We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$293
$200
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $224/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$191
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
$297
$278
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$587
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
$423
$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
$401
$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
$1,434
$761
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
$486
$349
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$562
$472
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $532/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
$973
$450
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $597/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (4,157)
Filter reviews
4,157 results
Traveler rating
2,696
977
304
105
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,696
977
304
105
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos muralesrotunda bartime sharethomas moorelap poolstaco partydive balamall inclusive packageall inclusive guestsfull kitchenwelcome partyshrimp tacosall inclusive planpool barroom servicefree shuttlepersonal concierge
Filter
Updating list...
2,654 - 2,659 of 4,157 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed at a place in Cabo with similar layout (perfect for family of 5) and looked forward to the same here. Resort was beautiful, and we loved the area of Mexico! Frustrations in a nutshell; 1) consider your "concierge" a salesperson- the one very good restaurant for dinner was never available through our concierge ("if you were only a member"), but we stopped by directly and got a reservation every night, 2) if you go all-inclusive, you are wearing a bracelet that somehow resembles a scarlet letter (seriously saw waiters at the pool grill tossing a coin to see who was stuck with us - this got better later in the week as it was known we do tip, eventhough resort boasts tipping is not expected (shame on them because the employees expect and deserve it)) and expect small glasses and bottom-shelf liquor if you imbibe, 3) you may be forced to move, as we were and told not to expect our room until 3 or 4 because that's check-in time (we'd been checked in for 2 nights so this was irritating - had to laugh when we were moved to our new room (dirty and mid-day) and told "welcome home"), 4) Oddly, you are expected to guess what you will spend there for a credit card hold (if you go over, you must return to the front desk and offer your card again - we bought some art one night and got the voice mail and decline at the restaurant the next morning - great incentive to spend at the resort!) Otherwise, kids club was great for our boys, the buffet restaurant had a great view and just okay food, the spa services were fantastic (really an awesome massage!), and the time away was much appreciated! We will return to Playa del Carmen and consider carefully where we stay.

Stayed: June 2013
7  Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your comments about your most recent stay with us. Royal Resorts is a timeshare company with 35+ years of experience in Mexican caribbean, however: we will never support or encourage the behavior described on your review in any member of our staff. Rest assured we will make sure your comments are reviewed by the appropriated channels so that our service may improve. We're glad to learn you and your family enjoyed kids club and spa.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lets see--we arrived at the resort excited about our vacation only to find that they had charged us an additional $50 late fee for the "maintenance fee" We never received a bill,email, phone call, carrier pigeon message about the bill or late fee. I got it credited back but only after several calls while on vacation...fun times... The members meeting with the free breakfast is another 4 hour sales pitch so you "can unlock the full potential of your membership"--which would have cost us an additional $25k. Still bothered by the $8 a day gym membership--you would think that ownership + $100 a day "maintenance fee" would include the little gym. The La Palapa food was very good except for Oriental(Asian) night. Too bad you couldn't enjoy it because there are no fans in the place and 90 deg temps coupled with swarms of mosquitoes does not lead to a nice dining experience. I was on crutches while there and the floor of the La Palapa was like an ice skating rink--very slick and dangerous. The resort started an "all-inclusive" package that would have cost us an additional $170 a day. You could tell the people that took advantage of this option as they were slobbering drunk at the pool. So much for the family environment. Not sure how it is non-profit as management makes around $2million a year from the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ensignjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Than you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your comments and as you know, we have adressed them already and the appropriated channels have reviewed them with actions been taken right after we received your feedback. As you may know by now, we always strive to provide the highest levels of satisfaction and we regret we didn't achieve this goal with you. However, your comments point out our opportunity areas and give us a reason to improve which for sure we will do.

We sincerely hope to see you again soon and welcome you to your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed here in 8 days in April 2013. The room was big, clean, comfortable. I loved the oversized tub/shower combo. My room was located a few steps off the sand, it was so lovely. Room service was good, but it took about 40 mins to get our food everytime. The restaurant was top notch! The guests were mostly 55 and older. I'm 32, and I felt like the youngest person on the resort, it felt nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Californialoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Online Community Administrator at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We are glad to learn you had such a great time at Royal Haciendas and that you loved the facilities. Our resort is a mixed use resort and does lend itself to a few challenges, nevertheless we always strive to provide the highest levels of satisfaction and will put extra attention in our delivery times. We are glad you enjoyed the beach and the views.

We would like to see you again soon and welcome you to your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel shuttle service good but cost extra as most do. Ours was about $100 for 5. Not a long trip from Cancun airport. Check in was smooth but ask for an upgrade to ocean front or at pool and we were told there were no rooms available (however upon looking resort over most balconies looked empty). Our villa was G151 (refine all-inclusive package family of five children 7,11,9) very nice, large master with jacuzzi on deck large makeup area and walk-in shower. Kitchen area with all u need. But we didn't need to use anything but fridge. Living area with two pull down twin beds! 2nd bedroom with two beds large closet and bathroom and small kitchen. Drinks were restocked daily in our room. Daily cleaning
and turndown service. Rooms stayed cool! The walk to pool and beach was not bad. Okay so lets hit the high points: All inclusive - I think the still have some work on this one. Our first day at pool it was after 4 before waiter asked if we wanted a drink. You are appointed a concierge that did try to get us to do a timeshare presentation but I didn't feel over pressured and did not do it. We went to lunch when we first arrived and were told that our all inclusive doesn't start till the following day. After speaking to several people it was all resolved. You can't make reservation at the nice restaurant until day of and you have to have your concierge make it for you. ( dress code not strict ladies/girls sun dress, men/boys golf shirt and kaki/ black shorts. Dress sandals/flip flops. You can order room service! And you can have all the adult beverages just not top self or select wines, and only corona and one other beer on draft. No bottles. Food was good a lot better than the all- inclusive we have been to before! Some items did have a surcharge like foods prepared table side. But there were plenty of options and never
found ourselves missin out! Pool was large, clean. Beach towels at pool no need to bring your own no charge just sign them out and refresh them as often as you like. Beach front nice has reef areas roped off. Beach felt safe walked up beach with my 7yo during day. Can sign out snorkel equipment at towel stand. Kids club my 7yo loved and says she wish she could have spent all her vacation in it. Spa only done the Fish spa that was cool. I did review prices on the massages and they seem reasonable! The store in the resort had everything that you could need but a little overpriced. Most all the staff spoke good English. Things I missed was night life and entertainment. Other places have shows every night and my kids love going to those but no shows here. But still a great place!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jannell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

As owners at the RH and Royal Mayan you can see the imperceptible shift to the all inclusive formula. This is disconcerting to owners and othernowners we talked with during our two week stay. There is an emphasis now on the hard sell to get you to buy at the new property, change your week, or get into the new signature program. It left us with a very bad taste. Food has declined while service is still good. They can't keep the quality with the .AI formulas, plus therein not enough variety for this type of structure. Going with an .AI plan doesn't make sense for a property that has been marketed and sold on a fixed week basis for a long term property basis. RHETORIC needs some moremcosmetic upgrades as well. Staff still the best around.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews