We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #49 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Royal Haciendas is an elegant, family-oriented, full service hotel. It's not a spring break type of place, but warm and receptive to families. Beautiful grounds, luxurious rooms and some great food! We really enjoyed our week's stay. The travel desk is very helpful finding trips or excursions you're looking for. My son wanted to go fishing, but since he's ten, I didn't want him to go on the deep sea excursions advertised everywhere. The desk found a small outfit that does short trips close to shore. It was a great trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,216
    843
    268
    87
    70
See reviews for
1,813
1,001
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,013)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I'm in the middle of a great stay at the Haciendas.

All-inclusive: I'm an owner here, so I did not have to buy the all-inclusive package. (Hint: If you rent *from an owner* rather than directly from the resort, you also won't have to buy the AI package, unless you want to, of course. You'll also get a better rate.) Contrary to opinions posted here, I did not find much if any effect of the new AI model at the resort. There were no loud drunks, if any drunks at all. The program was pretty invisible to me. Things might be different during college break time.

PARENTS: See my note on choosing rooms. No Phase I if you have small kids (3-6).

WiFi: The internet is terrible, but many rooms now have their own APs installed. Mine was a little round device on the shelf above the main TV. HOWEVER, my WiFi was still terrible when I arrived. Really bad. Solution: I unplugged and re-plugged in the AP, restarting it, which fixed the problem! I was able to watch Netflix, Skype (with video), etc. Just unplug the device and plug it right back in. The WiFi login page is a bit obnoxious/hyperactive.

The food is good, the service is great. I particularly like the enhanced Kids' Club (made possible in part by AI), which allowed me to drop my two girls off as early as 9 and pick them up as late as 6, including an option for lunch. Be sure to pack snacks and water, and extra sunscreen. I'm not sure if the KC staff knew to reapply sunscreen, so you might have to drop in to do that.

The sales pitches are a bit over-eager, but they will take "no" for an answer. The one-hour presentation will be enticing, but if you really just want to get on with your vacation, don't go. I had no problems leaving on a taxi, although I was asked where I was going. I spoke to the woman at the exit about this, and mentioned the negative mentions on TripAdvisor about this practice. She asked me, quite sincerely, how she should address the problem, indicating it was the first she had heard of it. This means, to me, that despite all the comments from the resort here, our comments are actually *not* getting back to the staff. That's a shame. All the staff here truly do want their guests to have a wonderful time and they deserve to get honest feedback.

Room Tip: Try to get fourth-floor if you don't get an ocean-front unit. Try to get phase I; phase II inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlanTeew2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Royal Haciendas offers incredible service, beauty and great accomodations. The full kitchens allow for cooking at home once in a while. There are a lot of activities for people of all ages. The entire resort is kept up very well and there is always a sense of home when you stay there. I go every year with my parents who own there and it's a trip I always look forward to.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Litlbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What we love most is that you FEEL like you are in MEXICO with the beautiful decor of the building. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The activities are great for adults (we do not travel with children, but the ones there seemed to have a great time) I like the Zumba classes and water aerobics best.
My disappointment is that you cannot trade to go there unless you take the All Inclusive package which is not worth the price unless you are a BIG drinker. As a result the prices for food and drink have gone up from the past 4 years we have been going. The food was a little better, but still not worth the All Inclusive price with only 2 place to eat there. However, the restaurants in town are great and the taxises are reasonable. They did provide some free shuttles to town on the weekend.

Room Tip: We really never had a problem with any room we were given over the past 4 years.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JO ANN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We are owners at the Royal Sands and decided to extend our vacation for a few days. We have visited the Royal Haciendas on a day basis, so this was our first time staying here. Cancun is a wonderful vibrant place to visit with so much to do you can't fit it in 1 week. Playa del Carmen is the opposite! Our stay at the Haciendas was wonderful and relaxing. The pool was never crowded and very easy to find chairs no matter what time of day you went. Enjoyed the music coming from the swim up bar. Classes held in the activity center were well worth going. They had yoga, Pilates, Zumba, and more every morning. The beaches were quiet and enjoyable to walk for miles. The drinks were not watered down. There is plenty of space even in the lock- offs to cook in. Will definitely go again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank trvellinggrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed 4 great nights at the Royal Haciendas with our two kids aged 7 and 9.

The positives:
The one bedroom suite was perfect for us, with two single beds that pulled out of the wall
Inclusive at dinner includes some bottles of wine ( we were AI)
The kids club was fantastic, especially since we had some rainy days.
The beach goes for miles in either direction so you can take nice long walks/runs
It's 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen

Negatives
You need to charge your room at $0 for anything from towels, sodas, etc. Do not go anywhere without the card.
The beach was nice but there was not a good swimming area.
It is very quiet at night, so don't expect much going on after 9p

A nice, clean hotel that we would return to.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank gjv12474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We exchanged our Marriott Shadow Ridge in Palm Desert. We had not been to Cancun area for over 20 years - boy has it changed! The resort is huge and beautiful - but never felt crowded. We were a little concerned that we were required to pay the all inclusive fee since we were not owners - but was pleasantly surprised with what received. The buffet restaurant had a great variety and if you chose to you could order from the menu. The pool bar food was also good - love the shrimp cocktail. The other restaurant was excellent - we went three times. Staff was friendly although we did notice wearing the band showing all inclusive we didn't get as much personal attention until my husband starting tipping (the all inclusive package said it included tips). The resort was very clean as was our daily maid service. We made it clear when we got there that we didn't need the personal assistant as we were going to be lazy and could find our way around. No pressure at all to do a time share presentation - a BIG PLUS! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lhomer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,649 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,736 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,677 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,715 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Tres Rios
Hacienda Tres Rios
#62 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing