We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Blue Parrot Suites(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Playa Palms Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cohiba(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Eclipse(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,484)
Filter reviews
1,483 results
Traveler rating
1,083
272
73
29
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,083
272
73
29
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach clubfishing boatscondo hotelhot tubindigo restaurantwhite noise machinebedroom penthousewasher and dryerfull kitchenrooftop terracebeautiful condorecommend elwater coolerlight sleeperrestaurants and shopsprivate balconybeach chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,146 - 1,151 of 1,483 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Now we now what all the hype is all about and why this amazing condo hotels is rated #1 on TripAdvisor! Its location couldn't be better - it's right on the beach, and a block away from 5th Avenue. But as my personal discovery, I have to say that when you stay at El Taj, you realize how superior condo-style hotels are vs traditional hotels. I am now a firm believer in condo hotels! Why pay the same price for a small hotel room, when you can get your own luxury apartment that comes with a living room, private bathrooms, personal Jacuzzi and our own terrace. My experience at El Taj was one of the best vacation discoveries for me - otherwise, I do not write these reviews so often. We had plentiful space and privacy, very courteous service, our unit had a daily maid service, we were cooking in our own kitchen, and one time even called a private chef, who cooked a delicious dinner for 6 people at out unit for under $100. Combine that with the most amazing white sand beach right in front our windows, and 5 th Avenue by our side, and yes... we'll be back!

Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
Thank PlayaExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

This was our first trip to El Taj Oceanfront Condo Hotel in Playa Del Carmen and from the moment we stepped off the plane in Cancun and were greeted by our driver Oscar it was the beginning of a wonderful vacation. We arrived at El Taj and were greeted with friendly smiles and bottles of cold water. We were immediately struck with the uniqueness and beauty of the Hotel. We walked through a beautiful Courtyard filled with Lush Tropical Plants with a Jacuzzi Spa with 3 built in Massage Chairs overlooking the Pool and Beach, then an Elevator to Penthouse #345 a lovely 3 Bedroom 2 Bath Suite with full Kitchen,3 Balconies Flat Panel Tv's in every room,Bedroom Safes, Washer and Dryer(how convenient), and Complimentary Water Cooler. The condo is tastefully decorated with original artwork. The crowning glory was having our own Private Roof Top Terrace with a Jacuzzi, Shower ,BBQ, Sofa, Table and Chairs all covered by a Thatched Palapa surrounded by flowers and plants with a stunning view of the Caribbean with Cozumel on the horizon. We had many breakfast's and lunch's at Indigo and the food and service were both great (try the breakfast buffet). My husband enjoyed a relaxing massage on the beach and in the evening we would take the short walk over to Fifth Ave. where we had our choice of great shopping and many excellent restaurants. La Parrilla was one of our favourite's ( Great Margarita's) along with Babe's and HOT Baking Company. All in All El Taj Ocean Front has a focus on Quality. We were really impressed with the level of service performed by the entire staff and now that we are back in the real world we miss the pampering. We loved staying at El Taj Ocean Front, Just makes you feel good being there. Gratias for a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyngreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

2 couples with college age children stayed there in March for Spring Break sharing a 3 Br/ 3BA oceanfront condo suite. The condo was new and spectacular with gorgeous views of the beach. Front desk service was excellent. The hotel is very well maintained and reasonably priced. The beachside restaurant was excellent. It is a pleasant 5 min walk to the bars, clubs and restaurants of a very attractive and friendly downtown.

On the negative side, the pool is small, shaded and was chilly (it needs a heater in March). Ocean access is totally blocked by a lineup of fishing boats along the beach. You have to walk about 5 minutes to the South for ocean swimming. To the immediate north was a beach marred by extensive seaweed and sand-filled bags to control erosion. If ocean swimming is critical, you might be happier in a line of hotels about a 10-20 minute walk to the north; the beach itself at El Taj was very nice. Four out of 6 of us did experience Montezuma's revenge; bring Cipro, Imodium and Zofran. ( We didn't drink the water but we did eat freely in the restaurants...the unfortunate side of Mexico.) Playa is beautiful; I would go again. If you would like two side excursion, see Tulum...very interesting and go snorkeling off Cozumel. You don't need a rental car; there are taxies everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CTTraveller12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

stayed at le taj for 9 nights in april, this is the best chioce in playa if like us you hate all inclusive resorts, condos are really well appointed, very spacious and relaxing they have a gym and spa,, no noise from clubs close by, or neighbours. reception really helpful with excellent suggestions of restaurants- luna maya, cenacoli, very good, its impossible to go hungry in playa it has great coffee shops, icecreams, and restaurants- beach club indigo beach is excellent with comfy sunbeds and good size towels , food here -breakfast and lunch is also really good

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachsiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

We have been to Playa del Carmen many times, this was our first time at the Taj. My husband and sons stayed for one week and enjoyed it very much. We made use of both pools, the jacuzzi, Indigo Beach, the concierge, etc. All staff were very helpful and friendly. My boys loved the pools and we enjoyed having the extra bedroom for them, as well as a washer/dryer on site. The location is great, between the beach and 5th Avenida. We were given a list of recommended restaurants, which gave us some new ideas. We will definitely stay at the Taj again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathalieroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews