We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had a Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Haciendas Resort mid-December 2012. The resort was very nice and the staff was always very friendly and willing to help however they can. The beach was beautiful and the rooms were quite comfortable.
We stayed in one of th Junior Suites, as a guest with someone who had a timeshare there. We did not have an all-inclusive pass and had to pay for our own food and drinks. The alcoholic drinks, for the most part, were pretty expensive. The breakfast buffet was very good and somewhat reasonable priced. We got groceries in Playa and/or at the resort grocery store and cooked our own lunch/dinner meals in the kitchen of our room, which saved us quite a bit of money.
The pools and resort grounds were beautiful and well-kept. They have a tennis court, a golf course right across the road, and many daily activities to keep the non-beach bum busy and having fun.
The WiFi was quite slow and spotty to come by, but I really didn't want to be plugged in the entire trip anyway...
We had a great time here and would definitely like to go back someday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to review our resort.

We are always listening our customer's feedback and will find ways to improve and give you the service you deserve.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    698
    220
    73
    58
See reviews for
1,418
866
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great pools with lots of chairs; hammocks everywhere to relax in. Nicely appointed rooms with lots of space. Friendly staff.

Small grocery store on site with basics - we typically only eat breakfast in the rooms and it was more than sufficient. Food at the pool good for lunches. Playa del Carmen is only 5 minutes away with many great restaurants for dinner.

Location is central - about 30 minutes if you want to go to Cancun and about 45 minutes to Tulum.

Beach on one side got a lot of seaweed each afternoon and the staff would rake it up and bury it each day. Beach chairs on the other side get taken pretty quickly to avoid the seaweed, although the facility claims they do not allow people to drop towels off to "reserve" the chairs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dandlsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking time to post about resort.

Our resorts have a policy that asks members and guests not to leave towels on beach chairs they are not using. Thank you for reporting this, we will continue to enforce this policy.

We are looking forward to welcom you again in your next visit to Mexican Caribbean.

Warm Regards

Cristóbal Galindo
Comunity Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Were we surprised when we went to check in and found out they didn't tell us about the "All Inclusive" charge of $105 per person per day. It really made the start of our vacation on bad footing. Thank goodness my husband didn't listen to me when I told him to leave his credit card at home. Felt like we were tied to the Resort instead of touring. Drank too much, ate to much. Didn't feel like we got our money's worth, since netiher one of us are drinkers or like to stuff ourselves at every meal. The service was great, maids were wonderful .Just be AWARE! montana

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Laurel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Back from 2 weeks of my 5th annual vacation to the Royal Haciendas. It's been a slow decline from the exemplary service of previous years. The biggest problem is the poor internet service which is posted as "free". If you want to try to read your emails it is free (and painfully slow). Otherwise it is $79 per device per week! So if my villa has 6 guests, all with at least 1 device (cell phone, iPad, laptop, etc) we will ALL be paying for better connectivity. As an owner I find this deplorable. We are in the 21st century. Starbucks and Panera have free hi-speed internet...can't this resort? In addition, service at all of the restaurants was lethargic. The wait-staff remains the same and they are lovely, but there appears to be a decrease in the number of staff. I shouldn't have to wait 20 minutes to just get a menu at the poolside restaurant. This was followed by a 40 minute wait to get a Ceaser salad. We killed an hour at this restaurant when we thought we'd be having a quick lunch then back to the pool. The quality of the food remains above average except for Los Morelos, but the service has lost it's elegance. Many features of previous years (table side food prep) have been eliminated since becoming an "all-inclusive" as well. Watch out for the hot-tubs which now double as kiddie-pools despite adult-only signage. The rooms are looking tired with nicks and scratches and peeling paint. The resort needs to decide if it's going to be a time-share or an all-inclusive...it's unknown identity has removed it's character and charm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank RobinMtLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Royal Haciendas is an exceptional place to stay. The area is well maintained and the staff
is well trained and willing to assist in any way. I would highly recommend this resort, not because I am an owner, because it truely is a garden spot which everyone should have the opportunity to experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristóbal G, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to post this kind words about our facilities.

We're convinced: our staff is very important and we're glad you noticed the hard work they do by keeping everything in order.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again here at your home away from home.

Best Regards.

Cristóbal Galindo
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

As a returning member, I was somewhat disappointed this trip. Still the same great service and manicured property, but it seemed that there were fees for everything, and I don't remember that from previous trips. As mentioned, the internet was painfully slow, so much so that I waited to write this from the airport as I wait for my plane! It was so slow that uploading any kind of map was basically impossible, and I would only check email and go online if I were also watching TV or had some other distraction. It was possible to purchase faster service, but expensive. Other disappointing fees were 8.00 to use the exercise room/equipment per day or 38.00 for the week. Printing our boarding pass on the last day was a 5.00 fee unless we agreed to do a TripAdvisor review, and we were given instructions on how to do that and then print the boarding pass, but even then we would have been charged for 10 pesos (about 80 cents) for each sheet of paper! The luggage scale in the lobby was "coin operated" as well, so we just waited to print our boarding passes and weigh luggage until we arrived at the airport. I'd like to say that I am not cheap, and could easily have paid for these services, but as a member was disappointed that they were not included; I was just annoyed with them. We paid thousands of dollars for our membership and spent also several hundred dollars on food and beverages during our week's stay. I understand that they need to generate revenue, but in retrospect it made the "Welcome home" greetings that we received on the first day seem less than genuine. Also disappointing was the hot tub, which never did seem to really get hot, but was more like a warm pool with jets.

All things considered, we did enjoy the vacation. The room was very nice and the bed was super-comfortable. I can no longer say that I would recommend purchasing a membership to friends, however; I just felt too nickel and dimed on this trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mimi_MN1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The worst Intenet service in Playa. Trying to charge $79 per device for "free internet" otherwise the internet is so slow you cant use it.

Per device. I had a laptop, phone, iPad for the 4 people in villa. They wanted $79 per device per week!

Turned a great time share into all inclusive with drunk people.

Took away great food and now have less than good food.

Hot tubs are filled with kids, babies.

They gave 2 of 4 tubs called hot tubs and made them for children. Kids don't belong in hot tubs. Now all adults try to cram into tubs which also happen to be cold. They should call them tepid (if you are lucky) tubs.

Beautiful place that has become a rip off

Room Tip: All rooms identical. Penthouse units quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 2,116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#86 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 738 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#14 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 13,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#32 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 8,514 reviews
1.0 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#13 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Tres Rios
Hacienda Tres Rios
#56 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 stars 4,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing