We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #40 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have just had a great 4 day stay at El Taj Oceanfront. The hotel is in a great location within Playa Del Carmen, right on the beach but also close to the bars, restaurants and shops of 5th Avenue. The room was comfortable, clean and stylish. The front-desk staff and the concierge were also really friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend to friends and family and go back myself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gezza888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Gezza888,
Thank you so much for your excellent review and all of your kind compliments. We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you felt all accommodations and amenities to exceed expectations. Also, it is wonderful to hear that our staff treated you warmly and that you experienced the best service we work so hard to provide every day. We hope that you will return back soon!

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 472 of 1,407 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great location and great service by the beach staff also we loved indigo restaurant especially Pedro. He is very dedicated to good service and friendly to every one. Thank you Pedro. One thing that needs to be changed is the front desk. A very unfriendly unprofessional woman, Mile was rude to us by not handling our situation. We paid for ocean view penthouse, booked two months in advance and we ended up getting partial ocean view and smaller than what we booked. I was very unhappy she didn't event try to explain the situation and left us with no choice. Also in the same office her colleague Andres was very rude and unaccommodating. My only problem was with the front desk they have to do some thing about it in order not to lose business and a good reputation. Altogether the front office's attitude was as if they were doing you a favor letting you stay at their hotel. The staff at the beach could not be nicer and more accommodating but the front office was very disappointing indeed.

Room Tip: make sure get the room what you asked for before is too late!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ultima142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear ultima142,
Thank you for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. We value all feedback as is it is truly a tool for us to continue to do better and continue to deliver the top notch service that our guests should expect. We do apologize that your experience with the room view. We always strongly suggest booking directly on our web site since we provide detailed information and photos of the unit itself, including photos of the exact view. Unfortunately, not every unit has a direct unobstructed view of the ocean. Since we are a condo hotel, our process of booking allows our guests to select and reserve their exact unit; which is why it can be trickier to move people around upon arrival. However we will always do our best if we have other units unoccupied. We are sorry we were unable to move you as we had arrivals coming who selected specific oceanview units. We are definitely happy to hear that you felt our property itself was amazing and that you had incredible service from Pedro at Indigo beach. Those comments surely mean a lot and we will pass them along. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hotel room was very swank and the service was beyond wonderful. One particular person of special note was Alvaro. He went above and beyond to ensure our beach service was memorable. You typically don't plan your vacation around a person, but in this case, you should!

Great location and best beach in the area. Extremely close and convenient to 5th avenue shopping and food.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank benderbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have been staying at playa for 10 days and switch 3 hotels.. El taj was my last one and it was the best, close to the ocean close to the 5th evenue and very beautiful hotel. The crew of el taj is very nice and lovely and carolina is the best. Thank you el taj for a lovely staying.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Avi_assaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Avi_assaban,
We are so delighted to hear you had an amazing stay with us at El Taj! You really can't beat the location as it is close to everything - the beach, shopping, superior dining options and entertainment. We are always working to create the best experience for our guests and it certainly makes us happy that you see the results of that. Thank you again and we hope to see you again at El Taj in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed at this property for 5 days with my family & it was wonderful! The staff was very friendly & helpful! The rooms and amenities were very clean! We had a great time & will certainly be visiting again!

Room Tip: Penthouse room was awesome with a rooftop patio & private Jacuzzi!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim-LisaJimenez2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaAssoc, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear jim-Lisajimenez2014,
Thank you so much for your sparkling review. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your excellent review on Trip Advisor. It's wonderful to hear that you felt our customer service was top notch and that you loved all of the amenities we offer. I hope you got to take advantage of using our complimentary GYM passes as well as our exclusive guest privileged card for discounts to various excellent restaurants and entertainment venues. We hope to see you again soon at El Taj.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I spent 2 weeks in El Taj with my family and i pass a wonderful moments in this beautiful place!
I can't wait to come back!!
The service was excellent, we love the amenities and specialy the beachclub (very good service!!)
In fact i had the penthouse right in front of the ocean...AMAZING view!!!
It's the best place because you are in the heart of playa Del Carmen ( bars, restaurants, night-club) and the confort of the hotel (swimmingpool, beach)
I recommand it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shauna_Giuliano, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Morgan-Lovely N,
Thank you so much for your wonderful kind review! We are so happy that you enjoyed a fantastic vacation during the two weeks you spent with us at El Taj. Certainly you can't beat the location and we do work hard to provide the best services and amenities for all of our guests. We hope you will return back with us soon at El Taj.

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We spent 6 nights at El Taj at the end of May. We have two teenagers. The grounds were immaculate and the hotel service was incredible. The beach and pool areas were spotless. The hotel is within (very short) walking distance from Fifth Avenue shopping, restaurants, and clubs. Our rooms were spacious and clean, free wifi is a bonus, and it was wonderful to have a kitchen (took a very quick cab ride to Walmart for groceries). The hotel's restaurants served great food!

Highly recommend El Taj, absolutely will stay there again!

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the ocean, if possible. The higher the floor, the better the view. Higher rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shauna_Giuliano, Owner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear M M,
Wow! It's so nice to hear such an incredible review. We are thrilled you and your family had a fantastic stay with us! You are right, everything you should ever need and what is literally right around the corner. The beach is right there and the Fifth Ave is just one block away. We have all the best dining spots and entertainment surrounding us! Our condo hotel concept makes it easy for you to live comfortably on vacation while having the option to create a more at home feel with fully equipped kitchens and superior condo style amenities. We hope to see you back at El Taj soon!

Kind Regards,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#58 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#16 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#23 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
876 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $194 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing