We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holidays at the Haciendas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #40 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I've been coming to the Royal Hacienda for 6 years - always an exceptional vacation experience. The staff and service is the best I've encountered ANYWHERE.
The is my first time during the holidays (Christmas). The weather is the best possible, very little humidity and 78 -80 during the day.

If you want to be pampered, and truly unwind - this is the location for you.

Tony Nicassio

Room Tip: I prefer ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TonyNicassio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,356 - 2,362 of 3,950 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

Best attributes: very friendly staff, beautiful and very well maintained 2bedroom suites and grounds, excellent value for the money. They also have plenty of staff who cater to singles, couples and families while controlling raucous behavior and blaring music.

Biggest area to improve continues to be internet connectivity. Much better than last year...moving from awful to poor. Add an absolutely awful (outsourced) tech support and you long for home or office where simple email and web browsing is much much better.

Only other improvement: maid service is incredibly good and thorough but very slow.

Room Tip: Rooms floor 1 to 3 are absolutely identical. 4th floor rooms have higher ceilings and there are two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan650678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We visited the week of thanksgiving and had a great time. The place is beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in a beach front unit and loved it. The employees are very friendly. The beach was cleaned regularly and finding chairs down there was never a problem. If you want a massage or need to rent some jetskis just walk 10 minutes down the beach. The place seemed very safe. Played golf at the Grand Coral and Playa Parisio and both were in great shape. There are two reasons I don't give this 5 star and both are very minor. First, the restaurant service is very slow so don't plan on a quick meal. Secondly, there is an activity board but it seemed like several of the activities just didn't happen.

This place is laid back and quiet which we like. I traveled with my wife and 13 yr old daughter and we would hang at the pool or beach most days. There is a nice gym on site with plenty of workout equipment. We did one day trip to zip line at Selvitica and it was excellent. They picked us up at the hotel and took us right there and back. It is one of the best excursions we have ever been on in Mexico. The Thomas Moore travel desk on site can hook you up with no trouble. Finally, I suggest using a transfer service to get to the hotel. It's very easy, reasonably priced and private. We use cancun transfer.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 600BillF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a very nice resort but has some quirks. The first of the challenges we were facing as "non-members" is the fact that we stayed 10 days. A stay that is not scheduled by the week (Saturday through Sunday) causes problems for the guests and the resort. We had to change rooms on Saturday and were actually going to be roomless for a number of hours depending how things went. After explaining to a helpful front desk manager that we paid for 10 days not 9+ days, they shortened the process down to about 1 hour. But, as another reviewer mentioned, they did move our baggage, etc into our new uncleaned room. Not a big deal, but made us twitch a bit. (To be fair, we did know in advance that we might have to change rooms.)

We also came to the conclusion that this is not a great all-inclusive option. Now let me be clear - the rooms are wonderful, the staff are exceptional and the view from virtually all rooms is great. However, the decision to include an all-inclusive option has not been well thought out. There are only two true restaurants, with the "high-end" restaurant (Los Murales) only open for dinner. And dining in this restaurant - there are additional charges on roughly half of the entrees! The other restaurant (La Palapa del Sol) has a fantastic view, right on the beach. It offers a different themed buffet each day of the week and a menu service as well. Again, the menu option has surcharges on some choices. And, we were stunned to find out that even the prime rib buffet has a surcharge, if you ask for a piece of beef. Really? And the gift keeps on giving - for example, at the pool bars (which also offer a limited food menu), if we chose a XX over a Corona, there was a surcharge. Really? So, to call this all-inclusive is quite the stretch. The final straw for us was discovering that they closed Los Murales on Saturday so we were down to one restaurant choice. And this on the day that most of their guests check in!!!

This resort appears to be set up to service the needs of the owners/time-sharers. And this seems to be done well. But, before it can be considered a premier choice as an all-inclusive they really need to add at least one more restaurant, rethink their charge processes (see an earlier review for a description of this antiquated process), find a better way to accommodate mid -week vacationers and eliminate the very annoying surcharges.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank albertabound55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

All the employes at the resort treat us so great, and make our vacation extra special. The housekeeping was exceptionally great.
The internet/WiFi was great.
Planning our trips thru Thomas Moore was so easy and we had great excursions!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We became members from the first season the Haciendas opened and we love it! We have week 51 (Christmas week) and never feels crowded. We never have a hard time finding a chaise and the pools never feel crowded. Our villa is always super clean and the staff are the kindest I have ever met. The resort is beautiful and the staff is always working on fixing anything that needs repairs. The grounds are impeccably manicured. We have been coming here for 8 years and will be coming back fir many, many more!! Shhh..don't tell anyone how great it is...we don't want it to get any more crowded!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Periojustin1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I've stayed with friends at the other Royal Resorts in Cancun, which prompted me to look at the Royal Haciendas. We couldn't resist it's charm and have returned for several years now! I like it's location better than the others in Cancun proper, because it is further down the coast which maintains a more "natural" setting with restrictions on building height and any overall visual manmade encroachments. It's amazing to me that there are these hidden gems in the area despite looking like there is nothing surrounding you and your resort!! It definitely gives you a relaxed, get-away-from-it-all feel, yet with luxuries and comforts of a premier resort.

The resort is right up on the beach and being across from the island of Cozumel it maintains a "calmer" beach which lends itself to friendlier beach and water activities. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, jet skiing, sailing, boating all are easily accessible from the beautiful Haciendas beaches. Of course I am charmed enough just by plopping down with my favorite read on a chaise lounge underneath a beach palapa with regular visits from a friendly waiter who even remembers me (and my preferences) from year to year. There is also beach volleyball and other beach activities which can be signed out at the activities center by one of the the nearby pools.

The pools are amazing and among my favorites in the world! Swim up bars, infinity ledges, sunning platforms that hold the beach chaise at just the right height at water level...and of course lap pools that also serve as water polo and water volleyball pools, children's pools (complete with led activities) and large hot tubs in general (along with the individual jacuzzis on each villa's patio/deck!) There are water falls and fountains that keep things moving as well as beautiful tile work which is lovely to look at while "bopping" around or sitting on the ledge edge with drink in hand. There are also many "hammock pavilions" around the property...so fun, relaxing and comfy and very popular!!

The rooms are spacious, well decorated and supplied with daily room service! They are gorgeous in and of themselves without all of the other amenities the resort has to offer. Having full kitchens with granite countertops and the latest appliances allows you to cook, bake or bartend your own concoctions and even the studio rooms have the best mini-kitchen I've ever seen for an accommodation of that size. The bathrooms are also spacious with good lighting and storage space, and the showers are spacious and beautiful too. Every aspect of your day has been thought about and designed to be one of luxury and ease!!

Food and drinks are available everywhere with an array of restaurant options, walk-up/swim-up bars and 24 hour room service! The chicken lime soup is my son's favorite and he orders it almost every day that we're there. Nothing has ever compared anywhere else in the world. And that's saying something! I am partial to the amazing fish tacos. Of course there is always the Palapa that is right on the beach and serves an amazing buffet and a la carte choices. Go there right when you check in for a meal to feel you have "arrived" right on the beach...you'll have to pinch yourself a few times before you believe you're not dreaming.

The staff is very friendly and hospitable. English is spoken well, although Spanish is welcomed! Spanish classes are even offered as an activity during the time of your stay if you wish to take a break from the sun and expand your repertoire. Activities are also offered for all ages, abilities and interests on the resort properties, as well as having an A-one travel agency on site to arrange your airport transportation and many wonderful guided trips or excursions throughout the Yucatan peninsula. The hotel is situated very close to many of the most popular day-trip destinations, giving you even more options and flexibility. There are tennis courts on site too, as well as a renowned golf course. Something for everyone for sure.

I could go on and on about the various aspects of the resort, but I shall save them for specific reviews. If you are thinking about a beach resort that has it all, this is it. It is set apart, in my opinion, by it's guest satisfaction and return clientele. It has a very loyal employee program as well as the resort line is the best in the business about treating the staff and their families with courtesy and respect as much as the clients. Win/win, as it shows in the satisfaction and happiness of the staff! Would you ever want anything less? I think it also reflects on the integrity Royal Resorts has as a company and on the integrity and quality of care you will receive on every level. It has certainly been the case with us which keeps us coming back year after year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wanderbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#47 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,447 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#32 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,976 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#41 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,474 reviews
2.6 mi away
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachclub
Porto Playa Condo Hotel & Beachc...
#14 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
665 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#15 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: $235 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing