We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,636)
Filter reviews
1,636 results
Traveler rating
1,186
302
85
33
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,186
302
85
33
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach club fishing boats hot tub indigo restaurant private rooftop terrace penthouse unit white noise machine full kitchen washer and dryer beautiful condo three bedroom living room restaurants and shops light sleeper two blocks lounge chairs blue parrot
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 1,636 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2018

We stayed in the El Taj Oceanfront, room 340, for 8 days in early March. Our room was a beautiful 3 bedroom condo on the top floor with a private roof-top patio. Room 340 is on the North wing of the property and the wraparound porch directly overlooks the Ocean. From earlier reviews we were concerned about noise. However, noise was never a problem. My wife is an extremely light sleeper and she never heard anything when we were in the room. We spent a morning in Tulum and a day at Xel-Ha. Other than those days, we spent the rest of our vacation enjoying walks along 5th Avenue, laying out at the Indigo Beach Club, or enjoying our roof-top deck and wrap around porch. The condos had everything we could want and the kitchen was stocked with beverages at very affordable prices. A can of Coke was 20 or 25 pesos and a bottle of Corona was 25 pesos. We chose the option of having breakfast included. We could eat breakfast at Indigo Beach Club or Imprevist. Imprevist was a little longer, but the quality of food is unbeatable. I don't know how to describe it, other than to encourage you to eat at Imprevist early in your stay. You will return! The condos are located just two short blocks from the action of 5th avenue. As nice as the property is, the staff is even better. Zah-Zhil in the front office is amazing! She was so kind and helpful. We always took the time to say hello each time we returned to the hotel. Rudy, at the Indigo Beach Club always met us with a smile, and kind greeting while holding the gate to the beach club open for us. The restaurant/beach club staff, especially Hugo, Fernando, and Isidro, displayed kindness and extreme patience and encouragement with my attempts to speak Spanish. They checked with us often, without being intrusive, seeming to know exactly when we needed food or something to drink. At the same time, they were happy to share information and suggestions when we asked. For us, the combination of location, staff, and the property itself made El Taj Oceanfront a great choice. I look forward to visiting again.

Room tip: Rooms on the North Wing are quiet because they are further from the Clubs.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Russ W,

Thank you very much for your detailed and kind review following your recent stay at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside.

We are happy to read how the convenient location in the heart of Playa del Carmen, atmosphere, well-appointed and spacious condos and facilities combined with the excellent service delivered by our associates have set the stage for a memorable stay in Playa.

We look forward to welcoming you back at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside again in the very near future.

Warmest regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018

I had high expectations before traveling to El Taj. Photos and reviews online raved of this place.
Cons:
Upon arrival the hotel smelt heavily of seaweed roasting in the sun. The hotel is located right in front of a boat/pier area so there is no swimming in the ocean and with the semi-recent hurricane the beach is almost non-existent and has a large amount of seaweed build-up. Of course, the hotel cannot control the hurricane's damage. In fact, they had workers burying the seaweed frequently, but it's still an issue that affected our stay. The beach club online had sounded like it was separate from the hotel, but it was directly attached to the hotel. In fact, the only place to sit on the beach at the hotel was at the beach club. El Taj guests can sit there for free, but you can't bring your own drinks or food in, so be prepared to spend money on over priced food and drinks. The pool is very small, shaded and has maybe 5 chairs surrounding it. If you're looking for a place that has a large swimming pool that you can sit around and a beach to swim in, look somewhere else. We had what was advertised as a penthouse. The "penthouse rooftop" wasn't even attached to our room and really anyone could use it. It was slightly down the outdoor hallway and had an unlocked half-door. Most nights we could hear people up on our "private" rooftop.
Pros:
It's overall a beautiful hotel and is in a great location - super easy to walk anywhere off of 5th ave. The beds and facilities are okay.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

It was our first time to stay in Playa del Carmen for a while, and El Taj seemed ideal in a bunch of ways.

Thanks to the condo-hotel setup, it gave us the luxury appeal of exceptional ambiance while also offering homey comforts. It's nice to know that we could have cooked our own meals, though we found ourselves dining out more often than not: at Plank, Imprevist, and various spots around Centro and Av. 5.

Speaking of: the location is superb! El Taj is right near the hottest spots in town, and is secluded conveniently in a quieter street, just a short stroll away from the busy buzz.

We really enjoyed the beach bar! Just past the pool, a bunch of umbrella tables let you bask in the Playa breeze while you enjoy some really nice dishes.

We loved it: we felt recharged by the luxury atmosphere, and electrified by the amazing sights, sounds, and deliciousness of the local area.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azurio_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Curtiss H,

Thank you very much for staying with us at El Taj and for taking the time to share your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor. It is truly a pleasure to read your review !

I am also glad to read that you appreciated the effort of our passionate staff, our well-appointed condos in the heart of Playa del Carmen and incredible hospitality experience from beginning to end.

We aim to create and provide a curated vacation experience and we're happy to know you truly enjoyed your time with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back at El Taj in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

El Taj came highly recommended and reviews on TA and Yelp were good. Service is customarily slow and process oriented. Rooms were nice, clean, w good beds,.linens and pillows. Major complaint was noise factor. We stayed on a Saturday night and it was like the night club which was close by was in my room. The clubs stay open till 3am, so it was impossible to sleep before the thumping stopped. Lastly, don't plan on a late check out without being willing to pay $50/hour...i thought that was a bit ticky tacky because our rooms were not ready at 3pm

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Bill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Bill V,

We deeply appreciate your comments since these are our moust valuable tool when it comes to help us create and improve the hospitality experience that we provide to all guests.

At El Taj, we are committed to create unforgettable experiences. This wouldn't be possible without our hard-working associates, excellent condos and well-kept indoor and outdoor facilities.

We appreciate your time and feedback. We look forward to having you in the future and provide you with the excellent hospitality experience that you deserve!

Kind regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018

So for the past 5 years I've been going every winter to Playa Del Carmen for a little warm weather and beach time. Every year I've stayed at El Taj on one of their condos and I've always loved how the whole staff remembers my name every year when I go back and the service that goes along with it. I love their condo hotel concept as I usually go with 4-6 people and being able to get 2 or 3 bedroom condos is nice. The mix of being right on the beach and being in the middle of Playa to walk everywhere is a fantastic combination.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jorge357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Dear Jorge357,

We are glad to know that you had an unforgettable stay with us while enjoying to the fullest the service by Condo Hotels Playa del Carmen's facilities, amenities and special VIP benefits that El Taj Condo Hotel provides.

We are comitted to combine the comfort of being at home with the luxury and enjoyment of a luxury resort because we are all about creating unique and special moments.

We do this by having a very attentice staff, keeping our units fully prepared and equipped and our indoors/outdoors facilities on point all year round.

Another great plus of choosing El Taj is its key location. Just a couple of blocks away you can find some of the trendiest venues in Playa del Carmen!

Thanks for your time, incredible review and kind words towards our staff. We really look forward to having you at El Taj on your next vacation!

Warmest regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews