We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, great time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice location, great time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Secure beautiful location where all your needs are met be a wonderful staff. The room (villa) was emaculate and very roomy. Dive shop on site was very convenient, but other activites were very close by. I had a car, but transportation to activities was usually included. Wifi was not consistant and when you had connection, it was usually slow. Paid for All-inclusive which was mandatory, little expensive, but I think we got our moneys worth. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better view. Obviously ocean front is got the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,089
    797
    248
    85
    63
See reviews for
1,686
955
44
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I just came back from a week's stay at this resort. We are owners of The Royal Caribbean in Cancun and had never been to Playa del Carmen so we decided to switch.
The resort offers the same wonderful ammenities as our home resort. It is wonderfully maintained, the units are beautiful and comfortable and the staff is extremely friendly.
The downside for us was that this resort has now started an "all inclusive" meal program.
While all meals were good, the resort only has two restaurants which makes it boring when having an all inclusive because you end up going to the same two places for the entire week.
Also, one of the restaurants which is a bit upper scale has surcharges on most of the entrees on the menu. Not very expensive but you don't want to pay extra when you are already paying for the all inclusive. Most importantly, the beverages included in the program are very, very low quality. Basic Mexican drinks such as Kahlua and Corona are not included. In this aspect we were disappointed. We do not recommend getting the all inclusive if you are not a big drinker....Otherwise, very very nice....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alina1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta NJ
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a beautiful resort on the Mexican Riviera Maya south of Cancun. The grounds are are immaculate, the staff very friendly and the beach is great. There is a lot to do in the area as well as within the complex. It is a timeshare facility. I traded in but I enjoyed it so much I bought a week!! Don't miss dinner at Los Muerlos, their wonderful new seafood restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFCSpartaNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We recently returned from our holiday at the Royal Hasciendas Resort. I can only echo the praise which others have reported here. It is a beautiful complex, the grounds are immaculate ,the pools clean and not too deep,which is something I always worry about. There were plenty of comfortable sunbeds and welcome shade. Service was exceptional from the waiters in all areas, they even serve on the beach. We were treated with the utmost of respect and there was a smiling face and an "ola" from any member of staff we came into contact with.
The very large apartment was top class and cleaned daily. Clean towels whenever we needed them and our own jacussi ( cant spell it), which was great to lounge in after a long day in the sun.
The food at Lapa Lapa was of a high standard. Our welcome there and banter with staff encouraged us to return lots of times.
We hired a car for 2 days.no problems there very simple ,no hassles. We travelled along the coast to Akumel ,simply beautiful, the beach was wonderful and we enjoyed watching the pelicans for hours. Our trip to Chicken Itsa was long and tiring. There is very little shade there and I foiund it hard to concentrate on the guide in the intense heat. Im glad we went but would warn anyone to take lots of sunscreen and a hat.
The location of Royal Haciendas is not good if you do not have a car. For us It was expensive to go into town by taxi. We used the shuttle bus at 6.30 pm but returned ourselves ,cost 140 Pesos each time. Playa Del Carmen was lively but more suited to couples and those who like to spend their evening eating and watching the world go by. Prices were a little high at times and the choice was mainly mexican or italian. The shops were the usual mix of designer and T shirt/drinks and jewelry.
Overall I would rate this holiday as one of the best places we have stayed in terms of accommodation, good service. and friendliness of staff. It was a peaceful relaxing holiday and I would recommend it for mature couples like ourselves, not that we are boring, we just needed a relaxing break!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genie291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our stay at the Royal Haciendas has been a wonderful experience! The villas are beautiful and the service here is first class! We are not owners . . . but we have still been treated royally! The people here are super friendly, and they bend over backwards to fulfill any need you have.

Our only complaint is that we can no longer travel up to the other Royal Resorts in Cancun by shuttle without paying a fee. Even still, we would highly recommend staying at the Resort. The beach is beautiful, the food is good, and it's only a quick trip into Playa del Carmen for an adventure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

When we were looking at possible places to stay for a vacation in the Riviera Maya in Mexico, my girlfriend spotted the Royal Haciendas via her time share information. That was a stroke of luck that lead us to one of the most amazing resorts there…The Royal Haciendas!

The place is fairly new and extremely well kept (both grounds and beach area). The Staff was VERY attentive from beach, to poolside, to the restaurants on site as well as the “house” staff. Their courtesy shuttles offered easy, carefree rides into Playa Del Carmen (only a few miles away) and more.

The Royal Haciendas are about a 40 minute drive from Cancun Airport. We had rented a car for the week, but with all available at the Royal Haciendas (including airport shuttle and by the day car rentals there) we realized we really didn’t have to rent a car from the airport.

Finally, the pricing of food and drinks were highly reasonable as well… Only real advice would be to pace yourself at the pool bars…Happy Hour Starts at 3 pm and they make some awesome drinks ;) We certainly feel we struck gold in Mexico by staying at The Royal Haciendas!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The trip from the airport to the resort was easy and quick, the roads are in great condition. The staff was very helpful, spoke excellent English and were quick to offer suggestions for everything from great local places to go eat to things to see while we were there. The rooms are beautiful and fully equipped with everything we needed to cook meals in the room or reheat a meal from one of the on site restaurants. And those restaurants were great. They have options in all price ranges and the shrimp tacos were the best I've eaten in my entire life. Happy hour was fun and the drink specials were great. After happy hour the drinks gets expensive but that's why you drink during happy hour. The onsite grocery store had most everything we needed and the prices were very reasonable. The beach is pretty. It's not a huge area but the sand is white and the water is pretty close to clear. They play sand volleyball daily and show movies outside on the side of one of the buildings 3 nights a week and it was so nice to just relax in one of their lounge chairs, listen to the ocean and watch movies.

The 10 days we were there went way too fast. The resort is beautiful. The ocean is beautiful (especially after the seaweed a storm had kicked up was gone!) It was a truly relaxing vacation!

Room Tip: The closer to the beach the better the view from the rooms but all rooms overlook the beautiful cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bull284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,461 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#31 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#29 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,390 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#12 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Petit Lafitte
Petit Lafitte
#6 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#14 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing