We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay- coming back for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Ranked #44 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Stay- coming back for more!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Went there for a girl's getaway trip. We knew this would be a nice, relaxing vacation after reading this was not a place for partiers or spring breakers. The resort is definitely that. We were the only 'singles' at the entire resort (minus the teens with their parents).

I absolutely loved our room, double bed, small kitchenette area and large bathrroom. Perfect size for 2 of us, probably a litle tight for four. The resort has a convenient grocery store/shop that we stocked up on breakfast supplies and mid-day snacks. We only ordered from the grill twice I believe, prices aren't the cheapest there. The Happy Hour Specials are great!

The staff is very friendly and accomodating. We made great friends with the outdoor pool bar servers. Always attentive to what we may have needed. We also frequented the gym, but still think the price per day is a little high (I think it was $7 a visit). Next time I'll buy the week pass vs. per visit.

The resort is located just before central Playa Del Carmen, we averaged a $10 cab ride (in USD) each way and went into town each night. I HIGHLY suggest venturing out to the restaurants in town vs. hotel. The hotel dinner menus seemed extremely overpriced.

Ended up buying a vacation plan through Royal Resorts and am excited for my return visit!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haliay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,179
    827
    261
    87
    68
See reviews for
1,767
991
45
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Is a beautiful resort, very well mantained very accomodating. This resorts was extremely accomodating from the minute we arrived there. I could not asked for better it exceeded our expectations. A lot of times we ate at the palapas del sol restaurant.. one of the resort restaurant excellence service, totally accomodating as my husband and I are vegan they went out of their way to accomodated us with the buffet, one of the waiter at the restaurant name Roman was wonderful excellent waiter.we will never forget him . the whole crew including the cheft and the manager were excellent,,, not complaints at all, they really have a top notch service, this was my first time to Mexico I was very inmpres with the Riviera Maya, the place is beautiful clean and warm I had a very memorable experience,, thinking of going back next year... I was taken by the culture, beauty and the warm people of mexico that maded it very pleaseant., I loved playa del carmen" breath taking beach" over in 5th ave at playa del carmen you feel the mexican culture, totally beautiful... we also did excaret, tulam, and the other mayan ruins and the beautiful blue lagoon, also snorkling on the underground rivers ... and swam with the whale sharks in open water. We are looking foward to go back to the Riviera maya but only if I can stay at the hacienda ... only 10 minutes away from playa del carmen. We also visited cancun while there but I prefer the Riviera maya ,,I was very impress... will defitnely go back..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sushinestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpalecaso
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Our family of 5 stayed here for 4 nights (July 23-27th). I picked this place, because of its location near Playa Del Carmen (PDC), good reviews on TA, and the room size. The location did not disappoint..it is on a nice beach and 5 minutes away from PDC. We had a rental car, drove ourselves to PDC and had no problem finding parking there. We stayed in a 2 bdrm/2 bathrm, beach front villa which was very large with a full kitchen and a large balcony facing the beach. I guess we were not that impressed with this resort, because we had just stayed at Westin Lagunamar and had higher expectations. This is probably a 3 star resort. After arrival, we were in the check-in line for about 30 minutes, eventhough there were only two groups in front of us. There was a hotel staff in the lobby with free horchata and jamaica with a tip jar with "Tips" written on it next to the drinks, which we thought was pretty tacky. When we got to our room, we noticed a used soap bar and an empty bottle of water in one of the bedrooms. Their cleaning services definitely need improvement. There's a sign in the kitchen about a $75 cleaning charge if the kitchen is not clean and a kitchen inventory list that needs to be turned in...things that we didn't see at the Westin.
Since it was late (around 10 pm) and we were all tired, we decided to order food from La Palapa restaurant. The tortilla chips were stale, the pizza was terrible, and the buffalo wings were hard and chewy and tasted like they were warmed in the microwave. After that, we decided not to eat at any of their restaurants, which is hard since there's no place to eat nearby. So if you don't have a car, you are at their mercy. We ate at the restaurants in PDC and Akumal while there. The pools were large and nice except that we noticed some reddish, foamy stuff at one corner of the pool floating on the water that looked like vomit. It's a very loud place and while on the grounds you can hear people talking on their balconies, kids screaming, and loud music coming from the rooms. There are kids everywhere, which is ok by us since we have kids of our own, but it was kind of strange seeing unsupervised kids hanging out by the pool and hammocks late at night. I would not recommend this place to couples without kids looking for a romantic getaway.
The beach area is not very wide, but the water is nice, calm, and more clear than in Cancun. There are some rocky areas that can be avoided.
We were not interested in attending timeshare presentations (especially at this place) or hearing about the activities and tours since we already know the area and had our daily plans/excursions in place before arriving there. They called us a couple of times to meet with our concierge for a welcome package, but didn't go and were left alone after that.
Overall, this is an average place to stay for a family. It's a good base for touring the area. We went to Playa Del Carmen, Tulum, snorkling in Akumal, and ziplining at Selvatica (see separate review). I would highly recommend Carboncitos Restaurant in PDC and the brownies at Ah Cacao. We ate at La Buena Vida in Akumal. The food wasn't that great, but the beautiful location can't be beat!
We really enjoyed our vacation and can't wait to go back, but will not stay at the Royal Haciendas again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alpalecaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilo_Royal_Resorts, Community Manager at The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the waiting time during your check in, I'll inform management about it so that front desk staff can act quicker next time. I'll also report what you mention encountering in your room so that the maids are more carefully in their cleaning.

I am truly sorry to read that the food quality at La Palapa did not meet your expectations. I'll pass a copy of your comments to management so they can follow up and make the necessary adjustments.

Our pools are frequently cleaned and inspected, however, I'll also mention this to management to ensure that the pool cleaning staff steps up inspections.

Having said this, I'm glad to read that overall you had a good experience and would be happy to welcome you back to show you how we've improved our service.

Warm regards from Playa del Carmen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I spent 9 nights here in Feb. 2011. We very much enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend this resort for anyone looking for a nice, relaxing getaway. The resort is located about 10 minutes from Playa Del Carmen.

Likes:
- Our efficiency suite was ample in size with two very comfortable queen beds and a good sized bathroom.
- Very large closet, including a (free) safe.
- Functional mini-kitchen.
- The on-site convenience store was well stocked with food, beverage and personal supplies...a little pricey perhaps.
- Workout room had a good variety of equipment. All was is very good condition.
- Nice variety of pools for adults and kids.
- Nightly 2-1 happy hour!
- Excellent on site fine dining.
- Very well maintained landscaping. Beautiful!
- Nice variety of optional (and free) adult and kid activities.
- Onsite tour staff was very helpful!
- Timeshare sales pitch was totally painless. Thank you!
- Personal concierge was very attentive...until we told him we had no intention of buying a timeshare :-)
- Maid service was very thorough, including moping the floors every day!
- Free shuttle service
- Beach/pool side service was very attentive and relatively quick.
- Private airport shuttle worked out great!
- Generally very quiet after 11pm. You'll certainly want to head into Playa if you're looking for nightlife.
- We loved Chitzen Itza...But would NOT do the all day bus tour again. Would recommend you spend the extra $$ for a private car tour. You'll spend more time at this WONDERFUL site and less time going from resort-to-resort picking up other guests. What a waste of your vacation time!
- We felt very safe the entire time we were at the resort. No problems at all! Also no safety concerns in Playa. Aggressive vendors, si...but that's half the fun!

Dislikes:
- Having to sign-up ahead of time for the free shuttle service and the service not having any late night returns from town (Taxi's were plentiful and cost ~$10us one-way).
- Food in the buffet restaraunt was very hit and miss. Overall we were disappointed...except for the jumbo margaritas. STRONG!
- Had to pay (daily or weekly) for gym membership
- Very limited supply of dishes in the mini-kitchen. No dish soap either.
- No ice machines. Had to purchase it from the store.
- Lack of nearby amenities immediately outside of the resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matt Wendt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We booked this place last minute via a time-share exchange with some friends, so we were little nervous since we didn't have a lot of time to plan. We were we pleasantly surprised. The resort was definitely clean and beautiful as expected. Everyone was a pleasure to talk to and did go out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. We did have a penthouse suite which was awesome, but I know the other rooms were just as nice. We did meet with our personal concierge Lenny and Yuri on Sunday at the Welcome Party and they were both very nice and helped us plan our week of activities for 9 people including 5 childern raging from 8 to 21. We also attended a free breakfast including a sales pitch, but they knew both families already owned time-shares and that we were not likely to buy another one. They did ask and show us what they had to offer, but neither made us feel pressured about buying. They were both just so pleasant. We definately will be back and if I ever decide to buy into another time-share, I would consider the Royal Resorts. I understand why everything closes by 10:00 PM. We were so wiped out from all the fun things we did each day, we were in bed by 10:00 almost every night. Our 8 year old loved all the onsite activities from beach soccer, backetball, pool volleyball. Even though he was one of the few who did not speak spanish besides the directors, he didn't care. He loved it. Only complainst: restaraunt pricing a little high for Mexico and later transportation from the resort to and from town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickeyfan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Royal Haciendas is a beautiful and clean resort. We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2 bath villa. More than enough room for 2 (sleeps 6). The grounds are well kept. The food is good, a little pricey. The only negative is the beach...rocks, seaweed. Not as pretty as some other beaches I've seen on other islands (Aruba). The people are the best. They make you feel special and are always ready to help you. Took a trip to XCARAT...very hot, but it was nice. Bring water shoes if you go. Overall, it was a great vacation and will return to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arubalove1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We wanted a relaxing resort, with a beautiful beach and pool, good food and service, and
well-appointed accommodations----and we found it all at the Royal Haciendas! We rented a 1 bedoom suite for our family of 3 and had plenty of room. Our teenager slept in one of the 2 pull-down murphy beds in the living room. The pool bar was excellent---we were pleasantly surprised at how delicious their food was. We especially liked the fish and shrimp tacos and the mahi mahi wrap. The swim-up bar was a favorite in the afternoons during Happy Hour (3-6) with half-price drinks. Everyone who works here is friendly and helpful--we had wonderful service all week. A great breakfast is the fresh pastries at the resort market--delicious and inexpensive!

A couple of downsides I have to share.....the options for dining (especially at night) are pretty limited. The pool bar closes at 6, and the remaining 2 restaurants are a bit pricey, one more than the other. They do have a great take-out restaurant, which we used frequently and were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. Not surprisingly, dining can be expensive here but definitely not any moreso than other resorts of this type. Also, the resort is a bit isolated--about 10 minutes from Playa Del Carmen--and seems to be fairly family-oriented. It's not a place for people who need lots of entertainment and organized activities or who like the nightlife!! Also, the way the resort is set up, most of the rooms don't have much of an ocean view. If that's important to you, make sure you reserve a "beachfront" condo.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Royal Haciendas, especially for those who'd like to get away from the craziness of the mega hotels!

Room Tip: Reserve a beach-front condo if you want a good view of the ocean--the
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilcomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
2.1 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#29 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
2.7 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#7 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#30 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,585 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#13 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15,525 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Esmeralda
Paradisus Playa Del Carmen La Es...
#33 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa

Property: The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa
Address: Cancun-Chetumal Highway km 289+10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#17 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#32 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Haciendas(R) Just 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, this enchanting beachfront resort has architecture and gardens inspired by the grand old haciendas of the Yucatan. Enjoy fine dining, activities and many other amenities with the REFINE All-Inclusive package. The Royal Haciendas(R) is proof that dreams come true. Imagine, the best in beachfront living quietly nestled within Riviera Maya's most prestigious oceanfront golf community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Haciendas Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Royal Haciendas Hotel
Royal Haciendas Playa Del Carmen
The Royal Haciendas All Suites Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Playa Del Carmen, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing