We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, gorgous, well located, and beautifully maintaned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #47 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed for a long weekend and found this place to be nearly perfect. Quiet but close to both the beach and 5th Avenue. Pool and hot tub outside our door, and effient and spacous 2BR, 2Bath with full kitchen , dining and living room opening out to noce sized terrace through gisnt glss sliding doors.
Everyone was pleasent and eager to please. Full housekeeping was a real plus.
We loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3,272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

My family stayed at the El Taj the week of 2/5. My wife and I with 3 young children stayed beachside in unit 307 with 2 bedrooms. My brother and his family stayed in unit 325 ocean front 3 bedroom penthouse. The location was excellent. For the money savings I actually preferred the beachside unit. Also,The 2 and 3 bedroom units are almost identical in layout and size. The difference is they made the bedrooms smaller in the 3 bedroom unit as well as the bathrooms. Our 2 bedroom units master bedroom was huge and the bathroom was very large with 2 sinks where as both the 2 bathrooms in the 3 bedroom unit were small. The beachside units walls had stone tile which was an added touch. They had white drywall in the ocean front units. The beachside pool was nicer than the ocean front pool. It was very quiet and private and made you feel like you were in a jungle setting with the many tropical plants and grass surrounding the pool. The dark blue tile in the beachside pool was amazing. Also, you only had to walk through a cross street, and walk through the ocean front condos lobby to get to the beach. The beach was great with the kids. The only downside is that the children cannot swim right in front of the hotel as there are fishing boats anchored there so you are not able to sit and watch your kids swim in the ocean from your beach chairs. We had to walk down the beach a bit to swim which we did not mind. The owner built a pier for the boats to be docked but the boat owners do not want to dock them there in fear they will become damaged hitting the docks by the waves. The boats are grandfathered to that location on the beach. The town and 5th avenue were just incredible. We took the kids out each night for shopping and ice cream. It is very safe. We recommend you get the chef service the concierge has available. Carlos, a private chef, will come to your condo and cook a authentic meal for you. He brings all his own ingredients and cooks in your kitchen. He will clean everything up as well. The food was some of the best we have ever had. The first night we had him cook we had tostados and tacos. It was an incredible meal and we were stuffed. The concierge had set up a pinatta for our childs birthday and filled it with candy for us. The service is hands on. For $35 we had them stock our condo with food,drinks and condiments. Just send them a list of what you want and they will stock your place for you. Lastly, the attention to detail and artifacts in both buildings was unbelievable. The wooden doors to the beach front entrance are 650 years old. The owner flew to polynesia/indonesia and picked out many items for his condos by hand.
HOPE THIS HELPS. THE HONDRUS

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark1234PittsburghPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

El Taj Oceanfront Penthouse Unit #345 was incredible! The view of the carribean was amazing! The condo was in immaculate condition and had a private roof-top patio. The service and staff was flawless. And the location was ideal. I rate this Condo 5 out of 5! WOW!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BWH040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

I booked Taj Condo Hotel Beachside as part of a package with Expedia. First, note the confusing names of two adjascent properties: 'Beachside' is not beside the beach, but across a small road from the main hotel (supposedly its penthouses have ocean views, presumably looking over the top of other buildings). 'Oceanside', in contrast, is actually on the beach, and most of its units have water views (although the quality would vary, as some are set far back towards the road). The front desk service was friendly and efficient. I had two different maintenance problems with my unit, one serious (water pouring in the ceiling from the unit above) but maintenance staff responded quickly. My big disappointment was the unit itself - 303. It was clearly one of the least desirable units in the whole complex - ground floor, dark, at the very back corner of the complex, overlooking parked cars. The interior, while clean and organized, looked like a mid-range suburban American 'suite hotel' rather than what was on the website. The week I was here, there were many other empty rooms, including a far more attractive one-bed on Oceanside, but the desk would not let me change because I booked through Expedia and was assigned to one specific room. So buyer beware, especially on Expedia. The larger units, on higher floors, especially near the water, look spectacular. But for $300 a night or so, I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SomeKindOfWonderful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

So, I went with 6 friends to celebrate my birthday (let's just say it was a big one). It was fantastic! We split up in two 2 bedroom condos, each with their own rooftops. The service from before we even got there was outstanding. Alejandra and Enrique were amazing, answering questions and offering their help with anything and everything. They arranged airport transportation for us, helped with the chef we had come cook for us 2 nights (Epicurean Chef...will go into this later) and were just generally very helpful.
The entire place is just gorgeous. Lush, tropical, clean....just such a relaxing, zen vibe to it. The condo itself was beautiful, well appointed and clean! They have everything you would need, soaps, dishwashing detergent/sponge, laundry detergent even! The daily maid service was great too. The location was fantastic, as having 7 girls together, if a couple wanted to shop, they could walk to the shops around the corner. If you want to hang at the beach, you can, or go to the beautiful gym down the street (included). The Beach Club was great, really nice service, good food and your toes in the sand. The lounge chairs were actually super comfortable and the live DJ on the weekends were great. The place just has a mixed feel of Mexican/ European/Bali feel to it. Great mix of people from all over the world. The restaurants and clubs are very close by, we did go down the street one night and went dancing. That was really fun! There was a bit of the club music we heard in our unit at night. I am a light sleeper and it did bother me a bit, my friend is a heavy sleeper and she was fine. Our friends stayed on the other side of the condo and they didn't hear a thing. We were on the same side as the clubs.
I was worried about it being a "family friendly place" seeing as we are all moms trying to get away! There were families and several kids, but never had the feeling that it was too much. In fact, several of us are planning on coming back with our families. Would be the perfect place to come with several families with kids the same ages. It is also the perfect place for a friends get away!
The chef we got to cook for us was amazing. Carlos is Epicurean Chef Services did a fantastic job, and could not have been more accommodating. His wife Tani was fantastic as well. He made us the best margaritas ever, amazing guacamole...grilled shrimp and fish and homemade mole! Yummmm. My husband even had Carlos and Tani arrange for a Mariachi band and they had their friend make an amazing 4 leches cake with dulce de leche as a surprise for me! It was the best birthday ever! We were all really sad to leave, I am in a Mexicoma! I can't wait to go back!!! If you are going to go, use my vip code for friends and family and save yourself 10%. The code is vip327 and is good until the end of December 2011.
All in all, an amazing trip to an amazing place with amazing people. I love the small "boutique" feel of it, as even the security guards were asking how I liked the mariachis the next day! So cute that everyone was so in tune with the "goings on" there. We also all felt very safe the entire trip. Can't wait to come back!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

El Taj was everything we expected it to be. The grounds and the rooms were beautiful and very clean! The only negative I had was the front reception area - our first intro to the complex- smelled very musty and the cleaning solution they used in the rooms had a strong perfumey smell. We did ask them not to use the cleaning solution and that fixed that problem. I commented by email about the musty smell in the reception area after we returned home and we received an email very quickly thanking us for our feedback and promising to look into it.

When we go to Playa Del Carmen again we will definitely be staying at El Taj or possibly one of the other condos developed by Jack Perlman, they are all with in a very short walk from each other and the beach.
We really enjoyed using the GYM as well great Spinning and Yoga classes!
Oh yes, and the security was amazing always someone at the beach entrance and the front entrance, we felt very secure!

Thanks El Taj

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We experienced nine wonderful days in Unit #345 El Taj Oceanfront - the best place we have ever stayed. This 3-bedroom penthouse condo had spectacular Caribbean views and a private rooftop terrace. The lush vegetation around the rooftop terrace provided privacy and yet allowed views over the city and ocean. Further, the rooftop terrace had a Jacuzzi, professional quality BBQ and dining area under the palapa – the perfect venue for an evening meal and relaxation.

The interior of the unit was well appointed, spacious and comfortable with lots of space for storage and superior quality appliances and fixtures. The unit had balconies for every room and was quiet and private due to a clever floor plan.

The boutique-style hotel was architecturally stunning with flowing curves, koi ponds and exotic detailing from around the world. Daniel and Theresa were notable members of the spectacular staff who made our stay easy and well attended to. All the staff were fantastic and friendly with our children. The concierge, Enrique, smoothly handled the logistics of our visit and guided us well in booking enjoyable, kid-appropriate excursions.

Our children loved playing in the pool, which is nestled between the two wings of the hotel and the associated beach club. The El Taj Oceanfront is in an ideal location – on the beach and steps away from the best part of 5th Avenue. If I could give it 6 stars, I would.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icefield_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#71 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
668 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,179 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#18 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $198 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing