$217
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $328/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$438
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$753
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 06/03
Book now, pay at stay
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $563/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,037)
Filter reviews
1,037 results
Traveler rating
608
318
66
26
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
608
318
66
26
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing boatsocean view studiocontinental breakfastboutique hotelsmall hotelthe location is perfectrestaurants and shopsevery morningocean frontbring earplugslight sleeperthird floorcoffee makerloved this hoteltwo blockswe loved our staysmall pool
Filter
Updating list...
456 - 461 of 1,037 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This boutique condo was the way to go if you don't want to go the all inclusive route. The staff were helpful and courteous and they kept the rooms very clean. We even were able to move to a room right on the beach (paid for the upgrade but it was worth it) and they moved all of our stuff. It's within walking distance of everything and their beach was well maintained. Nightclubs around the corner were loud but you couldn't even hear it. I would absolutely recommend this place. Thank you, Playa Palms!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Alli,

Thank you so much, for staying with us and for writing this review of our hotel.

We have 6 oceanfront rooms, and although all our rooms are decoraded in the same way, it is of course different to be first in the row in front of the sea.

Kind regards,
Helge Sturesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed 12 days at the Playa and had a wonderful time!! here are just a few things I thought I would share. We would out of bed around 8:00 and have our coffee waiting for us at our patio table but you do need to fill out the breakfast slip the first day to get in the system and each day from there on out. The coffee was very good and is included with your room, you also recieved toast, croisssants, butter and jam and for 50 peso's you could a nice fruit plate. The kitchen had everything you will need to cook a full meal as far as tools go nothing else.. that's up to you to bring or buy. As all hotel beds.. yes it was firm but we had a fold out sofa in our room (202) and we discovered that foam mattress was the same size as the bed so it went on the top of the bed on day 2.
The beach was fine by us and there was never a problem with getting a chair and you will quickly discover that they pack chairs and beds in like cattle at a large pecentage of the nearby resorts, keep this in mind if you feel like complaining about the boats, seaweed or small beach.. we found the boats to be charming and the seaweed did come...it is a ocean so you have to expect it, the cleaning crews were always cleaning the beach everywhere. We would take a long walk each morning and we liked going north or if you where facing the ocean it would be left, after the second point the buildings stop and is very quite and hardly any people...pack a picnic in your backpack and take advantage of this beautiful gift away from the hustle. The south walk was nice and the beach was one of the best but it is all resorts..forever.
We dined on 5th a couple times and it was good and also pricy, we found a couple hidden gems off the main drag and this is why we go.. For the best taco's you need to go to Don Sirlion, just ask someone where CoCo Bongo is and it's right acrossed the street..20 bucks will fill you with beer and taco's and that's for 2 people! Next would be on the corner of 5th Ave and 38th.. don't worry you will figure the town real fast. The name excapes me (Las Parillas) ??but you will see 6 bars stools in front of a 10 foot long open bar, best steak, buger, lemon chicken, saugage we have ever had and it's cooked over a wood fire in front of you..again 15-25 bucks..get a Dos
Equis next door at the corner party store as the owners are cool with it. Next would be Al Vollo a charming 6 table mom and pop Italian joint with a wonderful menu..5th Ave and 34 maybe 3 blocks down on 34th...we had both had a caprese salad, shrimp pesto lasagna, glass of white wine and a coconut brownie icecream gift from heaven..31.00 bucks!! If you want to go out for a wonder breakfast check out Chez Celine french bakery on 5th around 32 street.. again awesome and under 25.00 You can find live music on 5th everynight but theres are only a handful of bands so you may see them twice. Totally enjoyed our stay and will go back next year!

Room Tip: 202 great view second floor second from beach
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craftyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Crafty,

Good to hear you enjoyed our hotel and your stay in Playa del Carmen.

Regarding the beach, I am of course biassed, but when I walk along the beach in Playa, I am surprised how crammed the other hotel beaches are. this is a benefit staying with Playa Palms because, the beach is exclusive to our own guests, so you will always have plenty of space and easy access to beach chairs.

I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our new service, the complimentary breakfasts served on the terrace.

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review.

Sunny greetings,
Helge Sturesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is the second consecutive year we stayed at Playa Palms and we are already looking forward to coming back next year. The location is excellent right on beach and a 2 block walk to shopping and resturants. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and provided some great tips on visiting cenotes and Akumal.

Continental Breakfast was a welcome new feature this year. The fresh fruit and breads made a nice start to each day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaPalms, General Manager at Playa Palms Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Mike,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that you want to come back again.

we look forward to see you again.

Kind regards,

helge Sturesson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Playa Palms is a 39-room botique condo/hotel directly on the beach in the epicenter of the Playa experience. It fronts on a small, quiet street and backs onto the beach. The legendary 5th Avenue is 2 short blocks inland, from which you can walk right (north) or left (south) and find all the shopping, dining, and partying that you could possibly want. Even a supermarket is only a short walk away, if you plan on doing any cooking in your room. Depending on how much you buy, you may need a taxi back to the hotel.

The hotel consists of 2 wings (north wing & south wing) of a U-shaped building with the open end of the U facing the beach. There is a tiny narrow pool running the length of the ground level between the wings, but I never saw anyone in it. There are 3 floors, each of which has either 6 or 7 rooms in each wing, running from the street end to the beach end. All have balconies or patios. See my comments regarding privacy in the room tips section of this review. If you plan on eating breakfast or lunch on your patio/balcony, you may want to take into account the sun vs. shade issue. For example, the entire north wing of the 3rd floor, except room 306 because it's on the street end, is in direct sunlight most of the day. The overhead palapas do nothing to obstruct it. The entire south wing of the 2nd and 3rd floors has afternoon shade.

Inasmuch as this is a condo/hotel, many of the rooms are used as investment properties by absentee owners. Therefore, there is a degree of variation in terms of the furnishings and other features. Generally speaking, the rooms are quite nice, and certainly satisfactory for couples. Our room (306 - one of the 4 one-bedroom rooms) had a 2-burner stove-top and other standard kitchen features, which was all we needed to prepare breakfast and lunch in the room. There is also a large, free-standing filtered water jug, which is replaced as needed. It's non-refrigerated, so if you want to use it, you'll need an empty bottle to transfer water from the jug to the refrigerator to cool it. The queen bed was great, there was plenty of closet and other storage space, and the bathroom and shower were adequate. There was a flat-screen TV in the living room, although no DVD player, and Playa Palms does not provide a telephone in the room. The hotel recently replaced all the sliding glass doors with soundproof glass, which explains why the more recent reviews no longer complain about the noise from the nearby night clubs. We never heard a sound when the doors were closed.

As to the beach/sea experience, I agree with so many other reviewers who were less than pleased with how small the beach area is, both width and depth, as well as the inconvenience of wading between moored fishing boats to reach open water, and the seaweed that covers the shoreline. Also, depending on your attitude about swimming, you may or may not appreciate that you can wade out close to a quarter mile before the water is above your waist. The beach area is right next door to the Indigo Beach Club, and you can easily get servers from there to bring you any food or drink that you want to pay for. One day, in search of a better beach environment, we walked north on 1st Avenue to the area of Mamitas Beach (meaning from 12th Street to about 28th Street, which is 8 blocks - really!). The beach there is definitely much better, with no boats and no seaweed. It's overseen by 2 beach clubs (Kool Beach Club and Mamitas Beach Club), both of which charge for lounges and umbrellas. It was also extremely crowded. There is no charge for the use of the beach, so if you're OK with only a towel that you bring, you can walk 20-30 minutes and have what you might consider to be a better beach experience for free.

If the beach is the biggest drawback to Playa Palms, then the biggest benefit is the service and staff. They are completely helpful and friendly. We made few requests, but every one was handled immediately. A special shout-out to Luis Rivera, the front-desk manager who willingly and graciously answered all my questions.

Taking everything into account, what keeps this from being a 5-star review are the beach situation, and the lack of privacy on the balconies/patios. Having said that, would I come back? Probably yes!

Room Tip: There are 39 rooms, 35 studios and 4 one-bedrooms. The 4 one-bedrooms are the farthest away from the beach, meaning on the street end, 2 on the 2nd floor and 2 on the 3rd floor. All rooms have balconies or patios, none of which are completely private as there are no walls or solid partitions between balconies or patios. The most privacy would be the rooms at either end (beach end or street end) as there is another room/balcony/patio only on one side of you. All rooms have at least a glimpse of the beach & sea from your balcony/patio, and the closer to the beach you are, the better the view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeriousTravelPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Playa del Palms for 6 nights. I found it on the Internet and was not disappointed. We stayed in room 201, a balcony overlooking the beach. For us the oceanfront room was worth the extra price. Loved waking up to the waves and breakfast out on the balcony. The staff was terrific and very helpful. Beach lounge chairs and umbrella just steps away, and waiters from the El Taz, next door, would come by to take drink & food orders. There was plenty of other food & drink options along the long stretch of beach. The room was terrific. Used the fridge for dinner leftovers and wine, beer, soda purchased in town. 5th ave is just up the hill with plenty of shopping and restaurants.
On the down side, the beach in front of the hotel is lined with fishing boats, and while we stayed a lot of seaweed washed onshore. By the end of our stay the seaweed was gone. We never noticed the noise from the beach bars until Thursday night when things got loud for the next three days. Bring earplugs if you want the windows open.
As a wheelchair user who can walk, here are some accessibility points. There are steps leading up to the hotel but there was always a staff member to help haul the chair to the top. We stayed on the second level, only accessible by a winding set of stairs. It was a bit of a challenge but it was worth the view. There are plenty of first floor rooms. There is a steep hill to get up to 5th ave, and I needed a push. Once on top it was easy to roll down the cobblestone streets but bumpy. Plenty of accessible restaurant choices.
If you don't like the inclusive, mega resort experience, Playa del Palms is a great choice. I'd come back again & again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank John328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews