We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,457)
Filter reviews
4,457 results
Traveler rating
2,921
1,021
313
116
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,921
1,021
313
116
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los murales time share thomas moore lap pools taco party dive balam prime rib night all inclusive package all inclusive guests full kitchen welcome party shrimp tacos all inclusive plan pool bar room service free shuttle order off the menu
Filter
Updating list...
3,568 - 3,573 of 4,457 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2011

This could be a perfect desination for an ethnocentric american family. It can feel like one never left the midwestern excited states. There are planned daily activiities for children and their parents. Indeed, there is a feeling of a christian summer camp. If that sounds good to you, this is a great place.

This huge property of over 250 2 bedroom time shared condominium units is in the middle of nowhere. But then, all of the resorts in the Playa del Carmen area are in what was once jungle. The native landscape has been razed to make way for the construction of resorts and time share pyramids. Parenthetically, the 2010 environment summit conference was held nearby while we were staying here. A very interesting juxtapostion...

Anyway, all food and beverage service in this resort shuts down at 10 P.M. The restaurants, the bars and grocery store close are all closed by 10. So, one must get in a cab and go into Playa del Carmen after 10. It is widely advertised that it's a 5 minute cab ride. No way. It can be a five minute walk or more just to get from one's cell to the taxi stand of the resort. The cab ride (fixed price of 100 pesos, about 10 bucks, tip not included) to the center of Playa del Carmen is at least 15 minutes, and can be longer because of traffic.

That said, the rooms are as advertised. Spacious. Comfortable. Really clean. The hot tub on the deck is terrific. Yup, the rooms themselves are just great.

BUT, one doesn't spend an entire vacation in a hotel room.

There are no bidets. There is no room service. One is constantly reminded, this is a TIME SHARE property. SALES of the TIME SHARES are of paramount importance.

There are security personnel everywhere. If you want to enjoy a meal in the ocean view restaurant (beautiful), it seems there's always a cop, (some uniformed staff person) blowing the view.

Incessant whistle blowing at random times of the day. Organized excercise activities. Boot camp.

Light sleepers might want to take a pass. There is a constant air-conditioning noise from adjacent apartments. Not too loud, but always there. 24/7.

A note about BEGGING.

A small envelope left by the housekeeping staff reads: “Royal Resorts is proud of its Housekeeping staff and their excellent work. We keep high standards and will continue to give you the attention and service you deserve. We would like to thank you for tipping our maids and may we suggest that you use this envelope. You can leave it in the Tip Box at the Front Desk, of, if you prefer to give it to your maid in person, please feel free to do so.”

It's begging and it's not classy at all. If the corporation is so proud of the excellent work of the staff, how about paying them enough so there is no begging.

By the way, if you get sucked into the time share spiel, you might want to have a look at the resales of this property first. For example:
http://www.sellmytimesharenow.com/timeshares/index/content/search_sell/offset/0/SearchType/resales/Operation/5/SearchResortID/7165/order/price/

Beware of thinking you can cancel a reservation once made and paid for. This is not a hotel. Once payment is made, the house policy is there are NO REFUNDS. BEWARE! One could make a reservation for a few days to test the water, and extend the stay if the accomodations suit.

There is no charge for internet service in the room, but it's not very good. Too slow to stream video for example. Good enough to pick up e-mail etc.

There is a do-it-yourself laundry. It can be a very long walk to the facility. I don't know why it's closed on Sunday, but it is.

The pricey mixed drinks at the beach bar are severly watered down. Severely. A cheapo grind. Not classy. I never tried the lobby bar. It was closed the one night I tried to get a drink at around 10:30.

Each visiting group/family is assigned a "concierge". It's a misnomer. At this place a concierge is someone who is going to try to sell you the TIME SHARE. These are professionally trained pests. There is no conventional hotel concierge on the property. After all, it's not a hotel.

There are no screens on the windows and doors, and they are needed. If one likes fresh air, maybe when one sleeps, one is going to be bitten. We were here in the high season, a couple of weeks in December, which is the one of the coolest and least humid times of the year. The bugs are a’ bitin’ anyway. One can only imagine what it’s like here when it starts getting sticky. It is in a jungle after all.

This could be a perfect desination for an ethnocentric american family. It can feel like one never left the midwestern excited states. There are planned daily activiities for children and their parents. Indeed, there is a feeling of a christian summer camp. If that sounds good to you, this is a great place.



If I had it to do over again, I would definitely get a place that was either in the town of Playa del Carmen or within walking distance. There are many.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bmalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed at Royal Haciendas over the New Year. We are frequent Caribbean travelers and could not get over how relatively inexpensive Royal Haciendas and Mexico in general was. We rented directly from Royal Resorts. Here are our pros and cons.

Pros: nicely landscaped grounds, terrific heated pools, wide, sandy beach, never had to fight to find a pool chair, awesome hammocks, friendly, efficient, service, plenty of services and amenities (spa, kids' activities, tour desk, etc.), very inexpensive.

Cons: poor food quality, have to switch rooms on Saturdays, some in our group found the beds and pillows uncomfortable, poor lighting in bedrooms, trash on beach near resort (they clean up directly in front of resort but if you take a walk further on beach, lots of trash), music blaring from noisy New Years Eve party kept some in our group up until 1:45 am.

Despite the cons, we would consider returning because the price was so cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My wife and I exchanged for 2 weeks at the Roay Haciendas. We had a great stay, We had a studio (sleeps 2) which had limited cooking but was fine for us. The room was spacious and comfortable. We found the food at the restaurant OK and there were plenty of good restaurants in Playa Del Carmen. The shuttle service provided to get us into Playa Del Carmen worked well. The maid service for the rooms was excellent and everyone at the resort were friendly and extremely helpful.

We thought this to be an extremely well run resort and it lived up to our expectations.

We took a number of excursions and all the tour guides were very good. I may well return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khumbu60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at the Royal Haciendas from Dec.12th to Dec 26th. We have travelled all over Mexico and have never stayed at a nicer resort. The rooms and grounds are spotless and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or courteous. The beach is beautiful and with so many pools and areas to relax on the sand, it never felt crowded. We ate several times at La Posada and once at Los Murales and the food and service in both restaurants were outstanding. The pool restaurant served the best margaritas and best shrimp tacos we have ever had. The store had enough food choices that we never did feel the need to go to the supermarket (although we usually just had breakfast and snacks in the room and went out for dinner). This place would be paradise except for the fact that because it is a time share and not really a hotel, guests who stay more than the Saturday to Saturday time-share week have to change rooms. Because we booked through Expedia we didn't realize this and were shocked at checking in for a 14 day stay to be given 3 different room numbers!! Because we arrived on a Sunday and were checking out on a Sunday, we had to change rooms twice...the second time for just one night!! The check-out time is 11:00 and everybody can't move at the same time, (you have to wait until the other guests are out of the room you are going to). so besides having to empty closets, drawers, cupboards, and the refrigerator each time and pack everything up for a move to another building, we felt like we lost 1/2 day of our vacation time every time we moved. This change of rooms every Saturday is our only complaint but we found it disruptive and exhausting and unfortunately it will prevent us from returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesu222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Our stay in late November/early December was fantastic, as usual. The resort has the best entrance of any I've seen, all lit up with LED Christmas lights, it was beautiful! And again, as usual, the resort and rooms were spotlessly clean, with friendly staff everywhere. Food was good, happy hour (3-6) was wonderful....viva Miami Vice (strawberry margarita and pina colada layered....mmmmmm....The welcome party and taco party were flowing with copious amounts of free drinks and for some reason the tacos were much better this year than last! The only issue we had was with the hot tubs....or warm tubs....they were mostly only lukewarm, only one night one of the hot tubs was actually hot enough to be comfortable, but that was it. I wonder if there is a problem with the heating systems, or are they trying to save money? They were much warmer during our stay in February. Kudos to the staff for getting the Grey Cup game on the net and broadcasting it in the lounge....there's always next year, Rider fans! All in all, though, everyone had a wonderful vacation. Can't wait to check out the new golf course, we managed to walk a few of the holes and it looks fantastic!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnyawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RR_Community_Manager, Royal Resorts Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2010

Dear Royal Resorts Valued Guest:

Thank you for your comments! They are very important for us and help us serve you better.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. As usual, our staff & service always get the merit they deserve. We work hard to make you feel at your home away from home!

I'm sorry about the lukewarm water in the hottubs. I'll be bringing this to the attention of The Royal Haciendas General Manager and will get back to you with a private response as soon as I hear back from management.

Please let me know if theres anything else I can do for you.

Warm regards from paradise,
Camilo Olea
Royal Resorts Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews