We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,415)
Filter reviews
4,416 results
Traveler rating
2,885
1,017
312
116
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,885
1,017
312
116
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos muralestime sharethomas moorelap poolstaco partydive balamprime rib nightall inclusive packageall inclusive guestsfull kitchenwelcome partyshrimp tacosall inclusive planpool barroom servicefree shuttleorder off the menu
Filter
Updating list...
2,435 - 2,440 of 4,416 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We loved this resort. It was decorated beautifully. The maid service outstanding. The beach service for drinks and food was over the top. Thank you Diego. We never had to look for a place to sit on beach of by the pool. Everyone was friendly. The restaurants had a variety of selection. Los
Murales was wonderful. The only problem we had was I asked about the shuttle to 5th ave and was given the times. When we went to go the drive told me I need a reservation to take it. No one told us that. Wifi worked only in lobby and on beach. I was careful what I ate and drank (no ice) and was fine. My husband eat and drank everything and was sick by 3rd day. Beds and pillows very comfy. Lots of family's. We had the All inclusive and it was ok. They need more restaurants and things to do at night.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view. If you get the king and 2 beds in living room you get the jacuzzi on balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank slengyeljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our first vacation to Mexico for our family and it couldn’t have been any better. We enjoyed being out of the mainstream party city of Cancun and we (including 2 teenagers of 15 & 16) really enjoyed the atmosphere of Playa del Carmen’s surroundings. We had a 4th floor Villa Penthouse in bldg. G (447) for the week; perfectly located! Outstanding 5-star amenities and beautiful view to match; just like a post card! From check-in, our concierge Adrian settled us in and was outstanding help until the day we departed! We’re not members or owners, but were treated with the highest respect, courtesy, and friendliest by all staff members; housekeeping, room service, bartenders, waiters, management, etc. Grounds were impeccable! No trash, no rudeness (guests or staff), everybody so polite and helpful.

Never experienced all inclusive, but suited our needs perfectly even with dining downtown a couple of nights. Wish booze included top shelf and other than draft beer, but was more than sufficient for our desires. Poolside eats, beachfront buffet with specialty nights, Los Morales (formal dining), and 24 hr. room service were well balanced for all. Bring lots of small bills ($1s & $5s) for tips and spending downtown.

We took advantage of Thomas More Travel (associated with resort) for airport shuttle, excursions to Mayan ruins (Coba and Tulum), Cenotes (underground swimming), and Xplore Extreme Adventure Park (ziplines, safari ATVs, underground river caverns). A bit pricey, but all well worth family activities. Local travel to Playa del Carmen (about 4 miles) was very easy; free shuttle and reasonably priced safe taxis. Rental car not needed.

Knowing this was an ownership resort (timeshare property), we were not pressured to attend any presentations. Say no; no problem, no pressure. But, understand if you choose to attend the presentation, it is a sales pitch with highly motivated representatives. We attended and representatives were very professional, but persistent. Not a complaint, just an insight. Actually very good opportunity if it’s right for your situation.

Would definitely return to Mexico, particularly the Royal Haciendas and the Mayan Riviera! Thank you for a wonderful vacation!! Wish we were still there!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KC10Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel was ok the food was perfect, the beds sucks. The booking agency was the worst in the world. DO not use Expieda!!!!!!! the customer service of Expieda is the worst. They misrepresented this hotel. The suite (kitchenette) is a small room that is a bed room to a villa. The beach is very dirty and you are not able to walk out like others resorts in Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Suites kitchenettes are a small room that is a bed room attached to a larger villa.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank bcdewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We have a daily schedule for beach cleaning which sometimes can be delayed due to rain or other conditions. However: the waves sometimes wash seaweed up on to the shoreline, this is a natural process and we can do little about it. We are sharing your comments with Resort's Management in order to enforce beach cleaning more efficiently.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I are Marriott Horizons owners and she exchanged for the Royal Haciendas through Interval International. We have had our eye on this hotel for a few years after staying at a couple of Royal Resorts locations in Cancun. My wife was thrilled to see the Royal Haciendas on the exchange list.
Since it was an exchange we had to do the All Inclusive package. Their All Inclusive package was less than other resorts that we looked into but I think the price was on target for what you receive at this resort. I would not argue with some that think it is a bit overpriced but if so it's not much overpriced. We used dined at The LaPalapa restaurant for breakfast each morning and the night of our arrival. The food at this restaurant is great for breakfast and average with a large selection for dinner. We made dinner reservations at the Las Morales Restaurant 5 evenings and the food is amazing. The Morales Penne Pasta is as good as you will find anywhere and the Coconut Shrimp is the best I've ever had anywhere. There are several items that are included in the all inclusive package and those items that are not included do have a surcharge that is very reasonable. The Angus Beef Filet was just a bit over $6 and they have a 12 oz Lobster Tail for a bit over $22. This Lobster Tail would be well over $50 depending on where you live in the U.S. and I would say it was worth every penny. The salads and clam chowder were also amazing. We had wonderful service from all the servers from each restaurant and on the beach as well as the bar. Although we purchased the All Inclusive package I did choose to tip my servers and they were very appreciative.
Our room was a B unit which means it had a microwave and small refrigerator with 2 double beds. It would have been nice to have a king size bed but it wasn't a big deal. The beds are so/so on comfort but they were ok. The grounds are immaculately kept and very spacious. We told our concierge that we were Marriott owners already and were not interested in the timeshare presentation and he politely accepted that. He was still very helpful to us on the one day we chose to go to leave the resort and go to Playa del Carmen and Cozumel. We loved this resort and have been to many others in Mexico and the Cayman but this is our favorite. We will definitely be back to the Royal Haciendas and will encourage our friends and family to join us.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and at first I didn't like the idea until they showed us the room. It was convenient to the main lobby and very convenient to the pool and beach. I'd recommend F142B.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We always strive to provide the highest satisfaction levels to our guests and it's rewarding to learn we achieved this goal with you.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is our 3rd. trip to Royal Haciendas and each one has been a delight. We used the all inclusive and felt that the value was excellant, since we took advantage of all the resort had to offer. The service, as usual, was outstanding; resort grounds and rooms are first class all the way. We would never have a question about referring the resort to our friends or family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank cgoer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews