We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
cancun
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Exceptional friendly and upscale resort. Beach and pools are terrific. All restaurants exceptional. If you are on an all exclusive not enough choices but who cares? Downtown Playa is a foodies heaven.Lobby Bar is a secret , buy one get one all drinks not just frozen mexican variety.Shots and Vodka included.Units are beautifully done. Its 5 O'clock Right Here.

Room Tip: Well obviously as close to beach as you can. Last floor up is penthouse floor so have vaulted ceili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dochjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,175
    825
    261
    87
    67
See reviews for
1,763
989
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (994)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorktown, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family of nine, ages 9 - 76, had a wonderful week at the Royal Haciendas. There was plenty to do and lots of time to just relax. The fitness classes at the resort are fun and enjoyable. They are taught at a skill level for anyone. The resort has beach towels, snorkel equipment, some sporting equipment and kayaks that are available to check out. We bought gym and spa passes that were $38 for 8 punches. A punch was per day. At the spa I went to the sauna, steam room, jacuzzi every afternoon as part of the pass. The staff was wonderful and the mint drops in the sauna room was fantastic.

Our room was very nice. They had salt & pepper and dishwasher detergent. We went into town to buy groceries. The hotel shuttle provided transportation. If you do this, take large rolling suitcases to carry your purchases. The shuttle stop is several blocks from the store. Having said that, the resort store prices were very reasonable for bottled water, frozen chicken, beer and other things. The downtown store had better prices on fruit and veggies but some were very heavy to carry back to the shuttle.

I read other reviews that said the internet connection was awful so they paid for the high speed. We did not pay and had not problem connecting, checking emails and other sites. Now we didn't connect often, this was a vacation, but when we did it was fine. Our room faced the ocean, maybe that helped.

All in all, a wonderful time for all of us. It's a relatively quiet resort and by 1030pm it's very quiet. One down side were the sand machines that ran at 530 every morning. Would have preferred quiet or just the sound of the ocean. Would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DST1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind words about our resort.

We develop our resorts always keeping family in mind and It's very rewarding to learn you enjoyed the amenities at the resort. In fact we are considering go take some fitness classes too as they're so appreciated by our customers. Cleaning the beach is an important activity that insures you can enjoy it everyday. We understand your point of view and will make sure to address this to the appropriate channel so that our service may improve.

We will be happy to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmundston, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very Nice hotel resort, food was awesome, quiet place, friendly staff, ... the AI is not worth it, if you can avoid it, avoid it. They don't have enough restaurant, even if the buffet is impressive and top noch quality, it would help to have a few more restaurant because the resort is far from Playa Del Carmen (you need a TAXI, or a rent-a-car) but for evrything else, it was really nice. The pool was awesome, the beach was awesome (even if it was windy). The 5th Avenue is a must for anybody, and it is only 10 to 15 minutes away with the shuttle or taxi.

Room Tip: Don't take the AI
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your comments and will make sure this are reviewed by the appropriated channels so that our service may improve. Nevertheless, we always strive to provide the best service available and sincerely hope you enjoyed your vacation at Riviera Maya.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, IL
Level Contributor
136 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Four of us stayed in a unit at the Royal Haciendas in April 2012. It was extremely roomy, with two full bedrooms, two balconies, a large full kitchen, dining and sitting areas. The main restaurant serves a different buffet style each night, so after traveling to Playa del Carmen the first night, we ended up eating at the hotel every other. Because of the large kitchen and the great grocery store within the hotel, we cooked most breakfasts in the room. The pools are beautiful and heated, which is a big deal in the cooler winter months. There are lots of activities and we enjoy fun spanish and dance classes. Very relaxing atmosphere, beautiful beaches and pools. The service is exceptional. Most service providers speak very good english.

Room Tip: Every location is good. The smaller lock out side is a very large hotel room, including large bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccheath54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to share your comments about our resort.

Is very important for us to receive feedback from our customers and of course we appreciate your kind words. We're glad to learn our resort's villa fulfilled your needs and that you enjoyed activities offered in site.

Every member of our staff is able to opt for educational programs to speak better english. It is very important for us that our guests can communicate with anyone of us if needed. We're glad you noticed it.

We are already looking forward to welcome you during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minier, IL
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Yes, I am an owner. The reason I chose to buy here is the close proximity to Playa del Carmen, yet the isolation on the beach and the weather. It's a healthy walk to the next hotels and into town. Plenty of activities for the family - Yoga, AquaAerobics, Snorkeling, Jogging, Games, Pool and Beach Volleyball. Equipment for golf and water sports available. Excellent dive shop on premises. The restaurants are very good with good variety-elegant, buffet, a la carte, and pool bar/grill. A reasonably priced grocery store is off the lobby. A beautiful environment with mosiac pools, landscaping and water features, infinity pools and a white shell beach - wide and well-maintained and a friendly well-trained staff. I find this resort is safe and user-friendly. Yes, the view of the sea from the upper floors is spectacular, Cozumel lies on the surface of the sea, while the young landscaping screens some of the lower villas' view, but that will change in a few years with the growth of the trees. The wi-fi will improve as demand increases. This management group is pretty responsive to guests requests. A lovely respite from the winter of Central Illinois. Take the Back of the House tour. It's phenominal how this resort is run.

Room Tip: Villas facing the south have full sun all day. North facing villas have sun on the terrace early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubblesMinier_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words which we find very rewarding. It is very important for us to receive our customer's feedback and we will make sure your comments are reviewed by the appropriate channel so we can improve our services. We're glad to learn you enjoyed back of the house tour, is our way to offer a different approach to the Royal Experience for both our hosts and guests.

We are already waiting to welcome you at your home away from home.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My parents are timeshare owners and we've been going down there for the last 4 years. Everyone is so friendly and the resort is beautiful! The beaches are kept immaculately clean and couldn't be more gorgeous. I love that I can take my time getting to the beach in the morning b/c I can almost always find a lounger and a palapa for some shade. They aren't all taken by 7am by folks who won't even occupy them for hours and hours. The water is a gorgeous blue and turquoise.

I will say there are a few drawbacks: the gym is not free (but, well, let's be honest, I wouldn't use it anyways), the wifi is beyond slow - but free! and you can upgrade and pay for faster service (which we did not do), and the food - to be honest, it isn't the best - but it isn't bad either! Also, it would be great if there were more shuttles to the town - but again, it's only a $10 cab ride so not really a big deal. One last little nit picky - all of our pillows were rather lumpy.

The last thing I'll say is that I'm disappointed RR is no longer associated with Interval as I think RCI has terrible options for trading - but again, we never trade so I'm not sure that will be a big deal either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your honest words. Is very important for us to receive feedback from our customers as we are convinced that listening to you will lead us improving our service and achieve the maximum satisfaction levels. We'll make sure this comments are reviewed by the appropriate channels while we continue to work in search of excellence.

We will be honored to welcome you again next year here at your home away from home.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo.
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Everyone at his hotel were so nice and helpful, spoke great english. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. This was the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. Beautiful clean beach. They had a great little market that had everything you could need or you can make the short trip into town. This was a very quiet and relaxing resort, very family oriented, but not annoyingly so.

They have a complimentary shuttle Monday-Friday however they book up very quickly and the times are not very convenient. The last one into town is 6:30 and the last one back to the hotel is 6:00. The taxis are not expensive but it would be nice if the shuttle had more times and more of them. That my friends is my only complaint. I loved this place and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post about our resort.

We appreciate your kind words and we're glad you noticed the hard work that is done by staff keeping the facilities clean. On the other hand, we'll pass your comments about shuttle to the appropriate channels so our service may improve.

We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,582 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,519 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing