We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our December in Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #47 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Saint Charles, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our December in Mexico”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The Royal resorts really know how to treat a girl.
Love Love Love
My husband and I relaxed on the beach and enjoyed our villa at the Haciendas.
Loads of things to do and the staff meets your every need.
I rate it as excellent.
If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view. No bad choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ninanader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,180
    829
    261
    87
    68
See reviews for
1,768
993
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We are owners at the Royal Haciendas. We truly enjoy the two weeks we vacation there and also the activites offered by the resort. You can begin your day with Yoga or Pilates Ball and move to Zumba or Step Aerobics. They offer water aerobics twice a day as well as beach and pool volleyball. You can check out snorkel equipment and kayaks. They have a fitness center for guests use for an additional fee. There are activities for the entire family to fill up the days besides relaxing by the pool or ocean front on the beach. They offer childrens activities throughout the day. In the evening they have a Spanish class. There is a gaming session for the gamblers in the group(no investment required). It is a good learning experience for Vegas.

The employees are very helpful and friendly. I only wish my Spanish and their English were better, especially the cleaning staff. The rooms are clean and maid service efficient if not always expedient. If you re-position chairs or furniture to your liking the maids will 'always' move it back to a pre-determined location when they clean the room. Some minor issues are dangerously dull knives provided in the kitchens. No broiler pan or grill available for guest use. Bedding is soft and lumpy. Pillows are hard. Noise from people walking on the tile floor in above units. Ceiling fan transformer noise which is irritating at night when you are trying to get to sleep. Run the dishwasher when you plan to not be in the villa. They are extremely noisy.

I hope the resort will employ certified Yoga Instructors. The people who held the classes I attended this year used unsafe moves and positions especially for the clientelle they cater to and they do not practice correct Yoga formatted exercise routines. The resort has lost some of their talented activity instructors since last year.

The golf course on the premises, Grand Coral, is in excellent condition and challenging enough to lure you back to the links. You can also golf at the Iberostar resort course. The resort provides clubs for free or Calloway clubs for an additional rental fee.

Playa del Carmen is an interesting cultural area. There is a mix of old and new in the area and a walk from the Royal Haciendas into town(3 miles)is an enlightening experience. They are building a new calle into downtown that will join with 10th or 5th avenue and become an added venue of tourist storefronts and timeshare entrepreneurs. Much of the flavor of the old part of the town will be lost. Progress isn't always a good thing for visitors or residents.

The Royal Resorts offer an all inclusive option to owners. At the Royal Haciendas you have to opt in for all inclusive if you are not an owner or a guest of an owner. The food offered in the La-PaLapa Del Sol gets mixed reviews. We shop in town at the Mega store which is cleaner and has a higher quality of meat and seafood choices than Walmart. You can take the van to town and a taxi back to the resort from Mega.

This is not a party resort and is generally quiet after 10PM.

Room Tip: Top Floor South Facing side which is the F building in Phase II and the B building in Phase I or oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Excellent facilities and location. Very friendly and helpful staff. One word of caution. They state that the water in the facility is filtered or purified. While that probably makes it better than the average water in Mexico, that DOESN'T make it trouble-free. While I brushed my teeth with the water with no problem, one evening I drank a small glass of water offered during a spa treatment at the resort (otherwise I consumed only bottled water/beverages). By the next morning, I was experiencing classical "tourista" symptoms. (I had not been off the resort for several days so this was my only opportunity to be contaminated). So, enjoy the resort but don't drink the water!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are 6 year members of Royal Resorts and believe they know how to run a five star resort. Of all the Royal's we love the Hacienda best and that is where our villa is. The grounds are kept immaculate and filled with local plants and trees that get larger and more beautiful each year we visit. The decor is interesting, lovely and cheerful; colors and tints change throughout the day and are beautiful even at night. The staff is uniformly friendly and efficient. You are safe, but still have a very large area to wander around and more to do than you can fit in.

Room Tip: We like the upper beach front units when available. The interior units are excellent as well, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This resort is one of the nicest on earth. The rooms are amazing and you get your own Jacuzzi on your terrace, very big and nice TVs. The service is great. The food is amazing. The staff are kind. The resort has so many things to do, a kids area, pools, whirlpools, hot tubs, beaches, the ocean, restaurants and bars, and fields. Its so clean. Their are these relaxing swings across the resort that are so nice. Its a amazing resort, they could do better on Wifi and more activities. The room service was also great! A superb spa, I got great massages.

Room Tip: Get a room either on the ground floor so you will have a private grass area or second highest becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The resort was exceptional once again. It is very well maintained and very clean. The pools are very nice and the beach front is amazing.

We took hour long walks down the beach in the mornings and the other resorts we passed do not even compare to how nice Royal Haciendas is.

Entire family enjoyed the stay (same as last year) and we are looking forward to returning next year as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have been member since the begining and we love it their except for the all inclusive and poor Wifi. Only Two restaurants, not enough for an all inclusive.
We own here because we wanted peace and quiet, Not all the alcohol you can drink, We do not want to see drunk people everywhere. And the staff suffers also, Tips are less and their work is more and stressful. They also need to do a better job with Wifi.

The beach, rooms, view, pool, staff and Golf Course nearby is excellent. Only 5 Min to Playa Del Carmen.

Bernie H, Pennsylvania

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,597 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,599 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,558 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing