We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely happy !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Ranked #32 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Belize
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely happy !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Great place ... Location is excellent rooms are beautiful an well equipped . Indigo beach club was great loved the beach an lounge area food an drinks excellent ..... Service excellent ! I have no complaints ... Can't wait to go back . Thank you el Taj staff

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitaBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Jack Perlman Owner,Managing Partner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear CitaBelize,

Thank you so much for choosing El Taj and pointing out our excellent rooms. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and lounge at Indigo. Our staffs are very well trained and carefully selected to provide the best service.

I am glad to hear that you can't wait to come back and stay with us on your next visit and perhaps tell your family and friends about our Hotel.

Best,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    238
    61
    21
    18
See reviews for
509
425
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed in a beachfront unit with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths for 5 nights. It was clean, spacious, and well appointed. The bed was quite comfortable and the unit was quiet. We made use of the gym which was well equipped. The beach was steps away from our condo and the beach service was great! Like what other reviews have said, the only drawback is the boats parked in front of the beach. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletlettera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condohotels, Jack Perlman Owner,Managing Partner at El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear scarletlettera,

Thank you for choosing El Taj Hotel while visiting Playa del Carmen. All our rooms are well equipped to feel comfortable during your stay with us. I am glad to hear that everything is great and comfortable and up to your expectations.

I do understand your concerns about the small fishing boat docked infront of El Taj Hotel. We look at the fisherman's boat more as a charm of the scenery but your concerns are understandable. I hope you realized there are some wonderful swimming areas located only a few feet away. I hope that the staffs had informed you about another trendy beach club alternative for you to enjoy in case the boats bothers you. We offer our affiliated beach clue located few kilometers o the beaten path that has miles of uninhibited sandy beach.

I am glad to hear that you are looking forward to coming back to stay with us again soon. Thank you for your review!

Best,
Jack Perlman
Owner, Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We are a family of 4 (with two small boys) from a Central European country. We had the pleasure to spend our vacation (two weeks) in two superb Condos Hotels, first in Maya Villa and then in El Taj Beachside. We had penthouse apartments in both cases with all those great features and amenities others have already described before us. No question, these apartments did satisfy all our needs for comfort along with top quality services, including perfectly clean maintenance. On top of all, we could experience and enjoy an exceptionally friendly atmosphere and tactful personal care all along our stay. We feel obliged to say special thanks to the whole staff through Miguel Hernandez, our favorite Front desk Manager for this perfect experience. Even before getting back to our home I already had to make a commitment to my family to revisit this great place again, hopefully early next year.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OregRozmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall great place - clean, good staff, good food and amenities on site (restaurant, pool, jacuzzi, massage, gym), great location near all the shops, clubs and bars. Beach was a few steps from front door and views were very good. Only drawback are the boats parked in front of the beach. They were not running but you had to walk around them to get into the water - not a big deal since you had to walk out 50 yards to water deep enough to swim any - but a minor detractor. Word of warning - if you don't like to party and want quiet, this may not be the place as the southside of the facility was located next to a techno club and the music could be heard faintly late into the night.

Room Tip: Breakfast not included but 10 bucks a day and a nice buffet plus an egg dish. Gym around the corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeinhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in unit 314 which is across the street from the beach-front units. The condo was fabulous - 2 bedrooms, two baths. Immaculate and kept that way by daily maid service. We had view of pool. Indigo Beach club was very nice - enjoyed the breakfast we got with the room. Super friendly service (we tip well).
Be aware that the beach directly in front of El Taj is occupied by small fishing boats - charming or a nuisance depending on your view.
We went on a low-season week so we had lots of chairs and open tables and pools weren't occupied most of the time.

Room Tip: You pay a lot less for a non-beach view and get the same condo. Get a second or third floor to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kphelpsCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

El Taj is a beautiful condo set in a great location in Playa. But...
U are going to spend time at the beach and pool right?! Well, the pool is way to small to swim in and enough room for about 6 kids. And the beach, there are never enough beach chairs if u are there during high season. And don't bother going in the water in front of El Taj because it's smells of gasoline because of all the small fishing boats docked right in front.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Atl4316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in Unit 345, the accomodations and decor were amazing. The unit is a 3 bedroom with a private terrace and hot tub, a definate bonus! The location is great, on the beach and a short walk to 5 Avenue where all the shops and restaurants are. Very well maintained and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pebbleslr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#15 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#25 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#24 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums
#17 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel

Property: El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Address: 1 Norte Esquina Calle 14 Norte | Corner 16th Street, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#25 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Taj Condo Hotel consists of 57 spacious condos situated on 2 separate properties in front of the beach. El Taj oceanfront is directly on the beach and El Taj Beachside is across the street. Guests get to use all the on site amenities including our exclusive beach club. We offer 2 incredible heated pools. The relaxing heated pool on Beachside property is an exotic black mosaic infinity pool with an extra large Jacuzzi while the oceanfront heated pool sits right on the beach in front of our exclusive beach club. We're located in the most liveliest area of Playa that offers the convenience of having the best restaurants, nightlife and shopping within one block from your vacation home.Each Condominium offers expansive floor plans and superb finishes. The Beachside condos have private terraces that are surrounded by exotic plants, Lilly ponds and all face the pool and cascading waterfalls. All the penthouse units in El Taj Beachside feature ocean views from the private roof decks. All the oceanfront units have views of the ocean.Each condo comes with fully equipped kitchens and the finest details including flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We provide the same services usually associated with some of the finest hotels. Our designers traveled the globe to Indonesia trying to recreate an environment reminiscent to Bali. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Taj Oceanfront And Beachside Condo Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing