We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime - Highly recommend this dive shop!”
Review of Diversity Diving

Diversity Diving
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Diversity Diving is a dynamic & full service dive center with the primary focus on safety, personal service, and of course fun! If you are looking for fantastic scuba diving in Playa Del Carmen, spectacular walls in Cozumel, the mystic waters of the ancient Maya cenotes, or a personalized dive package...Diversity Diving has what you have been looking for. "You come as a guest, you leave as a friend"
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime - Highly recommend this dive shop!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I am an advid Trip Advisor user and always do my research before going on trips so I give this review for all of you others out there that are reliant on TA for a good recommendation. This was our first ever cenote diving experience and we were in really good hands, start to finish. From before we even arrived, we were in contact with the Diversity Diving staff who were quick to answer all our questions and organize our dive. Can not emphasize enough how friendly and geniune the staff is and how highly we think of this dive shop. They gave us an incredible diving experience - Svenn is both smart and hilarious - and after they washed our gear and sent us on our way to a local Mexican restaurant that happened to be one of the highlights of our trip! They even paired us up with another couple who we became fast friends with. The staff went above and beyond in my opinion and we walked away very impressed.

Cenote diving was incredible - terrifying and amazing - but we felt safe and well looked after the entire time. As fairly inexperienced certified open-water divers, we are grateful to Diversity Diving for the memorable trip and are still struggling to find the right words to adequately describe what a fantastic time we had to all our friends and family!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    11
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
1 review
“Worth the money!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I went last week with my brother in law and his cousin. Sheryl was amazing! She taught us everything we needed to know for our first time. And the experience was incredible. I highly highly recommend diversity diving to anyone especially if your a first time diver, and have any sort of nervous feelings towards diving.
Our resort offered diving but for the exact same price we got two dives instead of one. And we went into the cenote which was gorgeous. We were lucky to have a photographer on site that day as well. So we have many fabulous underwater photos to accompany our amazing time spent there!! Give them a call. And have fun!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhoenixFireStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Owners! Excellent Experience!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My mom, friend, 17yo daughter and I were in Playa Del Carmen for the week and went on a Discover Scuba dive with Diversity Dive (Cheryl and Jeff). 2 of us were recerts and the other 2 this was their first time diving. The owners Cheryl and Jeff were wonderful. We all felt very safe and we had a blast. Great instructors, they were very professional and flexible and fun. They were very knowledgeable about the area. We felt like we got personalized service. They answered questions through email and phone calls promptly.

We started at the shop on 5th Ave and received instructions then went to a private pool for pool time, had an authentic Mexican lunch, then headed out to the beach to hop on the boat. We did a two tank dive in the ocean. Cheryl was a very patient, knowledgeable and fun teacher to us beginners. The boat was nice and the captain and crew were so helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and will go back. Next time we are in Mexico we will definitely dive with Diversity Diving again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just go there”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Great diveshop with a very friendly, expereinced and flexible staff. They are really trying to accomodate you in all aspects and are ready to adapt depending on your wishes.
The shop is preparing to become an IDC facility, but they are already prepared for anything before the instructor course. Including of course discover scuba diving which is a must if you aren´t certain yet if you want to go all the way.
Please notice, they also have the ability to support disabled divers and they are very eager to do their outmost to help our disabled friends.
Great boat and a very fine crew on the boat.
All in all: Just go there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank Valentin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place / erinomainen sukelluskoulu”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hi,

We were with my girl friend at Playa during christmas 2013 and new year 2014. I went to do my OWD-licensing teaching to Diversity Diving where US citizens Cheryl and Jeff (and their lovely dog Wendy) were at our service. Cheryl, Jeff and Wendy were extremely nice, professional (naturally) and always safety first with all practice. My girl friend Iida, who had already done her OWD earlier, got to do the training with me with reasonable pricing.

Everything went extremly well and could not be more happy with to outcome of my training period with them.

All the best to you Cheryl and Jeff!

Best regards,

Heikki and Iida (we are doing fine in cold Finland)

Sama suomeksi:

Tein OWD-lisenssi Play Del Carmenin lähellä sijaitsevassa sukelluskoulussa Diversity Divingissä. Koulutus oli erinomainen. Kouluttajani ja paikan omistaja Cheryl sekä hänen aviomiehensä Jeff ovat yhdysvaltalaisia ja he panostavat koulutuksessa turvallisuuteen ja siihen, että oppilas tietää jatkuvasti mitä tapahtuu.

Diversity Divingilla on omat veneet ja välineet ja koulutuksen hinta on hyvin kohtuullinen!

Voin vilpittömästi suositella paikkaa! Jos menette tänne, sanokaa Heikiltä ja Iidalta terveiset.

Yt. Heikki ja Iida (Play del Carmenissa jouluna 2013-2014 tammikuu)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diversity Diving also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Diversity Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing