We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience second to none and a new yearly tradition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #35 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Experience second to none and a new yearly tradition”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Experience started with amazing service from Lourdes and continued to be a dream vacation. We had just come from a bachelor party in Cabo the month prior at a huge cookie cutter resort and this was such a pleasent escape to go to with my girlfriend. The condos with ocean views and private hot tubs are great with amazing ocean views from the hot tub area, we were on a lower floor and had tree obstruction though so I would say its worth asking for a higher floor. The service on the beach, at Indigo was stellar. We had a issue with a leak that was fixed right away. You just feel away from the normal resort experience and so relaxed. Did a massage on the beach which was great.


I would ask for more beach activities like volleyball others in the area have as there was not much to do with our large group. The view from the see thru upper hot tub is insane and I will never forget it.

We have made this a yearly tradition for sure and thank everyone for an experience second to none.

Room Tip: upper floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gokingsgogogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    241
    65
    22
    18
See reviews for
513
432
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My (now) husband and I got married in October in Playa, and selected El Taj for the guests and ourselves to book hotel accommodations. My husband is a general manager of a hotel here in the states, so he has VERY high standards, and both of us were impressed and 110% satisfied. It was absolutely everything we wanted:

1) Friendly staff: Carolina, Milly & Manuel at the front desk were so welcoming, informative, and helpful. Daniel as well always went the extra mile to take great care of our luggage, presents, and remembered our names every time we passed him by. All the Indigo Grill staff were also friendly and fun as servers.

2) Beautiful & intimate property: We wanted a small boutique hotel rather than a large all-inclusive resort so that we could walk out our room doors and see everyone we loved and knew right away, rather than getting lost on a big property. We had about 40 guests/15 rooms, and it absolutely became our place for the week! Everyone felt that they really connected with guests they didn't know, were close to the ones they already knew well, and I think that everyone walked away with new friends and "family". The landscaping and architecture of the hotel itself is gorgeous - tropical, with an upscale Mayan/Indonesian feel - not kitschy. The condo rooms are well maintained and nicely decorated. As a recommendation for other wedding groups, my parents and sisters booked one of the 3 bedroom penthouses so that we could have a large rooftop and BBQ place to host all our guests the nights before the wedding. It turned into the perfect, relaxed Welcome Reception, rather than having an official rehearsal dinner. We grilled up top, and the palapa is great for ambience. For 40 people it was the perfect size.

3) Location: The condo hotel is located a quick walk to 5th Avenue, so people were able to walk to restaurants, bars, and shopping easily. No rental cars needed, although we did have one that came in handy to go to the grocery store to stock up our condos with food/drinks. It's centrally located, and we always felt safe walking everywhere. The south side condos do hear some of the club music at nights, FYI. The beach club located on property has great breakfast that we enjoyed every morning. It's true that boats do dock right in front of the hotel, but it didn't bother us. We still got in the water around the ropes and boats, and if you want to "get away" from the boats, it's literally a 30 second walk down the beach to open water. No big deal.

4) Maya Spa: Probably the BEST manicure and pedicure I have ever had. They spent so much time and attention to my hands and feet. They also did my hair and wedding makeup - it was beautiful! We didn't even do a trial run, but they were fantastic. They came to my condo room to do the hair and makeup for an additional nominal fee ($10). My husband and I also received massages on the beach from the Maya Spa masseuses, and we both thought they were probably the best massages we ever had. Not deep tissue, but just great gentle rubbing. It was included as part of our Romance Package for booking over 7 nights worth of rooms.

Thank you so much to all of the Condo Hotels staff for making our destination wedding so special and wonderful for us and our family and friends. It's a place we want to return to, and many of our guests also said the same thing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are quieter, except the 1st floor north ones that do hear a little bit of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We wanted to see as much of the Yucatan Peninsula as we could, so we first traveled to Merida and then on to Cancun before our last stop in Playa del Carmen. Merida was great and we're glad we got to see one of the early cities of Mexico. To be frank, we were unimpressed with Cancun, finding it "Las Vegas with water". You will never see a view of the beach from Kukulkan Road -- it's taken up with wall to wall mega hotels. My advice, head to Playa del Carmen, specifically El Taj and experience a calmer, quieter version of the best of the Yucatan. We just came back from only a few day trip there and wished we had planned differently. At El Taj, we stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath Condo, #345, with a beach view and a roof top garden, complete with spa, chaise lounges and barbecue for our private use. The service of staff was exemplary, each and every question or request was attended to in almost record time. We traveled to Tulum and to Cozumel (use only the Blue & White fleet!) for great day trips. My husband played a round of golf at the Mayacoba course, which he says is the most beautiful course he's ever played, where the water hazards were real cenotes! The best part was returning to a completely equipped home to relax and plan our next day. Every type of cuisine was available on 5th Avenue, a block away. We had too many favorites to mention but we received a great list of reduced priced restaurants when we booked. We spent a lot of money to rent a car and loved having the freedom this brought us when touring nearby. Just remember that you will be charged an additional fee for "liability insurance", up to $30 more per day, so beware! It's a small thing, but our Condo had a washer/dryer too. Really came in handy. While my husband golfed, I treated myself to a massage and pedicure at their spa. Really great, strong massag! We're pretty picky travelers, so we were more than pleased with our trip to Playa del Carmen and El Taj, at least we loved #345! Don't know about the others. Wish we had more time there! Best part of our trip!

Room Tip: Our Condo, (#345,) had one king, one queen and 2 twins, with the Master offering a good view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bayarea94602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We loved our 5 night stay at El Taj. Best place to stay if you want to be in the heart of downtown playa on the beach, as oppose to staying in a resort away from the town. It's right on the beach with a beach club, restaurant/bar with friendly service.
It's a great base to take tours from and explore playa, be mindful that El Taj is condo apartments not a full service resort.

Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Manuel at concierge was excellent!! He gave great advice and booked all our tours and accommodation for our next stop in Tulum.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We are a family of five people from Finland and spent one week at El Taj Oceanfront in June 2013.

What we expected to have? Good food, some shopping, enjoying the sun and opportunity to go to Chichen Itza.

What we got? Mostly all of these things. El Taj is a stylish place and we liked our room very much. Breakfast was delicious. They had two optional restaurants. Both of them were good but Indigo was our favorite. Service was brilliant both in restaurants and in reception. Also, location of El Taj is central: 5th Avenue is only a short walk away. Yet, we found our room very quiet. The only thing that we missed at our hotel was a good beach. They do have a beach in front of hotel but there are several fishing boats on the beach, as well.

During our stay we visited many good restaurants. We all loved most Ipanema´s Grill. It´s a Brazilian steakhouse which serves various sorts of meat.

One of my personal highlights was a full-day-trip to Chichen Itza - an ancient mayan city. We booked this guided tour from an agency close to 5th avenue. If you have any interest to history I can warmly recommend you this trip.

Thanks for a pleasant stay in a stylish place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
297 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

El Taj Oceanfront building is in front of the beach. The beachside building is on the street behind but a 5 minute walk to the beach and both very close to 5th avenue.

This is not a hotel bur a condo, like a flat and has everything. More suitable for longer stays but I loved.

The only negative points are:

1 - beach: is full of ships and ropes that make it difficult to get in the water. And some people leave rests of fish.

2 - wifi: awful and unstable. Could not acess from my bedroom, had to go to the living room of condo, sonetimes outside. Even in the other building and in the beach it did not worked fine.

Everything else, AWESOME.

Try breakfast on imprevist it is included on fare. For dinner is amazing!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essameninaviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhaven, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Bigger is not always better. What a great experience at El Taj. Polite staff (they remembered my name),clean and spacious rooms, perfect sized pool and wonderful sandy beach. Indigo Restaurant was delicious and ever-changing its menu. They treat you like people and not just a number. We'll return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the 3rd.floor. Sunrise easily viewed from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,652 reviews
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing