We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #48 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the RH for 2 nights to try it out. It was amazing and beautiful and loved it BUT I prefer Cancun. Going to Playa for dinner was great but I like being able to hop on a city bus and go out in Cancun. That is what we were doing comparing. But I would highly recommend this resort, the accommodations are exquisite and the food was fabulous. It is very quiet there very peaceful so if that is what you are looking for you will be in heaven.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmctapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,069 - 2,075 of 3,678 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Place was beautiful & clean. Staff is friendly but they don't speak as much English as the people in Cancun. Nice pool areas. Good food. Happening place around pool. Can get some over indulged people ( I think b/c of all inclusive drinking), but Will go back.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor. Could see over trees. Faced west but buildings hide the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Royal Haciendas resort. We stayed for a week as all-inclusive guests. I found the resort to be lovely, the grounds immaculate, and some of the staff went out of their way to welcome us and make us feel at home. Over the week, we discovered staff at the pool lounge (Eduardo and Julio) and the hotel lobby lounge (Carlos and Nancy) who welcomed us by name and treated us like friends.

The only reason I did not provide the full 5 stars is because the resort was a mix of all-inclusive and time share folks. Because of this, we had to wait for a bill each time we finished a meal. This wouldn't be a big deal, but especially in the buffet, it could take a while to request and sign the $0 bill. To help with this, we learned to request our bill right away after breakfast, as we were often waiting to get out and about to start our day in the sunshine.

This resort was well-suited to my group of friends, as we were a group of moms looking for a quiet week where we could spend time together. The resort did quiet down pretty early in the evening, so is appropriate for families and those looking for a low-key week.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Four of us went on a double honeymoon vacation on an All Inclusive package based on Trip Advisor reviews. We loved it! We arrived just in time for the Monday Taco Party by the pool. We were the only AI guests there (many more arrived later in the week), and you could tell everyone was having a great, relaxed time. A nice buzz filled the pavilion, this feeling continued as we met owners around the pool. There was a lack of spring breakers, making us the youngest and rowdiest ones (30 y/o), which we loved! Not too many children, all were supervised or enjoying the free resort activities.

I had concerns about Los Murales, food upcharges and service based on other reviews…and none of the negative remarks were true. Yes, the pool tiles are slippery and the reservations system at Los Murales is odd, but we ate there at least three times with no issues AND were provided a kitchen tour. We did notice a funny lag time during meals when wanting drinks or where our food might be, but that might be just Mexico culture. Yes, there are upcharges on prime rib or lobster, but who cares when you can get steak and grouper at no additional charge??? Best shrimp tacos and steak nachos I’ve ever had. You must order them! The men had prime rib, we ordered the skirt steak and were all very happy. We never used any beach service, we went and got own beverages from the bar. I saw no problems with the whole room key/signing a ticket. Three of us were former golf pros/concierge so making sure your chit is correct and belongs to the correct guest is a MUST. I saw no problems with their system. The staff was outstanding, we received fast and fun service at the pool bar and Rotunda. The staff has a great sense of humor, and while we used a lot of Spanish, even the night beach watchman spoke English. We ate every single meal (1 lunch at XPlor) at the hotel, and enjoyed it all. The best cigar prices were at the resort store and evening market, but we did massages in town (1/2 the price at Zen/Blue Parrot). The store was priced similarly to the US. We stayed in C419B, and had a beach view better than advertised. Our friends stayed on the first level, no beach view, but the landscaping is lovely. We did do the timeshare tour (which saved us $200 on going to XPlor) so spending 90 minutes with them was worth it. This was the only time anyone mentioned buying anything during our trip. We would return to Royal Hacienda and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: The beach and pool areas are too wonderful to stay in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Culver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We own at the "Royal Haciendas" and go there every January. We love the resort and find the staff to be courteous and friendly. However I don't see the value in the all inclusive package when premium liquors and certain food items have an upcharge. We will look at it again next year and hope they make improvements to the all inclusive feature. It's not all inclusive if it doesn't include everything!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dlfitzpatrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I just spent 6 days at Royal Haciendas. Many reviews we read prior to going had us concerned. We had a wonderful experience and chalk it up to people complaining just way to much! The ONLY complaint I would have is that the ocean is almost completely unusable. Way to rocky to get into. (we wondered why in the world they didnt just clear out the first 100 feet to make it usuable for guests. Perhaps there are Government laws against this and if so we understand).
The staff was wonderful, was not bothered about time sharing and showing room card and signing for food/drink was NO BIG DEAL. The grounds of this hotel will blow you away. Just beautiful!
I would love to go back to Royal Haciendas but I cant as I LOVE going in waves and ocean and this cant be done at this hotel. Makes me sad actually. If you are not big on going in water then this place is fantastic!

Room Tip: Try to get 2nd floor and up for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Royal Haciendas property in Playa del Carmen is a beautiful property with a great beach and pool but the service and attitude of the staff was well below what is expected at that type of resort. Very heavy sell job for the time share. The Spa was great and the Murales restaurant on property is fantastic. Played golf at the Grand Coral on property and they made you rent their clubs even if you had outside clubs. I would pass on this course and try one of the others in town.

Room Tip: Every room is basically the same but the higher floors will have a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schwartzbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,805 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#12 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#99 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#8 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,565 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
16,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $187 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing