We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,414)
Filter reviews
4,414 results
Traveler rating
2,883
1,017
312
116
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,883
1,017
312
116
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos muralestime sharethomas moorelap poolstaco partydive balamprime rib nightall inclusive packageall inclusive guestsfull kitchenwelcome partyshrimp tacosall inclusive planpool barroom servicefree shuttleorder off the menu
Filter
Updating list...
3,398 - 3,403 of 4,414 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2012

After trying 4 other resorts in Playa, most all inclusive, I have finally found the PERFECT balance of class, comfort and flexibility. We were recommended by a friend who owns here and upon arrival things ticked along according to plan [most unusual im Mexico!] We enjoyed a premier suite for a reasonable cost and took advantage of the free shuttle into Playa to buy groceries at Mega and cooked great fish and seafood in our well equipped kitchen. When we did not feel like cooking there were numerous restaurants on site [one of which is very good] and the always available 5th Ave Stroll. The staff is very helpful and the entire resort is very clean and well laid out. The ocean view from our suite was the icing on the cake. Ownership is a serious option for me after this holiday and the sales center was not pushing or aggressive in any way. Give it a try...you might buy!

Room Tip: Pick C or G block; best views
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hdbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a timeshare location that we exchanged weith Interval. Elegant, Beautiful rooms, friendly staff, great activities- especially the yoga class. The water ws too choppy to use the kaykas or snorkel right from the beach but we took long walks on the beautiful beach.
There is a small market on site with decent food. A free shuttle to town is available. We made the mistake of "buying" excursions from the airport but the staff made a deal with us and gave us a trip to Xel-Ha in exchange. Saved a bunch of money on that! Met some great people from other parts of the county.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kateReading_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Royal Haciendas is as good as it gets! Great beach....just beautiful. We played the golf course for the first time this year and it's awesome. There is something for everyone here. Come and enjoy. Playa Del Carmen blows away Cancun.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeyNow42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This is our family's sixth trip to a Royal Resort during the last week of the year. The first three trips were to the resorts in Cancun (Sands, Caribbean and Mayan) but the last three years have been at the Haciendas. We're a big group (17 in all) with ages ranging from 4 to 68, with teens, young adults and 40-something parents. Some of us like to sit by the pool or beach, others like more adventure, some like to cook in the condo and others like to eat out every meal. The Royal Haciendas works for all of us. The rooms are beautiful and spacious (we cooked Christmas dinner for 17 in one condo), the pools are wonderful and the beach is terrific. It is a quick cab ride to the wonderful restaurants in Playa del Carmen and various groups booked excursions (swimming with the dolphins was a favorite) through Thomas More travel, with pick up and drop off right in the Haciendas lobby!
The only downside is that there is not much action at night (especially for teens and young adults) but we let them take a cab to Playa del Carmen every evening and eat and socialize on 5th Avenue. We always feel very safe, both at the resort and in Playa del Carmen.For the little ones (in our group 4 & 7), the activities are great.
While I know that many people prefer all-inclusives, we love this because it allows you to eat at really interesting restaurants in the city, cook in the room or eat at the resort.....and it costs much less!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LovesTheBeach946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Twice in one year! Yes, we so enjoyed our stay in January that we went again in May. The service is impeccable, the staff (hotel, concierge, bartenders, etc) are gracious, polite, and very attentive. The grounds and facilities are spotless and beautiful lush with Mexican flora and fauna. There is never a problem getting a lounge chair at the pool or the beach. The free shuttle to Playa is a great bonus too!
The only problem is the long wait till we get to go again!

Room Tip: We like the ground floor so you can exit from the front or back of the unit.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RobinMtLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews