We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still our Home Away From Home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #49 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still our Home Away From Home.”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We own at the Royal Islander, but since the Royal Haciendas opened, it is our choice via II swapping, 2 weeks per year. This year was 4/27 to 5/11. I was concerned with the recent management change and the institution of the new outsider's All-Inclusive requirement. But, my fears are gone and seeing a higher occupancy rate and improvements in the food and mixed drinks make me think it was good and necessary move. Having more guests can only help the amount each owner must contribute to operations. Also, the high speed internet let me enjoy the smart phone features I count on to stay in touch and research the restaurants in Playa.

Now, there is always room for improvement, and I have these suggestions:
1) Institute a laundry service. There is a laundry there where guests can wash their clothes, but based on a 2 week stay, I calculate a load costs me more than $30 plus the actual cost (about $3?). All considered, it costs me about $6,300.00 in total to stay 2 weeks and after ignoring sleep, it costs me about $30 per waking hour to enjoy the luxury of the Haciendas. Combine the laundry service with the daily maid service and charge anything you want. I would be on the beach reinvesting my savings by ordering another margarita.
2) There was a second thing, but I just can't remember it now. Guess it wasn't that important.

I guess asking for a clothes-optional beach is asking for too much. Maybe in 10 year, or so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drac61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,258
    864
    274
    90
    71
See reviews for
1,868
1,013
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good value for this location. Courteous concierge and staff. Clean rooms and facilities. Average food. Thomas Moore transportation exceptional and reasonably priced. Pool bar/grill was nice as was the swimming pools.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonBFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just got back from a week's vacation at the Royal Haciendas in Playa del Carmen. My Husband and I were invited down by my Cousin and his wife, who are owners. This was our first trip.

From the time we stepped foot onto the property, until the day we disembarked to fly back home to Charlotte, NC, our stay was "perfect!"

All the four of us had to worry about was where to eat, what to drink and did we want to go to the beach or the pool first!!!! That is what I call a VACATION!

The staff was WONDERFUL and worked extremely hard to make sure our every need was met!

My Husband and I took advantage of the spa and had fantastic massages and a very lovely and relaxing experience.

If anyone is looking for "a little piece of heaven on earth" the Royal Haciendas is the place!

We will be back!

Gracias to all of the wonderful staff!!!
Ron & Diane Harrelson

Room Tip: Suites on the lower level make it much easier to come & go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was our first time to Mexico and all I can say is WOW, the staff was amazing and so polite and the resort is beautiful. We were helped with booking all of our trips and they have the softest white sand. Victor and Javier at the poolside bar are the best bartenders ever and knew everyone by name. We can't wait to come back !!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have vaulted ceilings and a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green bay, Wisconsin, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had an average hotel room with exeptional maid service. The beach had the softest sand and for the most part the water was warm and clean. We ate as part of the all inclusive package, the buffet was okay( at times i would have been upset if I had paid for it), los Murales had great food. The service by all of the wait staff was fast and attentive. We were able to take a shuttle into Playa del Carmen right from the resort, this was great to have avaiable with little effort. We thought overall the resort was beautiful. One experience that left us bitter was the way the staff tried to force us to buy a villa when we repeatedly told them NO, so if they as you to meet up at another time and you are not interested in buying, tell them no and do not show up even if there is an appointment; this was a terrible experience. The pool was the perfect temperature and the swim up bar was great. There are whirlpools available, but expect it to be warm and not hot.

Room Tip: we had two beds in the room and we felt the beds were a little small. we are average people, not on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laura z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The facilities of the Royal Haciendas are second to none. The grounds are extremely beautiful, the pool design is excellent and the rooms are clean and roomy; plenty of storage. Everything was excellent, except the service. I think the main problem with service is the fact there is a blend of members and all inclusive guests at the resort. The two do not mix well, in fact, very poorly. When asking questions about the facilities or activities, it didn't seem that the right hand knew what the left hand was doing. Everytime you asked a question, you would get a different answer or be pointed in the wrong direction. I believe that the poor service is a direct result of the all inclusive package at the resort. We spent our second week at the Royal Islander, and the service was excellent as usual.

The service was too poor and we felt too isolated at the Haciendas. We will stick to the Royal Resorts in Cancun which we have been coming to for 12 years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Staff is so nice and friendly and fun. Resort is relaxing and beautiful. The pool is large with plenty of lounge chairs. The beach is gorgeous too. Always something to do every day there is something going on or of course you are free to do nothing but soak up the sun.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,846 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#97 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#29 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,810 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,907 reviews
0.7 mi away
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Playa Del Carmen
Azul Beach Resort The Fives Play...
#56 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
6,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing