We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Simply Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our first experience at a timeshare (one week) and it remains the best on our list (since then we stayed at a timeshare in Phoenix, AZ and a timeshare in Napa valley in CA). One word to describe this place: BEAUTIFUL! From the entrance to the ground to the pools to the rooms, everything is well designed and maintained. You will not hear lawn mower noise here, the ground is maintained without motorized equipment. The rooms are spacious, with a hot tub outside the main bed room (our villa was on the first floor). There is a convenient shop where you can buy food if you are inclined to cook. This is more of a family or adult oriented resort, not one of those specially attracting spring break college kids. It is dignified and elegant, with wonderfully organized activities.

You will receive a resort card to be used in all facilities (such as restaurants, shops, and bars) for currency at the resort. At the check-out time, you will receive one big bill which is charged to your credit card at once. One thing to note though is that it is not the most convenient if you do not have a car and want to go to places during your stay. You will need to schedule a shuttle ahead of time or call a taxi. The restaurant service could be slow (though this seems a common problem in hotels and resorts) at times.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treeomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,133
    810
    254
    86
    65
See reviews for
1,728
966
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a very nice resort. The facilities are wonderful. The service is very good. I did have some trouble with the concierge. He gave me great 'tips' daily - about places to visit - but his directions were very poor, and the map he used was inaccurate. I got lost 3 days before I gave up trying to drive myself anyplace. I also took the sales tour - which is supposed to be 90 minutes - but mine lasted 3 hours! and in the end I received a coupon for a $99 vacation which is void/invalid. I lost 3 hours of my vacation time and got nothing in return. It's really soured me on Royal Resorts, and RCI. Next time, I'll take the resort bill credit.

Room Tip: I had the deluxe all-inclusive package and a penthouse room with an ocean view near to the lobby. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExtremelyMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed for a week in a two bedroom villa. The entire property is immaculate, and the staff is superb! We did not do the all inclusive, and I would probably not recommend that option. It didn't seem that there would be enough food options to make it worth while. The housekeeping staff was wonderful. Our villa was cleaned to the highest standard daily. Our concierge, Caleb, was extremely helpful in arranging activities for our group of 6. A couple of our group went to the sales presentation, and we were able to get a discount on a catamaran excursion to Isla Mujares. When we went to the Thomas Moore desk to book the trip, they tried to change the details of the trip, and pass the blame to our concierge that he did not explain that discounted excursion would not include all the same options as the regular excursion. The agent was rather rude as well. Caleb put a $100 credit to our bill so we could do the excursion we had expected to do. THAT is great service! Every employee of the Royal Haciendas was there to make sure that guests have a fantastic experience. I have never been to a place where the employees obviously take their job seriously, and have so much pride in their work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Everyone from check-in to the cleaning staff are wonderful. They go above and beyond. We are not owners, so we used the all inclusive package. Even though tip is included, we still tipped a bit more. Grounds were immaculate. Never saw trash on the floor. Beach was clean. Our concierge Erica was fabulous! We are already planning our next vacation here.

They will ask you if you are interested in sitting in on a timeshare presentation, just say no up front and they won't ask you again. We said yes and it was over two hours. Only down side of the stay, no biggie.

Room Tip: Stayed in B building. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our recent stay was in a rented full villa. Comfort level was amazing and I absolutely love the fact that you can purchase groceries and make your own breakfast/snacks, etc. with the full kitchen. As mentioned in the title, this resort is quiet by cancun standards and entertainment is limited. The resort offers all-inclusive option but since our family rented the villa, we opted not to go with the all inclusive. There are a limited number of restaurants and for the price, the food is simply mediocre. Actually, we were disappointed with just about every meal we had. We have been to the Royal Haciendas in the past and it seems their food quality has gone down several notches.

One complaint we made during our stay was with the Thomas tour group. 5 of our family members chose to go to Chichenitza for a day trip. The package was sold to us as a deluxe package and we were told that a bus would pick us up and take us directly to the tour bus and then directly to our destination. Day of trip, we were first on the bus that was picking up other tourists and last to be dropped off on the way back to hotel. Consequently, our bus captivity was prolonged. Our dissappointment was communicated to the staff and they denied communicating that we would be taken to directly to destination (which was a right out lie). After several heated discussions back and forth, the tour company manager agreed to offer us a discount credit but nevertheless we were very frustrated with the whole process and who wants to go through all that during vacation.

All in all a decent resort. I just hope the management considers better, quality food options.

Room Tip: Would go with 4th floor room and if you get bedroom with full kitchen and living room, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our 4th visit to Riviera Maya, but our visit time staying at The Royal Haciendas. I was leary when reading some of the reviews about the restaurants/food. we don't usually stay at all-inclusive resorts, but so glad we stayed here. Food was absolutely amazing and the staff friendly and very helpful! Our room was very nice and always clean. The pools were amazing and Beach was beautiful! We went to Los Murales restaurant twice and the food was spectacular, wish we would have went more:) The breakfast and lunch buffets very good food, loved the coconut yogurt:) !! Would definitely go back. I went with my 19 year old daughter, sister and 15 yr old Neice. Spectacular, You will not regret staying here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I was thoroughly impressed by everything that the Royal Haciendas had to offer. My girlfriend and I went for a week-long stay, and we loved almost everything about the property. Seeing as it was not peak season, the resort was not terribly crowded, which made for a really lovely stay. All of the resort staff were very courteous and kind, and exceeded our expectation. The pools were warm and un-crowded, the beachfront area was very relaxing, and the service was exceptional. I cannot recommend this property enough to anyone who is looking for a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in D227A, and it was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,495 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,341 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Vacatia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing