We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Haciendas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #49 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Royal Haciendas”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed here the last 3 years and each time it is a fantastic experience. When pulling up it feels like home and the staff is execellent in every way. We enjoy our relaxing time at the pool and on the beach. The rooms are very nice, clean, and comfortable. Each year we look forward to returning for a relaxing week in the Riveria Maya.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,216
    843
    268
    87
    70
See reviews for
1,813
1,001
46
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,013)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We rented the villa with the king-sized bed room, the full kitchen/living/dining room and the adjoining 2 double-bed room. There was MORE than enough space for the 5 of us in the villa. The rooms were very clean, some of the furnishings were slightly worn, but nothing unsightly. The kitchen was well stocked with what you needed to cook and eat with. Housekeeping did a great job. The grounds were immaculate and very well manicured. We had no problem whatsoever with being bothered about a timeshare. The concierge came to our room one day to tell us about returning and what kind of good deals they could give us, but he just wanted us to come see him about that. We never did have time to do that. The convenience store was well stocked and the prices were okay- if I needed just one or 2 things, I would buy them there rather than going into Playa del Carmen, but for a big shopping, I went for WalMart or Mega. The pool temperature was perfect, the hots tubs were not as hot as I liked, but I just went back to my room and ran a HOT tub on my deck- that was awesome! We only ate at the resort once( since we booked before the AI went into effect)- we ordered room service. The waiter was wonderful, set our table and put all the dishes out for us! The food was moderate-good and priced reasonably. We chose room service, because the buffet would have run $100 for 4 of us (2 being children!) and that was crazy. The resort was quiet and restful, no loud crazy drunk people or partiers. The beach was nice, and the amount of seaweed people complain about on this forum was not nearly as bad as what I was expecting. Unfortunately when we were there, the wind caused the surf to be slightly rough and we could not use any snorkel equipment. The beach chairs and palapas were great. We stayed longer than a week, so we had to change villas, which was a bit of a pain, but I didn't let it ruin my trip. We rented a car, and were never bothered as to where we were going when we left. The resort is only 5 minutes from Playa del Carmen. All-in-all I enjoyed my stay very much and would go back, and recommend it as a place for friends/family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 4kidsisplenty9193014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've stayed at three Royal Resort properties in Cancun. This is the 2nd time staying at the Royal Haciendas. We rented directly through a timeshare owner in order to avoid the all-inclusive fees.

Pros: Very clean, spacious, friendly staff, nice pool complex, nice beach, close (1hr walk on beach) to PDC, but far enough away so that it is quiet.

Cons: The internet does not / barely works. It's 2013. This is unacceptable. Unfortunately, some of us still have to be connected to work while on vacation. The internet is frustrating on many levels. First, you have to put in a connection code each and every time you connect. If you are inactive for 5 minutes, you have to reconnect. Why they even need a code at an isolated resort is beyond me. Second, the speed is slower than 1992 dial-up, and unless you are using it between 4am-12pm, you basically have no internet at all.

In addition, if you need to do laundry the charge is almost $3 per load, but they limit the load to 3KG which is basically 1/4 full. So in order to just wash (not dry) one standard load of laundry, it costs $12.

Also, the only restaurants open during the evening on-site are high-end. One of the pool restaurants that are more moderately priced with standard Mexican fare should stay open in the evening if you don't want to cook/go out.

Further, you have to get a check-out card in order to just leave the resort. We were hounded by no less than 4 bellhops on our way out for this card (which was provided to the first one). 4 star resorts don't require you to have a "6th grade lav pass" just to leave. It's just not classy.

Finally, this is Mexico. The worst thing about the Royal Resort chain is that they use an absolutely terrible mix for their margaritas. They are unpalatable. I can buy a better mix from a US liquor store. If you claim to be a 4 star resort in Mexico and don't make fresco margaritas from fresh limes, you aren't 4 star.

Overall: For the price we pay through 3rd party "owners", the value is worth it. The resort is well-kept and the service is very good. This is a good value in the $200-$300/night range for a 2 bed condo in the peak season, and $150-$200 in the off-season. The $110/pp all-inclusive is not worth it. We will continue to return so long as we can find a value in that range. It's a very nice 3.5 star resort that should be priced accordingly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willisdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Some background - I travel for business and leisure in excess of 100 nights per year. I stay in high end hotels and resorts, and have high expectations. My stay at Royal Haciendas was limited to one night - less than 12 hours. I was booked into the Fairmont Mayakoba down the road for 6 nights in a pricey suite, but was arriving late at night (10pm) and needed a place to stay the evening prior, and didn't want to spring for another expensive night at the Fairmont, when I discovered the Royal Haciendas. We ended up in a two bedroom master suite for about $325 including all taxes.

I have lots of positive things to say about this hotel. We experienced none of the negatives I have seen noted by others. The reception staff was friendly and efficient. There was no attempt to sell timeshares or anything else for that matter. Our suite was large, relatively tastefully decorated and clean. We enjoyed a very moderately priced, but excellent buffet breakfast. All of the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and service oriented. The pool area was large and inviting as was the beach. Very good onsite grocery/sundry shop that was large and fairly reasonably priced.

A few negatives. First (and this was noted was one reviewer, but I had forgotten and did not plan ahead) - there is only bar soap in the rooms. No shampoo. No conditioner. Nothing but bars of soap. I have stayed in plenty of timeshares and never experienced this one before. As we checked in at 10pm, and were up early, this was a pretty significant annoyance. In fact the shampoo issue alone drops this property from 4 stars to 3 stars in my book, as it sends a far bigger message about service. Memo to management: if you want to skip the shampoo for your owners, so be it, but transient guests should be getting shampoo in the rooms.

Second, the hotel quotes all prices in pesos, as is customary (and I believed required in Mexico), but at checkout they convert the pesos to US Dollars, and make the charge in US Dollars. This is unsua (everyplace else I used a charge card the charge was made in Pesos)l, but when I looked at the conversion rate I realized why they do this - the hotel used a $1USD = $12.15 peso exchange rate, while American Express was using the official rate of $1USD = $13.1 pesos. So a $1000 peso charge that should be $76.33USD gets billed by Royal Haciendas at $82.30USD - basically an 8% markup on everything you charge to your room on the property. Even if you dont carry a charge card that uses the official rate without a markup (plenty of cards do these days), you charge card is only going to add 1-3%, not the 8% Royal Haciendas is dinging you with. Very slimy.

Other minor issues: pillows are pretty lousy. Sheet quality is mediocre. Towels were fine. We brought bottled water with us from Avis at the airport - thankfully, as none was in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BeantownFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds at this resort and very nice rooms.
If you are a beach and ocean person, you will want to stay at the Royal Resort properties in Cancun. The beach here, on the Mayan Riviera, is not very clean, at the Hacienda, and the water is full of rocks, so it makes playing in the ocean very difficult.

The food is good, the staff is excellent, and very helpful.

The personal Concierges are very aggressive in wanting to sell you a timeshare.
This resort is far away from Cancun, but close to Playa Del Carmen. If you want to be far, away from hustle and bustle, this is your resort.
The actual resort is stunningly beautiful and the buildings have "old world charm"
We had the opportunity to stay here in early Dec. and the Christmas decorations were so festive !!
Now that the resort has become all inclusive to timeshare owners who trade to come here, it has gotten very expensive to stay here. Unless you drink a lot, it is not worth the all inclusive price. They are determined to sell membership to everyone.
We will likely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shauna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Our family spent the holiday at the Royal Resort and enjoyed it very much. The accomodations were very spacious and comfortable and the service was excellent. The beach was lovely, great for sunbathing and walking.

Room Tip: I would request being as close to the water as possible for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luanda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The beach are gorgeius, the villa with 2 bedroons are exceellent , the staff is friendky but he food is average to bad.
The good restaurant is always fully book and close saturdays and sundays, the activities dont work on saturdays and sundays.
Nobody told us that we had to move during our saty, the internet do not work , they offer you a special internet for 15 us i I oay and did not work either , and the help line did not help.
We had the all in privilege package but you have to pay stra for some items and hamburger is consider a expensive meal and is xtra.
It the administration change a few things this can be a fantastic place, if you are prepare for bad food , slow service and no internet is a fantastic place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felipe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
2,652 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,738 reviews
2.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
9,677 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,716 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hacienda Tres Rios
Hacienda Tres Rios
#62 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing