We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great respite from the crowds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great respite from the crowds”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

After a few days in Cancun, Cozumel and now PDC we needed quiet. PDC is not the place to go for quiet but this hotel got us really close. Even though the hotel is next door to some of the largest night clubs in the area, once the doors to the room are closed you can't hear a thing. The soundproofing really is amazing.

The room was confirmable, clean and well air conditioned and we had a private deck that looked out to the pool area and almost the beach - it was meant to be an ocean view room but you had to step onto the deck to view the ocean.The pool area is little relaxing oasis that looks down onto the beach.

On the down side -
The quiet was only broken by other customers playing obnoxious music from their balconies. Also there was a bad odor around the pool area - somewhat sulphuric. I'm not sure if it was natural sulphur or sewage. Without this the hotel would have got 5 stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_NYC_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    279
    57
    23
    14
See reviews for
110
564
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If your plan is just staying in the city, this is an excellent option. The hotel is just in the heart of Playa del Carmen. The staff was very pleased, the maid gave me some tips about where to buy delicious and reasonable priced food outside of the 5th avenue and the recommendation was great =)

Weakness: the hotel is next of all the clubs and there is not parking place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed one week at Playa Palms and were quite happy with our choice. Welcome at the reception was very friendly, the entire staff was very helpful and nice. We booked a oceanfront room which was quite nice and lovingly done up, but the ocean view was not as great as expected. Even though they invested in sound proof windows, in our room we unfortunately were bothered by the loud music of the next door disco called "Coco Maya" and had to sleep with earplugs every night.

What is very unique and special in this hotel is that the room maids are folding different figures of towels everyday (not the everywhere-known swans...). As Playa Palms does not have a own restaurant, you have to have breakfast at the El Taj Hotel next door - a nice and relaxing place in the morning, although the included breakfast is not very spectacular (only croissant, orange juice and coffee). The hotel is very centrally located, so that it only takes a few minutes walking to Quinta Avenida. Overall, we had a pleasant stay at Playa Palms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2012

a beautiful little hotel, right on the beach in playa del carmen.
the rooms are nice, all of them with balconies and a kitchen. the hoetl staff is nice and helpful.


My husband and i spent 5 days in the hotel and had a blast. the hotel is very close to many clubs, but all the rooms are sound proof so you dont feel it.

the beach is beautiful, but a bit smelly beacuse of some fishing boats.
if you are into diving/snorkeling and traveling, go yo the guy next to the el taj beach- he has great prices (better than the hotel's concierge), we went scuba diving and on a.t.v. trip and it was great.

Room Tip: ask for room 311/310
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Everyone was very nice at Playa Palms. We really enjoyed our stay. Great room and beautiful view of the ocean.

Room Tip: I would not reccomend a bottom floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We stayed at Playa Palms for 5 nights in June for part of our honeymoon. If this is your first time in Playa and you are driving, the hotel can be difficult to access thanks to the blocked off streets, especially after 5:00 pm.

When we arrived at the hotel, I was pleased upon checking in. The front desk staff was very welcoming and thoroughly explained the features of the hotel when we arrived.

When we were shown to our room, I started to be disappointed. We received probably the worst room at the hotel, the first one on the left. This room seems to be the only one in the place without a sliding glass door for entrance. Instead, it has a wooden door, which would be fine, except the door has a large gap at the bottom and allowed all of the sounds from the adjacent lobby to enter our room at all hours.

We were also the farthest from the pool on the first floor. Booking the ground floor, I knew we wouldn't get the best room, but I was hoping (especially since I mentioned when booking that it was our honeymoon) that we would at least get a room closer to the pool area. The hotel was advertising vacancies all week, and was nowhere near full, so I'm not sure why we were given that room. We did not ask to switch rooms, so it is possible that we could have been accommodated with that request, but I'm not sure. The room also smelled of mildew. The bed was comfortable, and we just decided to not make a fuss about the room since we would be staying somewhere nicer later in our trip.

The beach area isn't great thanks to the fishing boats parked in front of the hotel, but I knew that before booking thanks to trip advisor. And this part of our honeymoon wasn't for the beach activities, but to be able to travel easily to all of the activities nearby and for access to 5th avenue.

The biggest disappointment with the hotel was that there were items stolen from our minibar one day. We had purchased some supplies (snack, beer, cokes, iced tea, etc) from the grocery store and had left them in our minibar. When we returned one afternoon, I noticed that some of our sodas were missing. I approached the man at the front desk, thinking it had been a misunderstanding since the hotel stocks the fridge with sodas for sale as well.

After about 5 minutes, and bringing another employee into our room to confer, the second employee leaves and returns not 30 seconds later with our 4 sodas, a can of iced tea, and a bottle of expensive tequila that I hadn't even noticed was missing as we had stored it in the freezer portion. I was happy to get my items back, but we were not given ANY sort of apology or "explanation" for our stolen stuff. They items were returned and they left, no "sorry about that," nothing. (New flat screen TVs were installed the day our stuff was stolen, so I suspect the staff member installing the TVs, and not the cleaning staff, as we didn't have any other items missing the rest of our stay.)

Then when we were packing up our car to leave, we were accosted by the same employee at the front desk who we discussed the stuff taken from our room with, asking us repeatedly if we were leaving, and telling us we couldn't leave, as they hadn't checked the minibar for items that we'd used yet (the irony.) We know dude, we were just packing the car, calm down. Yet every trip we made back to the room/to the car, he would ask us if we were leaving. Enough already! We know how to check out of a hotel.

Some positives include location, thorough cleaning of the room, and one accommodating employee allowing me to use their office computer in order to print a reservation form.

Negatives include theft, mildew smell in room, loudness from lobby, and being approached repeatedly while packing our car, as if we were trying to steal from them. An apology regarding our stolen items would have been very appreciated as well.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms attract lots of mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Caseola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, GA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Arrived at Playa Palms on June 5, to stay for 3 nights prior to transferring to an all-inclusive resort on Friday.
Arrival in Cancun airport was uneventful, though lines getting through security was long. Made our way through tons of people asking our plans, but we had transportation waiting for us outside the door. I had reserved ahead with Cancun-cab, private service for just us two in a van was $55US and I paid in cash on arrival. Our driver was efficient, though not talkative, and it took about 50 minutes or so.
Playa Palms is a small beach hotel about 1 1/2 blocks from 5th Avenue, in the midst of downtown. This is just what I wanted to be able to see what Playa del Carmen was all about and try the local restaurants.
On first impression, it is quite lovely. The pool is down the middle of the courtyard and surrounded by beautiful gardens. Flowers everywhere. I love the way the balconies cascade around the pool area. Victor helped us bring our bags to our 2nd floor Ocean View Studio. The room is comfortably cool, though musty smelling, and that never seemed to go away. You are right on the beach here, so I guess that is to be expected. Everything always seemed damp in our room. Housekeeping was very thorough and we were happy with how clean the room was kept. There was some construction and remodeling going on in the rooms around us, so there was some noise when we arrived. Fortunately, it did not continue in the evening, so it was not a bother. Absolutely loved the balcony, we could easily see the ocean from there, brought out some pillows to make the chairs more comfy, and even brought out the radio/iPod dock and plugged it in to listen to some music while relaxing. Great hammock, too.
It did not seem too full while we were there, which I guess is why this is a good time for remodeling. On an unhappy note, due to the remodel, we were without hot water all day Tuesday and Wednesday. We were unable to shower before dinner, not great after a day at the beach! When we came back to the room Wednesday night, around 11:30, checked the situation again, and finally! Hot water! We both got showers before bed.
The room was quiet, did not hear the thumping of the techno music like you could hear on the balcony. This really did not start until Thursday night. I think we are glad we were not there for Friday night! When we walked past the beach clubs, Coco Maya and Blue Parrott, they seemed pretty empty, but I guess it was early(like around 11pm) and maybe they got busy later. It seemed like low season everywhere we went. Good for us!
Pool was small, but very nice and refreshing for a quick dip. Lovely landscape.

We were very disappointed with the beach. Sand was nice, but right in front of our hotel and around it, was where all the fishing boats tied up. I am not sure if it was the boats or the tide, but there seemed to be an awful lot of seaweed around the boat area as well. And the boats never seemed to leave, just stayed there all day. Maybe because of ”slow season”, but it seemed there were not enough tourists who wanted to go fishing. Did not want to get in the water around the boats. Also tons of driftwood and other trash along the beach. The beach tractors would come by all day long trying to clean up, and picking up driftwood, but it was like they could not keep up with it. The ropes that moored the fishing boats got in the way of the tractors getting close enough to the shore to clean it up. Down a bit to the left, past Indigo and in front of Gran Porto Real, the workers were trying their best to rake up seaweed and cart it away in wheelbarrows. Watched this for 3 days, it was never ending. Walk past GPR, you get to Royal PDC, beautiful A-I, beach is so much cleaner in front of their place.
Going back south, beach gets cleaner too, but still a lot of seaweed. If we wanted to swim, we had to walk down this way. Walked down to where the ferry to Cozumel leaves. Nice walk along the beach to see all the different beach clubs and other hotels.
We enjoyed walking the beach, and had lunch twice at Fusion Beach club. We love the food and atmosphere here, and the buckets of beer didn’t hurt.

Fifth Ave shopping was interesting. Tons of shops, restaurants, bars, no way to try even a small portion in 3 days, but we tried. Continuous hawkers trying to get you to come in their shop, or restaurant, sell you cigars or tours, and other stuff that is illegal in our country. LOL. Said no, gracias, so many times I heard it in my sleep. We tried Carboncito’s, which I read about over and over on TA. It did not disappoint. Enjoyed the Tacos al Pastor and the bean soup. Went back one night just for dessert. It has great outdoor seating (only 3 tables if you can get one) but you can see the beautiful blue water down the street. Also enjoyed La Cueva del Chango for breakfast. Really neat jungle atmosphere, turtles swimming in their little pond inside.

Overall, Playa Palms is a lovely place, everyone was friendly, though they could never tell me when we would have hot water again. Just had to keep trying. A small compensation would have gone a long way, such as a coupon for the full breakfast next door at Indigo, instead of the included continental. Or maybe waiving the $5US charge for the Red Bull I opened by mistake from the mini bar in our room, I thought it was a beer we put in there that we purchased at the little store down the street. Oh well.
Check out Friday was quick, right at 12pm. We took a taxi to our next 6 night destination, the Valentin Imperial Maya. See the review on TA!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach will have a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunglo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#27 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
Thompson Playa Del Carmen
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Palms Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Palms Beach Hotel

Property: Playa Palms Beach Hotel
Address: 1st Avenue Bis | Between 12th and 14th North Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Playa Palms Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms, lush tropical gardens and sweeping Caribbean views frame the charming palapa-roofed architecture of Playa Palms Boutique Beach Hotel. We welcome you to enjoy Playa del Carmen as it is meant to be experienced - where gracious service, superb amenities and exhilarating activities deliver just the Mexico you came to see. As the "alternative to all-inclusives," Playa Palms offers a relaxed and intimate departure from the larger resorts on the Riviera Maya. Stay walking distance from the vibrant shops, restaurants, and bars of 5th Avenue, known locally as "La Quinta." When relaxing at the hotel, guests have their choice of amenities and adventures. Whether you want to indulge in the delicious local cuisine, partake in a wide range of water sports, or lounge in a hammock on your private terrace while basking inexquisite ocean views, Playa Palms is an elegant oasis for relaxation in the heart of Playa del Carmen. Come to Playa Palms and Wake Up Inside Your Dream! Enjoy a complimentary Continental breakfast on your private balcony overlooking the Caribbean when you book your reservations directly through the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Playa Palms Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Palms Beach Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing